Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 85

Monday, March 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 85 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Joshua 23, 24; Psalms 44; 1 Corinthians 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Joshua 23, “Be very strong; be careful to obey all that is written in the Book of the Law of Moses, without turning aside to the right or to the left. 7 Do not associate with these nations that remain among you; do not invoke the names of their gods or swear by them. You must not serve them or bow down to them. 8 But you are to hold fast to the LORD your God, as you have until now.”

Joshua 24:15, “if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then

choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…”

16 “Then the people answered, “Far be it from us to forsake the LORD to serve other gods!”

v 29 “After these things, Joshua son of Nun, the servant of the LORD, died at the age of a hundred and ten.”

Psalms 44:1-3, “We have heard it with our ears, O God; our ancestors have told us what you did in their days, in days long ago. 2, With your hand you drove out the nations and planted our ancestors; you crushed the peoples and made our ancestors flourish. 3 It was not by their sword that they won the land, nor did their arm bring them victory; it was your right hand, your arm, and the light of your face, for you loved them.”

1 Corinthians 11… Paul’s instruction regarding praying with one’s head covered or uncovered, and the Lord’s Supper/Communion.

O bservation

Interesting comparing Joshua’s final address to Moses’… Both instruct the people to follow the LORD. To remember his statutes and the covenant he made with them. Moses lived just ten years longer than Joshua…

A pplication

I love Joshua’s charge to the people, “Choose this day whom you will serve.”

I believe I face that same challenge every day. That’s not just an “in the future” thing… it’s now. Each day… Will I make the choice to follow the Lord and his ways? Or will I choose something else?

P rayer

Psalm 44:4-8, “You are my King and my God, who decrees victories for Jacob. 5 Through you we push back our enemies; through your name we trample our foes. 6 I put no trust in my bow, my sword does not bring me victory; 7 but

you give us victory

over our enemies, you put our adversaries to shame. 8 In God we make our boast all day long, and we will praise your name forever.” Amen

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 85

  1. The reading plan on my iPhone was missing Joshua 24… Just in case you use that plan, too. : )

  2. Mark Long on said:

    1Cor 11:16 is a great reminder to me to remember the price that was paid for me. Also to examine myself for anything that would present a stumbling block for myself or others when I come before the Lord and receive His body and blood.

  3. What you must solemnly realize is that every time you eat this bread and every time you drink this cup, you reenact in your words and actions the death of the Master. You will be drawn back to this meal again and again until the Master returns. You must never let familiarity breed contempt.

    I like the way The Message translation words this. It sounds like Paul is addressing a specific issue with people gorging themselves and turning communion into drunken party. In his rebuke of their practice though, he emphasizes the importance of communion. It goes on further…

    Anyone who eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Master irreverently is like part of the crowd that jeered and spit on him at his death. Is that the kind of “remembrance” you want to be part of? Examine your motives, test your heart, come to this meal in holy awe.

    Lord, it is a great privilege to come to Your table and remember what You have done out of love for us. Forgive me for the times I came as a matter of ritual or participated in communion without the holy awe that You deserve. Your meal fills up spiritually. It is truly all we need.

  4. I must admit, I am not a fan of the women cover their head when praying. However, I do know that I must respect authority over me. When I do not agree with my boss, I must cry to God and share my thoughts. I must trust that the authority put over me is God’s plan. I must always put things in perspective and not over-react. The situation can always be worse.

    I must share that my husband and I visited a church in Nebraska that had what we call, “fast food communion”. Every Sunday they passed the bread and wine and people chugged and passed it along. It did not seem right. I must not judge. I have no idea whether each person examined their hearts before the chug session. I know for me that it is personal. I want to take it seriously.

    I must evaluate my motives daily.

    Lord, thank you for the cross. It set me free!

  5. Cathy Guerrant on said:

    In I Cor 11:5, it talks about a woman should have her head covered; taken in context of the time this was written, it would be like a wife showing up to church in a very revealing outfit and embarrassing her husband. In Paul’s day, the unveiled women were loose women and prostitutes – they were immodest; also there were Christian women who flaunted their new freedom by usurping their elders and husbands when they were prophesying by having their head uncovered and disrupting the proceedings.

    This part of I Corinthians is all about God’s established order – God – Jesus – husband – wife. It is not saying that God is better than Jesus or that a husband is better than a wife – but that God is a very orderly God and we must respect the order he has established.

    God, help me to understand how to be a respectful wife to my husband, to honor him as Jesus honored you.

Leave a Reply

