Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 100

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 100 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 8, 9, 10; 2 Corinthians 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Samuel 8 “When Samuel grew old, he appointed his sons as Israel’s leaders. 2 The name of his firstborn was Joel and the name of his second was Abijah, and they served at Beersheba. 3 But his sons did not follow his ways. They turned aside after dishonest gain and accepted bribes and perverted justice.”

v “But when they said, “Give us a king to lead us,” this displeased Samuel; so he prayed to the LORD. 7 And the LORD told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you;

it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king.

8 As they have done from the day I brought them up out of Egypt until this day, forsaking me and serving other gods, so they are doing to you. 9 Now listen to them; but warn them solemnly and let them know what the king who will reign over them will claim as his rights.”

v 22 “The LORD answered, “Listen to them and give them a king.”

1 Samuel 9:21 “Saul answered, “But am I not a Benjamite, from the smallest tribe of Israel, and is not my clan the least of all the clans of the tribe of Benjamin? Why do you say such a thing to me?” (Sound familiar? That’s almost verbatim what Gideon said when the angel appeared to him in Judges 6…)

1 Samuel 10 “But when they looked for him, he was not to be found. 22 So they inquired further of the LORD, “Has the man come here yet?” And the LORD said, “Yes, he has hidden himself among the supplies.” 23 They ran and brought him out, and as he stood among the people he was a head taller than any of the others. 24 Samuel said to all the people, “Do you see the man the LORD has chosen? There is no one like him among all the people.” Then the people shouted, “Long live the king!” 25 Samuel explained to the people the rights and duties of kingship. He wrote them down on a scroll and deposited it before the LORD. Then Samuel dismissed the people to go to their own homes. 26 Saul also went to his home in Gibeah, accompanied by valiant men whose hearts God had touched. 27 But some scoundrels said, “How can this fellow save us?” They despised him and brought him no gifts. But Saul kept silent.”

2 Corinthians 10:1 “By the humility and gentleness of Christ, I appeal to you…”

O bservation

Today’s reading seems pretty significant to me today… Israel is appointing their first king… for good or bad. It’s a significant moment in their history.

Interesting story of how God used circumstances to orchestrate his will… Saul sent to find his father’s donkeys, runs into Samuel, who knew this was going to happen.

When Samuel appointed him as king, some shouted “long live the king!” While others despised him.

Such is life.

A pplication

I love how Saul starts out in humility… basically saying, “Who am I that I should be king??” He is found hiding among the supplies! lol (Again, just like Gideon who was found hiding in a winepress.)

How easy is it to start out excited, serving the Lord, excited to read his word, selflessly giving… to end up distant, angry and hard-hearted. It’s not a long journey, really… Like Solomon (King David’s son) a king having 700 wives and 300 concubines (1 Kings 11:3) and basically finding it all “meaningless.” (Remember what Samuel said would happen if Israel took a king?)

I see it all the time. It’s like watching the parable of the sower and the seeds unfolding right before my eyes. The cares and distractions of life choke the growth that God is doing in our lives. A broken relationship, an addiction, unwillingness to forgive, busy-ness… all add up to becoming distant and disenchanted.

That’s why it’s so important to draw close to God. To keep short accounts. To be quick to forgive. To walk in the humility and gentleness of Christ…

P rayer

Help me to walk in humility, day in and day out over the long haul, in humility and gentleness of Christ.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 100

  1. Couldn’t wait to post about Saul and Samuel. God chose Saul (1sam.9:17) “this is the man I spoke to you about.” What got to me was that AFTER God’s changed Saul’s heart he told his uncle he’d been looking for the donkeys, not that he just recevied the kingship! Then when Samuel brings all the tribes (10:20) Saul is hiding in the baggage! No where to be found. What’s Samuel do? He continues to lift Saul AND never doubts God’s choice for the kingship. 24) do you see the man the Lord has chosen? There is no one like him among all the people. Like many of us were looking for the donkeys not seeing what we REALLY have!

  2. Mark Long on said:

    Day 100! Woohoo!

    We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ. (2 Corinthians 10:3-5 NLT)

    Thank you Lord for giving us your power to accomplish your will!!!

  3. But the people wouldn’t listen to Samuel. “No!” they said. “We will have a king to rule us! Then we’ll be just like all the other nations. Our king will rule us and lead us and fight our battles.” 1 Samuel 8:19-20 (MSG)

    As my daughter would say, “SMH” (shaking my head). They want a king to lead them and fight their battles when God has been doing this for them. Would a king actually fight the battles for them anyway? Something just doesn’t add up. Looking back at Joshua 24 (NIV)…

    8 “‘I brought you to the land of the Amorites who lived east of the Jordan. They fought against you, but I gave them into your hands. I destroyed them from before you, and you took possession of their land.

    11 “‘Then you crossed the Jordan and came to Jericho. The citizens of Jericho fought against you, as did also the Amorites, Perizzites, Canaanites, Hittites, Girgashites, Hivites and Jebusites, but I gave them into your hands. 12 I sent the hornet ahead of you, which drove them out before you—also the two Amorite kings. You did not do it with your own sword and bow.

    Why would they want a king instead of God, to “be just like the other nations.” Have they forgotten? Perhaps they were convinced that a King would provide what they desired in addition to what the needed. It’s possible that they were about to be attacked according to several commentaries and were caving in to fear instead of relying on God for protection and victory. Perhaps their fear and doubt grew out of subconscious knowledge that their idols were powerless. It’s interesting that God gives them ample warning of what they were about to face and gives them what they ask.

    It’s important to consider wants versus needs. I, like Pastor Doug Roe, would love to drive around town in a shiny Camaro. I would love a boat to take my son fishing on, and I would love to buy some brand new drums. I could easily justify these things too. When I step back, I recognize that God has blessed me with what I have. I would look really cool in a shiny Camaro, but what glory would that give to God. I picked up ’85 Pearl Exports for a little bit of nothing and they sound and look great. My family is healthy. I am truly blessed.

    Lord, thank you for Your blessings, especially the ones that I take for granted. I pray that needs of others come before desires of my flesh. We are truly blessed that You are the King of kings and Lord of lords, Jesus, who intercedes for us and gives us the Holy spirit to lead and guide us.

  4. I like that- keep short accounts. I am too easily rattled by the circumstances that I crumble. I get emotional and as a woman, I naturally talk about my feelings when that is not always a good thing.

    Lord, please help us run to you first. “Come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden.” The world and it’s people are not our solution, but rather hope is only found through you. May I be quick to pray and slow to complain today.

Leave a Reply

