Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 70

Sunday, March 11, 2012

Welcome to Day 70 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 16, 17, 18; Psalms 38; Galatians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 16 is a repetition of the laws concerning the three yearly feasts; the passover, pentecost, tabernacles, and rules concerning the people’s attendance. Ends with reiterating NOT to set up Asherah poles.

What is an Asherah pole you ask? Click HERE.

Deuteronomy 17 provides yet again more clarity about animals to be used (or not used) as a sacrifice. Goes on to talk about punishment for those who worship idols. Instructions regarding the appointing of leaders.

Deuteronomy 18 offerings for the Priests, Levites… A strong warning against occult practices, “Let no one be found among you who… practices divination or sorcery, interprets omens, engages in witchcraft, 111 or casts spells, or who is a medium or spiritist or who consults the dead. 12 Anyone who does these things is detestable to the LORD.” New International Version

The New Living Translation says it this way… “Do not let your people practice fortune-telling, or use sorcery, or interpret omens, or engage in witchcraft, 11 or cast spells, or function as mediums or psychics, or call forth the spirits of the dead. 12 Anyone who does these things is detestable to the LORD.”

Psalm 38 is a penitential psalm… David is full of grief, pouring his heart out. Ends in an earnest prayer asking God for help.

Galatians 2 Paul gives his credentials as an apostle and talks about opposing Peter (Cephas) “to his face.” Pointing out Peter’s hypocrisy, that he had begun withdrawing from eating with Gentile believers… (Remember the vision Peter had and how God had used him to reach the Gentiles, that they had been given the gift of the Spirit, just like the Jewish believers had?) Paul called him out on it.

One of my favorite verses… Galatians 2:20

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

O bservation

Over and over and over again we are cautioned against false worship and are encouraged to worship the One true God. To not “chase after” false gods that would lead one astray.

And another reminder regarding the Sabbath.

Galatians 2:20 perfectly describes the life of a Christian. I HAVE BEEN crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live. Yet not I, but Christ IN me. And the life I now live, I live by faith in the son of God who loved me and gave himself for ME.

I have been crucified with Christ. He did that for me… for us… One sacrifice for all.

Just as sin entered the world through one man, Adam… One sacrifice was made for all by one man, Jesus.

“Jesus paid it all. All to him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain. He washed it white as snow.”

A pplication

This life I now life, I live by faith in the son of God who loved me and gave himself for me.

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you are the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world…

“When I see the blood, I will pass over (Passover) you.” Exodus 12:13

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 70

  1. Martha on said:

    Day 70 life journal
    Deuteronomy 16
    Passover, Festival of Weeks, the joyful feast of Tabernacles, appearing before the Lord 3 times a year and setting up judges to pursue justice and not mingling their worship.
    It’s as if surrendering and being a part of this community would dictate every aspect of life, make it predictable, rhythmic, consensual.
    I have never fully committed myself to a path and I always have doubts which make me less inclined to consistency – I walk around saying ” did God really say?” as in the garden. Perhaps I really am cut out for Christianity – I cannot put my faith in a path but can put it in a Person, but it cannot be any person for I do not trust so easily. This Person must have authority, proof that His methods work and show me directly and answer my questions – what a fabulous guru I have in Jesus, so patient and condescending to come to me and draw even me into a spiritual life.
    Jesus help me to submit to You with a more complete and wholehearted surrender. Help me to honor You for all You have done and continue to do for me. In Your precious Name, in which I can dare to come to You the Father and approach what is holy without fear. Amen, thank You my Lord and Savior!

    Deuteronomy 17
    Authority: the authority we have to discern when something is not right spiritually and how we can take deliberate steps to do something about it, not by our own sovereignty but by working in agreement with others.
    Virtue displayed – discernment, discretion, deliberateness also personal responsibility and directness, collaboration and unity.

    Submitting to the system of justice and respecting those put in the position of authority. Virtue displayed – meekness, surrender, encouragement, honor and disciplined speech.

    Kings – warnings about lack of virtue: envy possibly leading astray, excess being corrupting, forgetting God, returning to former lives and lifestyle, presuming that station means there is something better and more worthy about you – placing yourself above others and above the law
    Practices to curb these tendencies: choosing according to God’s direction, reading God’s Word daily

    These virtues are not strong in me, neither are these vices absent. I have a friend who is Baha’i and she is always talking about virtue and teaching her children scripture that will guide their behavior. I have pursued knowledge more than virtue and have understanding more than mature behavior. I feel like I am coming to a turning point in my life when putting what I have learned into practice is more important than learning. I wrestle so much with practice though. The other day I decided to memorize the Sermon on the Mount and really study it with my children since this is our 10 commandments of sorts, yet I lack the conviction that this is the best way for me to proceed. I so envy those who are so certain about exactly what pleases God and what will advance them spiritually. There would be so much comfort in believing in a path. Perhaps what I need is more community because I get lost in my thoughts and need others to help me sort through the confusion.
    Father, help me to follow Jesus and to trust that He will show me all I need to do. Give me friends and counselors who help me to clear away the confusion. Help me to put into practice what You have taught me and to reveal on the outside what I am on the inside. In Jesus’ Name. Amen

  2. Kelley on said:

    Lord, please help my love for you not simply be lip service. I am on this earth to help others know you. May my life not be about me, but let your love shine through. Please help me to cling to the power and confidence found through the cross. May peace, joy, and love burn bright. I am so blessed. Thank you for putting me in the picture of this thing called life. I love you, may it be clear today.

  3. Marcia on said:

    Today the word “grace” shouts to me. I love Galatians 2:21 “I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing.”. Boy that takes the pressure off, doesn’t it? We can never measure up. It’s always about The blood.
    Then in Galatians 2:6b “God does not show favoritism. ” He’s not going to pass me by, or leave me out, or allow me to miss any good thing. He doesn’t put others first. He does everything for my good, so no matter what circumstance I find myself in today, no matter how things look, He is working out His best for me. His choice.

  4. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 38:15
    “What I do, God, is wait for you, wait for my Lord, my God-you will answer!”

    Oh, I wait for you, Lord. You are my God. You will answer. You are faithful, loyal and always on time. Thank you, Lord!

    Gal. 2:19-21
    “What actually took place was this: I tried keeping rules and working my head off to please God, and it didn’t work. So I quit being a “law man” so that I could be God’s man. Christ’s life showed me how, and enabled me to do it. I identified myself completely with him. Indeed, I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not “mine”, but it is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I am not going to go back on that.”

    A life lived by faith. To be “God’s man”-not to be one who impresses others or even lives to impress God. Obey, love and serve. Be like Jesus. Slow down, quiet my voice, be humble, simple, peaceful and full of love.

Leave a Reply

