Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 76

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Welcome to Day 76 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 32, 33, 34; 1 Corinthians 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 32, Moses writes a song about God’s greatness and faithfulness… and Israel’s shortcomings and all that God had done for them, and would love to do…

“On that same day the LORD told Moses, 49 “Go up into the Abarim Range to Mount Nebo in Moab, across from Jericho, and view Canaan, the land I am giving the Israelites as their own possession. 50 There on the mountain that you have climbed you will die and be gathered to your people, just as your brother Aaron died on Mount Hor and was gathered to his people. 51 This is because both of you broke faith with me in the presence of the Israelites at the waters of Meribah Kadesh in the Desert of Zin and because you did not uphold my holiness among the Israelites. 52 Therefore…

… you will see the land only from a distance; you will not enter the land I am giving to the people of Israel.”

Deuteronomy 33, Moses’ final blessing of the tribes of Israel before they were to cross over the Jordan, in Canaan, the Promised Land, the land of their inheritance from the Lord, given them by his promise to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob (Israel) and their ancestors.

Deuteronomy 34, “Then the LORD said to him, “This is the land I promised on oath to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob when I said, ‘I will give it to your descendants.’ I have let you see it with your eyes, but you will not cross over into it.” 5 And Moses the servant of the LORD died there in Moab, as the LORD had said. 6 He buried him in Moab, in the valley opposite Beth Peor, but to this day no one knows where his grave is. 7

Moses was a hundred and twenty years old when he died…

…yet his eyes were not weak nor his strength gone. 8 The Israelites grieved for Moses in the plains of Moab thirty days, until the time of weeping and mourning was over.”

9 “Now Joshua son of Nun was filled with the spirit of wisdom because Moses had laid his hands on him. So the Israelites listened to him and did what the LORD had commanded Moses. 10

Since then, no prophet has risen in Israel like Moses…

…whom the LORD knew face to face, who did all those signs and wonders the LORD sent him to do in Egypt—to Pharaoh and to all his officials and to his whole land. 12 or no one has ever shown the mighty power or performed the awesome deeds that Moses did in the sight of all Israel.”

1 Corinthians 2:16, “we have the mind of Christ.”

O bservation

How sad is it that Moses didn’t get to enter the promised land? But how cool is it that he just kinda disappeared on Mount Nebo. Everyone knew he had died, but wasn’t sure where he was buried…

Assumed that he was “caught up” to be with God and didn’t die like everyone else. More like Elijah… who was carried away in a whirlwind on a chariot of fire! (Perhaps that’s why both Moses and Elijah appeared to Jesus on the Mount of Transfiguration!) “As they [Elijah and Elisha] were walking along and talking together, suddenly a chariot of fire and horses of fire appeared and separated the two of them, and Elijah went up to heaven in a whirlwind.” 2 Kings 2:11

A pplication

Even though Moses was a great leader and spoke with God face to face, he had his shortcomings. His frustrations got the best of him and it cost him entering Canaan.

How easy it is to let life, our frustrations, our own brokenness get the best of us.

Need to have an outlook like Paul, “When I am weak, then I am strong.” So, so glad we live under a new covenant. Still sorting out how to live under grace… with laws written on our hearts, vs on stone tablets.

P rayer

Lord, help me to run this race to win. I’m turning 50 this year… Moses lived to be 120 and his frustrations got the best of him at the end of his life… just a year before they were to enter Canaan. Help me to finish well.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 76

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Good morning!

    What stood out to me from these verses was I Cor. 6-16

    “No one’s ever seen or heard anything like this,
    Never so much as imagined anything quite like it-
    What God has arranged for those who love him.” (vs.9)

    “The Spirit, not content to flit around on the surface, dives into the depths of God, and brings out what God planned all along.” (vs 10)

    “We have not received this world’s spirit; instead, we have received the Spirit sent by God, so that we may know all that God has given us.” (vs 12)

    Last night I read “Radical Together” by David Platt. David speaks about the plan Jesus has for us…
    1.make disciples of all the nations
    2.take up our cross
    3.follow me
    4.lead others to follow me

    The book asks “What is the best way to align with God’s plan?”. We need the Spirit to guide us. We need the Word for direction. God’s plan, what he has arranged for us, will be clear if we stay in the Word. I have to be quiet to hear him. My focus in life must be on making disciples-locally & globally-to the far ends of the earth, where the gospel hasn’t been heard. What does it really mean to take up our cross? How can I be Jesus to others? God’s plan for my life may be totally different than what I have in mind. I need to daily put my life in his hands and ask him for his guidance-giving every part of me to him. Willing to move, change, surrender as he leads.

    Lord, here I am. I am hungry for your direction. My life is yours. Show me today how to share you with others. Open my eyes, open my heart… use me. Thank you for your Spirit.

  2. Marcia on said:

    Here’s a good “battle blessing.” “Blessed are you, Israel. Who is like you, a people saved by the Lord? He is your shield and helper and your glorious sword. Your enemies will cower before you, and you will tread on their heights.”
    Lord thank You that Your are not just my salvation, protection and help but also my weapon. Thank You that my enemies cower before You.

  3. I remember from another Bible study hearing how God buried Moses himself….and he still hasn’t been found to this day. This chapter in Deuteronomy reminded me. I envision something like hundreds of thousands of explorers, “Indian Jones” types, trying to find Moses. Even in his failings, God loved him so much he wouldn’t let others find him, or try to find his remains and worship those instead of the Lord our God. I thank you today God for the teachings of Moses and letting us see your love in action through your relationship with him.

Leave a Reply

