Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 75

Friday, March 16, 2012

Welcome to Day 75 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 30, 31; Psalms 40; 1 Corinthians 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 30:19 “This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live 20 and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”

v 11, “Now what I am commanding you today is not too difficult for you or beyond your reach.”

Deuteronomy 31:24 “After Moses finished writing in a book the words of this law from beginning to end, 25 he gave this command to the Levites who carried the ark of the covenant of the LORD: 26 “Take this Book of the Law and place it beside the ark of the covenant of the LORD your God. There it will remain as a witness against you. 27 For I know how rebellious and stiff-necked you are. If you have been rebellious against the LORD while I am still alive and with you, how much more will you rebel after I die! 28 Assemble before me all the elders of your tribes and all your officials, so that I can speak these words in their hearing and call the heavens and the earth to testify against them. 29 For I know that after my death you are sure to become utterly corrupt and to turn from the way I have commanded you. In days to come, disaster will fall on you because you will do evil in the sight of the LORD and arouse his anger by what your hands have made.”

1 Corinthians 1:4 “I always thank my God for you because of his grace given you in Christ Jesus. 5 For in him you have been enriched in every way—with all kinds of speech and with all knowledge— 6 God thus confirming our testimony about Christ among you. 7 Therefore you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed. 8 He will also keep you firm to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 God is faithful, who has called you into fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

Psalm 40:8

“I desire to do your will, my God; your law is within my heart.”

O bservation

There is quite a contrast between Moses’ proclamation to the Israelites and Paul’s proclamation to the believers in Corinth. Even though God had spoken to Moses and told him that the Israelites would turn away from him and worship other gods…

God already knew the outcome…

Did you catch this one? God promised Joshua that “I will never leave you, I will never forsake you.” in v 8. But in v 17, “And in that day I will become angry with them and forsake them…”

Hmmm… How does that work? God knew that Joshua would be faithful to him. He had already demonstrated that… Keep in mind Joshua and Caleb were the only ones of the generation of age 20 and older to cross the Jordan. So, God could make that promise to him…

A pplication

All through these recent chapters we see conditional statements… “If… then…” If you do this, I’ll do that. But if you do THIS, I’ll do THAT…”

Is God’s faithfulness dependent upon my faithfulness? No.

Is God’s blessing upon my life dependent upon my faithfulness? Yes and no.

2 Timothy 2:11, “Here is a trustworthy saying: If we died with him, we will also live with him; 12 if we endure, we will also reign with him. If we disown him, he will also disown us; 13

if we are faithless, he remains faithful, for he cannot disown himself.”

Have to keep in mind that none of us are perfectly faithful… If God’s faithfulness depended upon our faithfulness, we would all be in big trouble. None of us would stand a chance.

So, yes, it’s clear that God’s blessing has some conditions… but in the end, he is faithful.

P rayer

Lord I want to be found faithful to you… Thank you that you are faithful to me. You ARE faithful!

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 75

  1. Yes, I love those verses in Deuteronomy that remind me over and over that the Lord is with me, he will never leave or forsake me. Over and over. His mercy, love and compassion, His presence, is always with us! Yea! We are strong and courageous, not because of our abilities, but because He is with us. 1Cor reiterates that in verses 7&8: We do not lack any spiritual gift…He will keep us firm to the end so that we will be blameless.

    God is faithful. He’s with us. He gives us strength and courage. That makes me so happy!

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Cor. 1:30 (msg)
    “Everything that we have-right thinking and right living, a clean slate and a fresh start-comes from God by way of Jesus Christ.”

    Thank you, Father, for your son. Thank you for the ultimate sacrifice. Thank you for a fresh start and clean slate-because of Jesus. Thank you for hope, peace and strength that I have through Jesus.

    This verse reminds me of the Gungor song “Dry Bones”

    “Jesus, you’re the one who saves us-Constantly creates us in to something new.
    Jesus, Surely you will find us. Surely our Messiah-will make all things new.”

  3. Good morning!

    SCRIPTURE:
    Deuteronomy 30–The whole chapter.

    OBSERVATION:
    I am in love with this Chapter! What a beautifully reassuring promise. We are never too far away from God that we can’t find our way back. An appropriate topic for a person who missed the last couple of weeks of this study.

    APPLICATION:
    Be wary of the seemingly good things that distract you from God’s Word.

    PRAYER:
    Keep me focused on you God and give me discernment. When I allow things or situations to become larger than you again Lord, please remind me of this Chapter.

    SCRIPTURE:
    Deuteronomy 31: 6; 7 and 23–“be strong and courageous” (3x); “I will be with you”; “I will neither fail nor abandon you.”; “I will personally go ahead of you.”

    OBSERVATION:
    Uh, so why am I not obeying God 100%? I understand that “strong and courageous” connotes some type of strenuous work but what He promises in return for our obedience far outweighs any discomfort we may experience. Why is it so hard to live in obedience, day after day, given the marvelous promises God has made to us? I don’t consider myself a stupid person but let’s face it, disobeying God is just plain dumb. So why do we all do it and on such a regular basis?

    APPLICATION:
    Obey God. See what happens.

    PRAYER:
    Help me to be strong and courageous Lord. You said it three times so I know it’s important. Thank you for promising to go before me as long as I obey. Renew my desire to want to obey You.

    SCRIPTURE:
    Psalm 40:1 “I waited patiently for the LORD to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry.

    OBSERVATION:
    Yeah, I would have left out the word “patiently”.

    APPLICATION:
    Pray for patience but be prepared for turmoil.

    PRAYER:
    Please God let the patience process be as painless as possible.

    SCRIPTURE:
    1 Corinthians 1:8: “He will keep you strong to the end so that you will be free from all blame on the day when our Lord Jesus Christ returns.”

    OBSERVATION:
    One thing is for certain, following God sounds anything but dull. Our comfort zone borders will most certainly be breached. Are we “strong and courageous” enough to really, really follow Him? Am I brave enough to do what He asks me to do?

    SCRIPTURE:
    1 Corinthians 1:25: “This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength.”

    OBSERVATION:
    Am I supposed to be offended? Did God just make fun of us in a way? He’s right, of course, and very direct. No words mincing here. I am also very comforted that I don’t have to do things in my own power . It’s quite liberating.

    APPLICATION:
    Always, always, always run (even your best) plans/ideas past God before moving forward.

    PRAYER:
    Remind me Lord to seek Your guidance in all things. When I move forward on my own bring my attention back to these words.

    SCRIPTURE:
    1 Corinthians 1:27-28: “Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful. God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important.”

    OBSERVATION:
    The Bible is riddled with paradoxes. You must die to live; give to receive; surrender to be free; humble yourself to be exalted. It’s teachings are so contrary to some of the ways of the world that as a Christian I sometimes feel like a rebel (in an exciting, “Indiana Jones” kind of way).

    APPLICATION:
    Test the ways of the world with the Word of God and you will begin to see how far apart they are in many ways.

    PRAYER:
    Make me weak and powerless Lord so you can use me.

  4. I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought. 1 Corinthians 1:10 NIV

    We can really have some lengthy and heated debates about things, can’t we? We can make mountains out of molehills and divide ourselves on what are small issues in the grand scheme? I wonder if Jesus feels the same way I do when my kids fight tooth and nail over who gets to “ride shotgun”. We so are quick to point out what others are doing wrong and slow to discover our own weaknesses. We are quick to boast about our strengths when the only cause we have to boast is in Jesus. We have become very polarized in the political realm and the level of anger and hate speech is astonishing.

    Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. Psalm 20:7

    Lord, let this be our prayer as we head into the next presidential election. We pray for all of our leaders and those running for office. We pray against the enemy’s control over their hearts. We take so many blessings for granted Lord. It is not possible for us to be perfectly united when it comes to many things in this world, but let us be perfectly united in You despite our different backgrounds. We are all helpless sinners saved solely by Your grace and justified by faith in You Jesus. That is the only blessing we really need. Let us come together to lift up Your Holy Name above ourselves, our city, state, country, and world. Amen

Leave a Reply

