Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 69

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 69 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 13, 14, 15; Galatians 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 13, Moses again reiterates the importance of following the LORD and to put to death all those who would lead them astray. False prophets… even their own family members who would lead them astray! (Including their livestock!) In other words, take nothing from them. Have no part with them… Destroy their town, burn everything. That town was to never be rebuilt.

Deuteronomy 14 parallels Leviticus 11 in content regarding the consumption of and definition of clean and unclean animals. Also mentions the tithe of whatever one would produce, grain, etc. and a reminder to care for the Levites who had received no inheritance of their own.

Deuteronomy 15:7-11 “If anyone is poor among your fellow Israelites in any of the towns of the land the LORD your God is giving you, do not be hardhearted or tightfisted toward them. 8 Rather, be openhanded and freely lend them whatever they need. 9 Be careful not to harbor this wicked thought: “The seventh year, the year for canceling debts, is near,” so that you do not show ill will toward the needy among your fellow Israelites and give them nothing. They may then appeal to the LORD against you, and you will be found guilty of sin. 10 Give generously to them and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the LORD your God will bless you in all your work and in everything you put your hand to. 11 There will always be poor people in the land.

Therefore I command you to be openhanded

toward your fellow Israelites who are poor and needy in your land.

Commands to set servants free on the seventh year and to bless them as they go… Also reminder to eat the firstborn of your flock. If it was lame or blind or flawed, you could eat it, but not sacrifice it.

Galatians 1, Paul’s introduction to the church in Galatia… Confronts them about their defection from the true Gospel… gives his credentials for having done so… Gives his testimony about how he had once persecuted the church, been an upandcoming star in Judaism, but that he had received revelation from Jesus and how he had changed.

O bservation

The thing that stands out to me over and over again is how God wants us to simply trust, follow and obey him, and to “put to death” anything in our lives that leads us away from him…

Trust, follow, obey

A pplication

Easier said than done for sure. There are so many opportunities in life to be led astray… to turn away.

Reminds me of the verse Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 9,

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”

P rayer

Lord, help me to run the race to win… That I would never be disqualified…

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 69

  1. Kelley on said:

    Trust and obey for there is no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey. These lyrics are simple and true.
    I do not think God asks us too much. The life of a Christian is challenging, but with God anything is possible. I think that is the exciting part .
    Lord, thank you for a chance to visit my family in OH. I will enjoy a day with my parents. Life is short. I do not know how long you will keep them on earth. Please help me to savor every moment and not take it for granted.

  2. Self righteousness is one of the most insidious sins. Generosity helps. Shifts the focus off of me to others. Remembering to do Good for the sake of God. Please help me to follow you Lord and stay on a generous path.

  3. Nicole on said:

    Deut. 15:10 “Give freely and spontaneously.”

    Keep my mind out of my giving, Lord. Please help me to give with my heart. Thank you, Lord, for this day. Thank you for all of my blessings. Thank you for the challenges that you bless me with. Help me to be more like you every day. Oh, my God, you are my God and I worship you.

  4. Mark Long on said:

     22 Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year. 23 Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and olive oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the LORD your God at the place he will choose as a dwelling for his Name, so that you may learn to revere the LORD your God always.

    I don’t really understand this part. I have the feeling that it means that at the celebration, they would partake by eating some of the tithe that they brought? It just seems a little counter intuitive to bring a tithe then use some it for yourself. Thoughts?

  5. Hi Mark:

    The way I read that passage, is give my best to the Lord. The first, the best, the freshest. And He will show his generosity and teach us to be generous by sharing it with us. We are blessed to share a relationship with Him, and I have learned in previous Bible studies (Beth Moore) that food is often how God shares relationship with us (burnt offerings…..remember in previous passages how the Israelites are to offer burnt offerings with a pleasing aroma to the Lord? Makes us think he also enjoys those homey aromas of a good meal….reminds me of Thanksgiving and the “pleasing aromas”…and the love and fellowship I enjoy with my family and how good that feels) . He doesn’t just want it for himself, he wants it for us. That’s how I read all that, and I really love when Moses and God talk about food!

  6. marcyj5800 on said:

    I’m struck with the privelege God gave the Levites in Dt. 10 – He “chose them to serve Him and bless the people” – they did not receive a land inheritance, but God Himself is their inheritance. When I think about it, inheriting land requires a LOT of WORK in order to produce fruit. The ground must be tilled, seed planted, weeds, rooted, fertilizer spread, etc., etc. All on a continuing basis – and maybe it yields fruit…maybe not so much. The Levites had no such distractions – their privelege is to tend His Light, offer prayers, and eat the Bread of His Presence. Serve God, bless people. Their inheritance requires no WORK in order to receive blessing. God does all the WORK to make their lives fruitful, purposeful and satisfying. I confess at times, I don’t see this as the greater inheritance – my mind and heart can get so preoccupied with STUFF – that loses it’s appeal after a very short while. Help me Lord to keep my eyes fixed on the eternal inheritance that never spoils or fades.

Leave a Reply

