Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 104

Saturday, April 14, 2012

Welcome to Day 104 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 15, 16; 1 Chronicles 5; Matthew 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Samuel 15:1 “Samuel said to Saul, “I am the one the LORD sent to anoint you king over his people Israel; so listen now to the message from the LORD. 2 This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘I will punish the Amalekites for what they did to Israel when they waylaid them as they came up from Egypt. 3 Now go, attack the Amalekites and totally destroy everything that belongs to them. Do not spare them; put to death men and women, children and infants, cattle and sheep, camels and donkeys.’”

7 “Then Saul attacked the Amalekites all the way from Havilah to Shur, to the east of Egypt. 8 He took Agag king of the Amalekites alive, and all his people he totally destroyed with the sword. 9 But Saul and the army spared Agag and the best of the sheep and cattle, the fat calves and lambs—everything that was good. These they were unwilling to destroy completely, but everything that was despised and weak they totally destroyed.”

24 “Then Saul said to Samuel, “I have sinned. I violated the LORD’s command and your instructions. I was afraid of the people and so I gave in to them.”

2 Samuel 16:11 “So he [Samuel] asked Jesse, “Are these all the sons you have?” “There is still the youngest,” Jesse answered, “but he [David] is tending the sheep.” Samuel said, “Send for him; we will not sit down until he arrives.” 12 So he sent and had him brought in. He was ruddy, with a fine appearance and handsome features. Then the LORD said, “Rise and anoint him; he is the one.” 13 So Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the presence of his brothers, and from that day on the Spirit of the LORD came upon David in power. Samuel then went to Ramah.”

1 Chronicles 5 The tribes east of the Jordan River are discussed. This material is in four sections: Reuben (1–10); Gad (11–17); a brief narrative (18–22); and the half-tribe of Manasseh (23–26). The hope is that these tribes will be included in the nation after the return from exile in Babylon. (Reformation Study Bible)

Matthew 1:16 “… and Jacob the father of Joseph, the husband of Mary, of whom was born Jesus, who is called Christ. 17 Thus there were fourteen generations in all from Abraham to David, fourteen from David to the exile to Babylon, and fourteen from the exile to the Christ.”

O bservation

Lineage is of great importance.

At least is was in Jesus’ case. I believe it is for all of us at some level. Who we are stems, from where we came from. (DNA is a powerful thing.) In Jesus’ case, it was one more validation of his Messiahship. The Messiah had to come from the house and lineage of David.

Our family has traced it’s roots back to 1780, to Pennsylvania, to Isaac Sliver. That’s it. Stops there. ALL THE WAY to Pennsylvania… (just seems kind of funny to me.) When some families can trace their heritage back to England, Germany, or wherever, back to the 1,400’s? I may have to do some more digging…

Seven generations I can go back… But the genealogy of Jesus went back FORTY TWO generations to just Abraham! In rough numbers, Adam was born 4,000 BC, Abraham, 2,000 BC, David, 1.000 BC. Jesus’ lineage is well documented, all the way back to Adam, in Luke 3!

Funny how God chose David…

His father, Jesse, didn’t even bother to bring him in front of Samuel. Samuel had to ask, “Is this all of your sons? Do you have any more sons??” Oh… wait… there’s David… but he’s out tending the sheep… (Like, why bother? It couldn’t possibly be him…)

I always think it’s funny that in 16:6, it says, “Samuel saw Eliab and thought, “Surely the LORD’s anointed stands here before the LORD.”

7 “But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

Then, when Samuel saw David, he still gave a description of him! v 12 “He was ruddy, with a fine appearance and handsome features.” Cracks me up.

Samuel anoints David, then in a strange twist of fate, someone recommends David to play his harp… for the king, Saul. And Saul took him into his service. This is really going to get interesting in the next day or two.

David is anointed the next king. Not Saul’s son, Jonathan… Due to Saul’s repeated disobedience. Sad story…

A pplication

God chooses whom he chooses. It’s not because we are anything “special.” Not based on how we look, or even how talented we are. He calls us based on our heart…

I’m sure somewhere along the way, skill, ability, training, education, etc, all come into play… but it all starts with the heart.

How about this verse? “A person may think their own ways are right, but the LORD weighs the heart.” Proverbs 21:2. And Psalm 44:21 says, “he knows the secrets of the heart.”

I can’t hide anything from God. He knows my inmost thoughts. Every word I’m about to say. What I’m thinking, even the stuff that doesn’t come out of my mouth… What I am really thinking…

Saul’s sin throws him into a downward spiral. Probably a mixture of anger and disappointment. Anger at himself. Anger at God… Probably anger toward Samuel. Disappointed that he was rejected as king… and that his son would never sit on the throne. Disappointed that Samuel never came to see him again… That had to hurt.

As a leader, I can’t get away from wondering how many times, like Saul, I have made a decision based on fear. When I did perhaps only 90% of what God wanted me to do, but the other 10% is what really mattered?

Saul thought it was ok to keep the best of the plunder to be offered as sacrifices. Seems reasonable, even honorable. The problem is that God told him to completely destroy everything. Men, women and children, all the livestock. Not only did he keep the best of the livestock, but he took the king captive.

Samuel had to finish the job. Right there in front of everyone… he killed King Agag with a sword.

This stuff makes my head spin sometimes…

Have you ever made a mistake that you relive to this day? (That is meant to be rhetorical…)

I bet Saul has relived this whole exchange with Samuel over and over. And it only added to the torment he was experiencing… harassed by a spirit… from God. In regret of a few of his decisions that cost him his heritage and his legacy.

P rayer

Lord, help me to do what is right. I know that you desire obedience over sacrifice.

Help me to be obedient to your word and to the leading of your Spirit.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Day 104

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Samuel 15:24-25 (Msg)
    “Saul gave in and confessed. ‘I’ve sinned. I’ve trampled roughshod over God’s Word and your instructions. I cared more about pleasing the people. I let them tell me what to do…’ ”

    His desire to please people distracted him from the need to be obedient to God. How often do I serve men instead of God? Becoming concerned by what others think of me. Making choices that make sense to people/me instead of God. Do I want comfort over obedience?

    Once again it makes me think of Isaiah 55:8 (MSg)
    “I don’t think the way you think.
    The way you work isn’t the way I work”-God

    Lord, I want to be obedient. I need strength, determination, perseverance and courage to do this. Please help me stay focused on what my mission is.

  2. I know that for me work is rough. There is a lot of frustration. The moral is way low. It is an opportunity for me to be an example. Oh how I want to not be impressed with what Satan throws at me. I am too easily rattled.

    Lord, it looks like I will be at this job longer than I had hoped. I know there are big opportunities for me. I am diligently learning Spanish to speak with customers. I might have the chance to travel with this skill. There are trials daily, but it is in the battle that you shine through my weaknesses. Lord, please help me to step aside and let you work in and through me. The people I work with need some encouragement. May I be the light in the darkness. I cannot do this without you.

  3. Mark Long on said:

    But Samuel replied,
    “What is more pleasing to the LORD:
    your burnt offerings and sacrifices
    or your obedience to his voice?
    Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice,
    and submission is better than offering the fat of rams. (1 Samuel 15:22 NLT)

    This is good for me to hear over and over. In the daily grind and in my frustration, I keep hearing “be faithful”. I wish I heard the Lord as clearly as Samuel! Lord, give me Samuels ears to hear you clearly!

  4. I was sad to miss coffee as planned but, drama unfolded as my dogs alerted ne to something going on behind my building. (I live in an apt) I finally pulled the screen back and saw a man in all black stealing the AC unit copper! I confronted him and was instantly protected. He never looked up to see me. He was arrested and cone to find out part of a very large theft ring here in Dayton. I normally walk my 100lb Shiloh and terrier right there this morning we slept late. Protection. Divine protection. The anointing protected my neighbors too from harm. Thank you Father for your love and my lil angels.

  5. Saul set up a monument… for himself. Oh boy.

    Saul to Samuel, “Hey man, I carried out God’s instructions!”

    Samuel, “Um… why do I hear bleating and mooing?”

    Saul, “Oh yeah, we kept the best [of what we were supposed to kill on the spot] to sacrifice to God, but we killed the rest.”

    Key points of interest:

    To obey is better than sacrifice.
    “I was afraid of the men and so I gave in to them.” = BAD.
    Rebellion and arrogance are as bad as idolotry.

    Samuel goes to Bethlehem and the people are afraid. I am a bit nervous around prophetic people too… afraid they are going to say, “I have a message from God for you.” then whack me on the head with something. OK, not really, but like Saul, it’s easy to think that I am following God’s perfect will for my life, but deep down, I know he wants more.

    Lord, I want to know your perfect will for my life. I want to get it right. Show me where I am missing the boat. Let the holy spirit be my navigator.

    • I find myself still stuck in 1 samuel 10:22-24 thinking his much I am like Saul (hiding at times in my “baggage” ) undeserving of what God’s has for me yet, Jesus continues to intercede for me, never mentioning my faults or stating that I’m not “ready for it.” 1Samuel 10-23 says iT all, ” there is no other man like him.” Jesus promises if I just step out He will do the rest. Thank you Father for yet another view of your word. Let me be a beacon for you!

  6. I am also sorry I missed the coffee, would have loved to meet you all! Work spilled over last week into Saturday…anyway…

    I know its a cultural thing from those times, but wow, I cannot imagine one of our pastors going before the congregation and hacking someone to pieces! Even when God told them. Is it me?? Yikes! I admire Samuel’s obedience.

    It is tough to be the one who appears to march to the beat of his own drummer. I get that sometimes. I try very carefully to listen to the direction of the Holy Spirit and the Bible in my life.

    Lord, help me to have radar discernment when it comes to your voice. I want to hear YOU, feel YOU, and follow YOU always. Change is never comfortable. But I trust You have put everything I need around me to perservere. Amen.

  7. For those that missed the meetup in the lodge, here is a link to a video…

Leave a Reply

