Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 93

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Welcome to Day 93 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Judges 17, 18; Psalms 89; 2 Corinthians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Judges chapters 17 and 18, These passages, recount the idolatry of Micah and the Danites, is part of the conclusion to the Book of Judges. The phrases, “In those days there was no king in Israel” (17:6, 18:1) and “everyone did what was right in his own eyes” (19:1, 21:25) are repeated toward the end of Judges.

NOTE: This is not the same Micah who authored the Old Testament book of Micah.

Then, the Danites stole Micah’s idol and ephod and offered the Levite priest “a better job.” Why be his personal priest when you could be the priest for our whole tribe?? They threatened Micah, left, and overtook the city of Laish and they “continued to use the idol Micah had made.”

In Psalm 89 God is establishing his covenant with David and his sons… with conditions. “If…”

2 Corinthians 3:18 clearly defines the better covenant we are under “the Spirit” vs. “the Law.” “And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”

Hallelujah!

O bservation

Micah’s statement in 17:13 is one of most foolish and telling statements about how far Israel had fallen from the Lord… “Now I know that the LORD will be good to me, since this Levite has become my priest.”

So many things are wrong in this chapter… that Micah had an image and an ephod that he and his mother worshiped, then, adding insult to injury, he invites a Levite to stay in his home to become his own personal priest. Hard to believe the Levite would agree to this… Micah’s statement that the LORD would be good to him because of his situation was foolish and way off base.

It seems that the idol, after it was stolen from Micah, was set up in the Tabernacle (“in the house of God”) in Shiloh. Although some details are a little fuzzy… It’s not quite clear if the mention of the Tabernacle was merely a timeframe “They continued to use the idol Micah had made, all the time the house of God was in Shiloh” or the location, that the idol was actually used IN the Tabernacle.

What is clear is that, even if the Tabernacle was set up and Micah’s idol was in use IN there, was beyond imaginable. (Remember Aaron’s sons who offered “strange fire” and were consumed in the Tabernacle?)

A pplication

It’s so easy, apparently, to slip into idol worship… To become so blinded that we may not even realize how far we have fallen.

Makes me wonder what I have done… how I may have offered “strange fire” or created my own “personal ephods” in my life…

Thank God that we are under a different covenant and that “God is patient, not willing that any should perish.” Matthew 18.

P rayer

I can’t thank you enough Lord for your grace and mercy… wow. How patient you must have been with me over the years without my even realizing it.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 93

  1. Mark on said:

    “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another.”

    What a great verse to start the day with!

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 89:15-17 (Msg)
    “Blessed are the people who know the passwords of praise,
    who shout on parade in bright presence of God.
    Delighted, they dance all day long; they know
    who you are, what you do-they can’t keep it quiet!
    Your vibrant beauty has gotten inside us-
    you’ve been so good to us! We’re walking on air!”

    2 Cor 3:18 (Msg)
    “Nothing between us and God, our faces shining with the brightness of his face. And so we are transfigured much like the Messiah, our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like him.”

    Thank you, Lord, that I know the passwords of praise. That I can enter in to your presence. What a blessing! What an honor! I know who you are and what you do. You have been so good to me! There is nothing between you and I. I am tucked up under your wing. Help my life to be bright, full of your beauty…so that others might see you.

  3. I love how you guys have focused on those verses… I’m still recovering from the idol worship and how far Israel has fallen! lol

    Thanks! I needed that guys!

  4. Cindy on said:

    Thank you God that I can live under grace and not the law. Thank you Jesus for redeeming me.

  5. Then they said to him, “Please inquire of God to learn whether our journey will be successful.”

    The priest answered them, “Go in peace. Your journey has the LORD’s approval.”

    Perhaps it’s the context in which this is, but it appears to be more soothsaying than inquiring of the Lord. The priest seems to be more of a lucky rabbit’s foot.

    Then the five men who had spied out the land of Laish said to their fellow Danites, “Do you know that one of these houses has an ephod, some household gods and an image overlaid with silver? Now you know what to do.”

    For some reason, I thought the Danites would swoosh in, destroy the idols and put things right when I read this. Sadly not. They instead take over the idols. Their mission is successful, but I don’t think God was the reason. I too wonder what idols we have taken on as a society. We idolize singers/bands, TV and movie stars, politicians, sports stars, alcohol, drugs… I am encouraged that I see great sparks of passion for Jesus in the next generation despite the removal of God from our schools.

    There seems to be this systematic falling away from God followed by repentance and turning back when things go bad. Each time, there seemed to be less worship as a result of the reconciliation with God. In today’s chapters of Judges, there were no interactions with the heavenly realms at all unless I missed it.

    2 Corinthians 3:16-18 is my application today.

    But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

    Lord, we constantly turn our faces from you. We are easily distracted by earthly things. Our desire is to sing of Your great love forever, but we turn away and devote ourselves to meaningless, earthly things instead of you. Although we need to face your rod, we are thankful that Your love is always available. Father, protect us from the evil one so that we may become more like you. I bless what you are doing in the hearts of the younger generation, Lord, and I ask for more. In Jesus name.

  6. We must remain humble. We are just as prone to make mistakes as anyone else. It is about helping each other along the way. Thank you Lord that you do not give me the punishment I deserve. I must pass that love on to others.

  7. I zeroed in on the tribe of Dan and how they had not taken the land that they had inherited. All these years their inheritance was waiting for them to move in but they were intimidated by the people who lived there. So instead of trusting God to do what he’d already done for other tribes, and believing His promises they decide it’s better to go find land that would be “easy” to take (in their own power).

    What promises/inheritances do we forgo because it looks to hard to take? We forget that we don’t take hold of it by our own strength. We move into our inheritance through God’s strength and promise to fight for us.

    God, I’ll take all your promises! In your power and in your strength, I claim them! Thanks for loving me so much and giving me so much! Not because I deserve anything but just because you love me!

Leave a Reply

