Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 81

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 81 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Joshua 12, 13, 14; 1 Corinthians 7 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Joshua 12:7, “Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan…  24 thirty-one kings in all.”

Joshua 13:1, “When Joshua had grown old, the LORD said to him, “You are now very old, and there are still very large areas of land to be taken over.”

Joshua 14:10, “Now then, just as the LORD promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years since the time he said this to Moses, while Israel moved about in the wilderness. So…

Here I am today, eighty-five years old! 11 I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then.”

1 Corinthians 7:3, “The husband should fulfill his marital duty to his wife, and likewise the wife to her husband. 4 The wife does not have authority over her own body but yields it to her husband. In the same way, the husband does not have authority over his own body but yields it to his wife. 5 Do not deprive each other…”

“To the married I give this command (not I, but the Lord): A wife must not separate from her husband. 11 But if she does, she must remain unmarried or else be reconciled to her husband. And a husband must not divorce his wife.”

O bservation

Sometimes the Lord gives us a task that lasts a lifetime, such as Joshua finishing the job of taking the land the Lord had promised. Other times, we do something that has lifelong effect… Such as Rahab hiding the spies. Her one act is a tribute to an otherwise questionable lifestyle (a prostitute.)

I love that Joshua was 85 years old but wasn’t finished yet. He claimed he was still as vigorous and capable as ever to fight! How cool is that?

The verses in 1 Corinthians 7 Paul gives his take on singleness and marriage and our responsibilities toward our spouse.

Bottom line is sex was never meant to be used as a weapon or a reward, or outside of marriage. The Bible clearly states that we do not have authority over our own bodies. Our spouse does. (Within reason, of course…)

A pplication

Makes me think of Philippians 2:3-4, “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

It’s easy to apply this, “out there” when interacting with the people around us, the folks at church or work, or the people we are serving while out in the community, but this verse (like most) is best applied to the people closest to us. Makes me think of “Husbands, love your wives as Christ loved the church, a love marked by giving, not getting.”

Paul look at marriage as a distraction to the work he had been called to. He comes very close to putting his own personal belief on those around him. He made provision for marriage, but said one would do better to not marry.

At this point in my life, I could work 24/7. I can relate to Joshua… there is still much land to be taken. I am still excited and vibrant and capable of doing the task to which I have been called. Sometimes my family pays a price for my task. I’m off to war… tired when I return. At times, it takes a toll on me. I can be thinking about the next campaign… focused on what’s out there, versus what is needed at home.

2 Corinthians 11:28, “Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches.”

The flip side is I work hard at not working so hard. To take time off. To spend time with family and friend. To be fully present when I’m with someone. There are those who actually think I work 24/7. I don’t. But I could very easily. Last night Bonnie and I went to Red Lobster for dinner. Just the two of us…

They say, “Do what you love and you never work a day in your life.” That’s true for me… most of the time. : )

P rayer

Thank you Lord for giving me the strength to do the things you have called me to!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 81

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Cor. 7:16 “How can you be sure, Christian wife, that you will not save your husband? Or how can you be sure, Christian husband, that you will not save your wife?”

    Obedience, service & love. That is my work. To have people see Jesus in me. Whether at home or on the streets. People are watching, God is alive, his Spirit is moving.

    Lord, I will do my best to plant, water and sow seeds. By your grace, you make them grow. Thank you that you seek us. Oh, I adore you.

  2. Even facing many distractions I remind myself daily that what God has for me no one can take. And my best days are ahead not behind me. Gods promises carry me in my what seems to be confusing times. I am oh so grateful.

  3. Marcia on said:

    This verse resonated with me: Those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep; those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them.”
    Lord I am so thankful for all the material blessings You have poured out on me. Some of them come just because I live in this country. We have so much we sometimes take it for granted. Help me view these things as “on loan” from You. I determine, with Your help, not to become engrossed in them.

  4. I have to admit that the sections of the bible that list genealogy, or in this case, the kings who were conquered and the land that was inherited, are difficult to read.. I would love to spend some time and study this with a map in hand some day, but for now, on through the bible.

    Even though the land was promised to Caleb, he had to go claim it. Even though he is 85, he is ready to fight. We are promised a lot. This makes me wonder if and how we have to claim it. Not sure, but I know that it can only be claimed through Christ.

    I’m not sure that it is better to remain unmarried. It certainly would free up much more time to devote to the Lord and serve others, but a true marriage of love between two people devoted to each other, I believe, is God’s plan for us. Marriage does come with it’s challenges and hurdles, but without being married and having children, I don’t believe I could understand (what little I do) the nature of God’s love for us.

Leave a Reply

