Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 105

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 105 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 17; Psalm 9; Matthew 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Samuel 17 “David asked the men standing near him, “What will be done for the man who kills this Philistine and removes this disgrace from Israel? Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?”

v 34 “But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The LORD who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”

v 45 David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the LORD will deliver you into my hands, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. This very day I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds and the wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. 47 All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.” 48 As the Philistine moved closer to attack him, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet him. 49 Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell facedown on the ground.”

O bservation

I love this story of David and Goliath. It’s not just that David’s a kid, and Goliath is this huge warrior… It’s about David’s perspective. He didn’t see a huge warrior, he saw someone who defied the armies “of the Living God!” He put him in the same category as a lion or a bear… he had experience in killing both to protect and retrieve sheep under his care.

He didn’t go out in Saul’s armor, that was unfamiliar to him. He went out with what he knew and had experience with. A sling and a few stones. He said, “You come against me with a sword and a javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord!

Funny how Saul didn’t seem to even remember that David had been in his residence, playing his harp before him. Did you notice that? He asked David, “Whose son are you, young man?” Saul asked him. David said, “I am the son of your servant Jesse of Bethlehem.” And Saul had been told about David before he was invited to play the harp for him.

A pplication

There are many ways to fight a battle. Sometimes with a torch and a jar (Gideon). Sometimes with a trumpet and a shout (Joshua). Sometimes God just confuses our enemies… Sometimes we need just a few small stones, some good experience and having our confidence in the God of the armies of Israel!

I love David’s somewhat brash approach… “David asked the men standing near him… “Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?”

In the SPT (Scott’s Paraphrased Translation) it would say, “Why doesn’t someone go out there and shut this guy up? He’s an uncircumcised PHILISTINE! What’s your problem! I’ll take this guy right now!

David’s older brother basically said, “Why don’t you just go tend those few sheep and leave the fighting to us?”

Goliath taunted David, “Am I a dog that you come at me with a stick?” And he cursed David by his gods…

So much can be drawn from this passage. Some much in one chapter.

P rayer

Thank you Lord that even though we may have to show up for the battle, you give us the strategy, the strength, even the experience we need. Help me to always have my confidence in you, not in my own strength or abilities.

P.S. There is a saying, “All that is needed for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing. I don’t want to be that guy… who does nothing!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 105

  1. I am puzzled by the fact that Saul asks the commander of the army whose son that is that killed Goliath. (1samuel 17:55-58). Previously when the spirit of God left Saul (1sam.16:14) he sent for someone to help him feel better (son of Jesse, David). Saul even tries to give David his armor 38) prior to going against Goliath. Strange.
    I love psalm 9:9 the lord IS my refuge. Father let me stand on your promises when discouragement tries to beat me down.

  2. idbugyou on said:

    What great faith David had in the lord! His discarding of the armour he was given was true faith in the lord and his confidence in him before battle.

    Father, I pray that you give me your armour of faith to me as I walk in your ways today and not mine. Equip me with words today of encouragement for others and eyes focused on you and you alone.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Samuel 17: 26 (Msg)
    “…Who does he think he is, anyway, the uncircumcised Philistine, taunting the armies of God-Alive?”
    1 Samuel 17:34-37 (Msg)
    “…God, who delivered me from the teeth of the lion and the claws of the bear, will deliver me from this Philistine.”-David

    David had no fear. He knew the power of God and remembered what he had done for him over the years. He knew that God could do what didn’t seem possible to men. He believed in miracles.

    Lord, I want to be like David….courageous, without fear, remembering who you are and what you have done for me. I love you.

    • Silvia on said:

      Nicole, my journal today was very similar to yours. I also added Psalm 9:10. Whene we know His name we trust Him because He will never forsake us! Amen!

  4. I got chills at the saying by David that he comes in the name of the Lord. What a confidence.
    Lord, please help me to use David as an example. Daily, no matter what the situation we can handle it. I come in the name of the Lord and and all my enemies must flee. God gives us the land of freedom, but we must go take it. Wow!
    I love it!

  5. But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it.

    I think it’s easy to think that David killing Golliath was simply miraculous. When I read verses 34-35, it is clear that God had been preparing and training David for years. It could be that God divinely softened the forehead which is the softest part of the skull or the rock plunged into the temple (softest), but either way, a miss would have been a miss. Unfortunately, we don’t have access to the CSI report. =) Goid certainly performs miracles, but more often than not, he works with people in their imperfection. I think that if we all followed God’s plan, miracles wouldn’t be needed.

    Wow, what has God been preparing me for? I was thinking that he wanted me to win The Masters tournament and give Him all the glory, but that went Bubba Watson. Perhaps the databases in heaven need a major upgrade. I know that God is preparing my body, mind, and spirit for His plans. I’m not sure what they are, but I know that I want to be always ready to say, “Here I am Lord, send me!”, whether that is digging sewers or whatnot.

    Lord, thank you for preparing me for whatever You have in store. I ask for protection from the enemies plans to disrupt and destroy whatever You have in store. I am thankful for all the gifts and blessings you have given me. All glory to You for now and forever. In Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

