Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 87

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Welcome to Day 87 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Judges 4, 5; Psalms 39, 41; 1 Corinthians 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Judges 4:1 “Again the Israelites did evil in the eyes of the LORD, now that Ehud was dead. 2 So the LORD sold them into the hands of Jabin king of Canaan…”

This was one of the most confusing chapters I’ve read… so many characters to keep straight! Bottom line, yet again, Israel’s disobedience and failure to destroy the Canaanites has cost them dearly.

Deborah is the only female judge mentioned in the Bible. She led a successful counterattack against the forces of Jabin, king of Canaan and his military commander Sisera in chapter 4.  Jael, the wife of Heber, a Kenite tent maker killed Sisera! (By driving a tent peg through his temple as he slept! Ouch!)

Deborah and Jael were two strong women!

Deborah Under the Palm Tree by Adriene Cruz

Psalm 39:7 “But now, Lord, what do I look for?

My hope is in you.”

Psalm 41 is a Psalm of David… penned while on his sickbed, he finds strength and hope in the Lord and in his promises and in his own personal experience with God.

1 Corinthians 13 is one of the great portions of scripture in the entire Bible. Read at nearly every wedding, this is the classic chapter regarding the importance of faith, hope and love. That without love we are nothing… no matter how gifted or prophetic we may be. We can give everything we have to the poor, but if we are not loving, it gains us nothing.

O bservation

Someone has to step up to the plate. Israel had been subdued by the Canaanites for twenty years. The time had come for them to fight back. Judges 4:8, “Barak said to her [Deborah], “If you go with me, I will go; but if you don’t go with me, I won’t go.”

Amazing how we can draw strength from one another. Barak was taking TEN THOUSAND MEN with him, but Deborah, agreeing to go with him gave him the courage to fight this battle.

Deborah must have been an amazing leader, possessing great strength, wisdom and courage.

A pplication

I am not one who thinks I have much to prove to anyone. At this point in my life I am fairly secure in who I am and to what I have been called. I can lead when called upon, and I am a pretty good follower, because I believe it’s important to model that as much as modeling good leadership.

I often draw on the strength of others. I believe in the wisdom of “the multitude of counselors.” I appreciate other leader’s perspective and insight. I gather information, think things through and attempt to make good decisions or implement strategies that make sense.

And I am pretty quick on my feet.

My spiritual gifts are wisdom, leadership, administration, pastor and prophetic. I am very comfortable operating in the gift mix the Lord has given me. I know I’m not Doug Roe or Marc Dupont. I’m not Jeremy Riddle or Chris Tomlin. I’m Scott Sliver. And I’m ok with that.

God has gifted each of us, as we read yesterday and today, differently, according to his will. We should rest in what God has called each one of us to (poor sentence structure, I know.) I need to recognize the gifts in those around me and allow them to function in their gifting, even drawing on that.

We are fortunate to have an amazing staff at the Vineyard. As well as a deep well of gifted ministry partners with whom we are serving alongside.

We all need each other. The church, the body of Christ, was not designed for us to operate independently, but interdependently. The hand, feet, eyes, etc, all functioning in concert.

P rayer

Thank you Lord for the gifts you pour into our lives. Help us to walk in that gifting, “letting our light shine before men that they would see our good works and glorify our Father in heaven.”

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 87

  1. Love is… I like what Paul does describing love. This chapter is sandwiched between the activation, manifestation, and pursuit of Spiritual gifts. All we do should be, to build others up. Gifts are given to us in order to enable us to love on others.

    Seems knowledge, power, faith, and financial giving is deemed as nothing if what I do is not motivated by Love. (desiring the highest good of the person I’m serving through prayer, words, giving and actions)

    If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

    Love: is patient
    love : is kind
    Love: does not envy
    Love: does not boast
    Love: is not proud.
    Love: does not dishonor others
    Love: is not self-seeking
    Love: it is not easily angered
    Love: keeps no record of wrongs
    Love: does not delight in evil
    Love: rejoices with the truth
    Love: always protects
    Love: always trusts
    Love: always hopes
    Love: always perseveres.

    God help me to love others as you love today.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Judges 5:31 (Msg)
    “Thus may all God’s enemies perish, while his lovers be like the unclouded sun.”

    That is how I feel, like the unclouded sun. So blessed. Thank you, Lord.

    Psalm 39:1 “I’m determined to watch steps and tongue, so they won’t land me in trouble.”

    Psalm 39:7 “What am I doing in the meantime, Lord? Hoping, that’s what I am doing-hoping you’ll save me from a rebel life…”

    I need to be on guard, staying awake, focused on who I need to be. Thank you, Lord, for saving me from myself.

    Psalm 41:12 “You know me inside and out, you hold me together, you never fail to stand me tall in your presence so I can look you in the eye.”

    You, Lord, hold me together. Thank you that I don’t have to depend on my own abilities, strength, thoughts. Thank you that I am not alone.

    1 Cor. 13:13 “….Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly.”

    Love is Persistent. Selfless. Content. Humble. Gentle. Last. Calm. Forgetful. Forgiving. Compassionate. Truthful. Longsuffering. Trusting. Hopeful. Dedicated. Eternal.

    God is so good!

  3. Because he had nine hundred chariots fitted with iron and had cruelly oppressed the Israelites for twenty years, they cried to the LORD for help. – Judges 4:3 NIV

    They lived under cruel oppression for 20 years before turning to God. Why so long? Perhaps they were focusing on the 900 chariots instead of the outstretched arm of God. I think we do the same thing today. We focus more on the disease, affliction, or troubles in our life instead of God’s power and might. We should cry out to the Lord first, not as a last resort.

    Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV

    This is one of the bible verses we hear recited the most. It comes right after the declaration that spiritual gifts have absolutely no value without love. This is the definition of real love, Jesus’ love for us, not the fairy tale, smushy wooshy, happily ever after love in Disney princess movies. There is nothing wrong with smushy wooshy, as long as it is motivated by real love. We often confuse romance with love. Love is also taking care of a baby in its infancy or caring for an elderly relative who can’t care for themselves. It is helping those in need get back on their feet and expecting nothing in return. Love is praying for those who persecute us. Love is forgiving someone who cuts us off in traffic.

    Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13 NIV

    Jesus displays the ultimate model of love by dying on a cross to atone for our sins. Thankfully we don’t have to go to that extent. We should, however, set aside our plans to help others, spend time with family and friends, but most importantly, spend time in His presence.

    My prayer today is Psalm 85.

  4. Ditto the Love Chapter :

    Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV

    These are all the way God loves us! I ask myself…is this the way I love God? My love for Him should be patient. It should be kind (am I thankful?). Do I only talk to Him when I want something? Do I get angry when He doesn’t give me my way? Do I recite to Him all the wrongs he’s let me suffer? Do I trust him? Hope in Him? Persevere, knowing that He is loving me perfectly?

    Love never fails–my absolute favorite Bible phrase ever!

    I love you, Abba! May it come closer to the true love you have for me!

Leave a Reply

