Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 77

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Welcome to Day 77 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Joshua 1, 2; Psalms 37; 1 Corinthians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Joshua 1:2, “Moses my servant is dead. Now then…”

v 7 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

Joshua 2:9, “I know that the LORD has given you this land and that a great fear of you has fallen on us, so that all who live in this country are melting in fear because of you. 10 We have heard how the LORD dried up the water of the Red Sea for you when you came out of Egypt, and what you did to Sihon and Og, the two kings of the Amorites east of the Jordan, whom you completely destroyed. 11 When we heard of it, our hearts melted in fear and everyone’s courage failed because of you, for

the LORD your God is God in heaven above and on the earth below.” (Rahab, a prostitute.)

Psalm 37:3 “Trust in the LORD and do good.”

Psalm 37:5 “Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him…”

Psalm 37:7 “Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him…”

Psalm 37:8 “Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret…”

Psalm 37:27  “Turn from evil and do good…”

Psalm 37:34 “Hope in the LORD and keep his way.”

1 Corinthians 3:4 “For when one says, “I follow Paul,” and another, “I follow Apollos,” are you not mere human beings? 5 What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul?

Only servants…

through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. 6 I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. 7 So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but…

only God…

who makes things grow.”

O bservation

The verses in 1 Corinthians have so much wisdom… caution us to refrain from following men, but for all of us to keep our eyes on Christ. Back then it was, “I follow Paul!” vs “I follow Apollos!” Today it’s, “I follow Rick Warren!” vs “I follow Bill Johnson!” vs “I follow Bill Hybels!” vs I follow “John Macarthur!” vs “I follow Beth Moore” vs “I follow Joyce Meyer.” You see how it works?

It’s so easy to fall into that trap…

Hebrews 12:2 states, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus…”

The people of Israel followed Moses. Then they followed Joshua. God chooses men to lead. We need good leaders. We need to follow their example. We can learn from them, and should. But we must always keep it in proper perspective.

A pplication

I want to be not just a good leader, but a great leader. I want to be an example that people would want to follow. I want to be a person that others can look to, but past, to Christ. As Paul said, “Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 11:1.

I believe we all should say that… We are all examples, not just pastors or church staff. All of us as believers should be an example that others could follow. Not perfect, but in process. Growing in grace. Walking in mercy. Serving others more than ourselves. Giving generously.

P rayer

Help me to become an example for others to follow. I know I haven’t arrived… but I’m on the journey. Help me to always walk in humility and point people to you…

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 77

  1. I am a HUGE fan of Joyce Meyer. She is a messenger. God uses her to speak to others. Her goal is for others to seek God NOT her. I must be aware of that trap. It is God I need more of.

    Here lately, work has kept me crazy busy. I manage orders. I want to be found faithful.

    Work is full of various people. I do not have to agree with what my co-workers do or say, but I am responsible for my actions. The trap is the mind. What judgements am I casting down? It is not my job to judge. I am trying to not have an opinion where I have no responsibility.

    Lord, please help me to go about the work you have set out for me. I must love others along the way, but not fall for the devil’s traps to get me of course. You will be with me every step of the way. Let’s enjoy this day of rest – SUNDAY together.

  2. What comfort can be found in the promises! Joshua 1:5 I will never leave you or forsake you. 9) be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified. Do not be discouraged for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. So that’s how I’m going to get thru what I’m facing and I am oh so grateful.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Cor 3:3 “because you still live as the people of this world. When there is jealousy among you and you quarrel with one another, doesn’t this prove that you belong to this world, living by its standards?”

    I should look different from those who don’t follow Christ. People should be able to see something different about me.

    1 Cor. 3:16-17 “Surely you know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you! 17 God will destroy anyone who destroys God’s temple. For God’s temple is holy, and you yourselves are his temple.

    I need to keep myself holy. Dedicated to God and devoted to service of God. How I care for my physical body, what I watch, how I talk, the thoughts that I have-does it display that the Spirit lives in me?

    1 Cor 3: 18-19 “You should not fool yourself. If any of you think that you are wise by this world’s standards, you should become a fool, in order to be really wise. 19 For what this world considers to be wisdom is nonsense in God’s sight.”

    What the world sees as wise is nonsense to God. The way I spend my money, my time, how I think-shouldn’t make sense to the world.

    Lord, please help me to stand out from the world. Help me to be aligned with you and your Spirit. I want to be holy. Help me to remember in everything that I do, that your Spirit lives in me. Thank you for your presence in my life. Thank you for wisdom, strength, love and courage to be who you want me to be. I trust you.

  4. God often uses the most unlikely of people and circumstances to speak into our lives. We need to also pay attention to when he wants us to speak into others lives.

    Psalm 37:7 Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him;
    do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.

    God has perfect timing for everything. Wait for the right time.

    Psalm 37:8 Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil.

    Anger is a choice. Becoming angry at someone gives them power in your life. Make the choice not to become angry. It takes time and persistence.

    Lord, we thank you for those you have sent over the years to lead us. Jesus, we are your sheep and we know your voice. May we speak words of encouragement into others lives.

Leave a Reply

