Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 78

Monday, March 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 78 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Joshua 3, 4, 5, 6; 1 Corinthians 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

FINALLY! Since Exodus 12 we have been reading about this “Promised Land” of Canaan… a land “flowing with milk and honey.” Today, at last, we finally get to see them cross over!

Joshua 3:5 “Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the LORD will do amazing things among you.”

Joshua 4:4 “So Joshua called together the twelve men he had appointed from the Israelites, one from each tribe, 5 and said to them, “Go over before the ark of the LORD your God into the middle of the Jordan. Each of you is to take up a stone on his shoulder, according to the number of the tribes of the Israelites, 6 to serve as a sign among you. In the future, when your children ask you, ‘What do these stones mean?’ 7 tell them that the flow of the Jordan was cut off before the ark of the covenant of the LORD. When it crossed the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off. These stones are to be a memorial to the people of Israel

forever.”

8 So the Israelites did as Joshua commanded them.”

Joshua 5:9 “Then the LORD said to Joshua…

“Today I have rolled away the reproach of Egypt from you.”

Joshua 6 “Then the LORD said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men.”

1 Corinthians 4:15 “Even if you had ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel.”

O bservation

My glaring observation today is that even though God had “delivered Jericho” into their hands, they still had to fight for it. God made a way for them to obliterate this city, even though it was tightly secured with walls and the city gates shut tightly.

Once they were obedient to the Lord’s command to march around the city for seven days with the Ark of the covenant, then blow the trumpets and shout…

they still had to fight.

The Lord merely gave them access to the city and confidence? that He was with them.

A pplication

What does this mean? That even though the Lord may “deliver something” into our hands, we may still have to fight for it. Or work for it?

It could be easy for one to think, “I have been called into ministry” so it’s going to be an easy ride… Nothing could be farther from the truth. Or, “The Lord gave us this house!” but you still have to make the mortgage payments.

You never know how the Lord may want you to fight a battle… His strategies are a little different from the standard off the shelf, this is how you fight a war, book of strategy and war tactics.

P rayer

Lord, I want your strategies… for whatever war you are calling me to fight. Help me to be obedient and to simply know when to march, when to blow the trumpet, when to shout and when to fight.

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Day 78

  1. My grandson who is ten is being bullied at school. What’s that have to do with today’s readings? I was reminded before he got up for school and prayed with him about Gods love for us and going out ahead of us to make our path straight. I could hardly bear that the “apple of my eye” was being tormented at school. So for me I asked God to direct me how to help. I am reminded too how God must feel when we are wronged. Father thank you for the protection of me and my family like you gave Rahab and for loving us perfectly.

  2. Kim Osburn on said:

    Yesterday at the Dayton campus, Caleb mentioned how so often we pray, “God, give me money” instead of asking, “God, show me how I can earn more money.” Like Scott pointed out, God gave the Israelites a way to defeat Jericho, but they still had to work for it. Lord, when facing difficult circumstances in my life, help me not to look for the easy way out. Help me to trust you to make a way, while seeking you to understand what I need to do to work it out.

  3. Now the Jordan is at flood stage all during harvest. Yet as soon as the priests who carried the ark reached the Jordan and their feet touched the water’s edge, the water from upstream stopped flowing.

    I’m sure the inhabitants did not expect the Israelites to cross while the river was at flood stage. Current technology allows us to build a bridge rapidly for troops to cross a river, but not then. I’ll bet this caught them off guard. It was a feat that was completely impossible for man at that time. I imagine it is scary to cross a river with a wall of water being supernaturally held back.

    Now when all the Amorite kings west of the Jordan and all the Canaanite kings along the coast heard how the LORD had dried up the Jordan before the Israelites until they had crossed over, their hearts melted in fear and they no longer had the courage to face the Israelites.

    I’ll bet. This would be like showing up to a fist fight against a M-16 rifle.

    God is the all about overcoming impossible circumstances. Even when it seems that we are backed into a corner or are faced with an huge obstacle, He is always there.

    Lord, as we sang yesterday, nothing is impossible for you. There is no body of water that is too wide or too deep for you to move. No wall is too high for you to crumble as long as we march according to your plan.

  4. Kelley Flees on said:

    Keeping a healthy weight- we must work for that. A good marriage does not stay good if we give up fighting for it. We must not give up we must not surrender.

  5. Hi Kelley
    While I am not married I can appreciate “the never give up fight.” In one year I have lost my business, my home to foreclosure, and many of the people I thought were my friends deserted me . I am NOT taking a victim stance here just saying sometimes when God reveals things its not what we want we have to fight to just feel loved. I’ve learned thru this HE IS MY ROCK. And its where I stand daily. Yes by all means fight. Its so worth it. Give up? Never.

  6. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Julie-Your grandson will be in my prayers.

  7. I was picked on in high school. Not fun.

    Call the school if you haven’t already. Make them aware of what’s going on…

Leave a Reply

