Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 68

Friday, March 9, 2012

Welcome to Day 68 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 10, 11, 12; Mark 16 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuternonomy 10, Moses exhorts the people to follow the Lord. He reminds them of all that God has done for them… He reminds them of the tablets and the Ark, their disobedience and God’s faithfulness in contrast.

Deuteronomy 11:1-7,

“Love the LORD your God and keep his requirements…

his decrees, his laws and his commands always. 2 Remember today that your children were not the ones who saw and experienced the discipline of the LORD your God: his majesty, his mighty hand, his outstretched arm; 3 the signs he performed and the things he did in the heart of Egypt, both to Pharaoh king of Egypt and to his whole country; what he did to the Egyptian army, to its horses and chariots, how he overwhelmed them with the waters of the Red Sea as they were pursuing you, and how the LORD brought lasting ruin on them. 5 It was not your children who saw what he did for you in the wilderness until you arrived at this place, 6 and what he did to Dathan and Abiram, sons of Eliab the Reubenite, when the earth opened its mouth right in the middle of all Israel and swallowed them up with their households, their tents and every living thing that belonged to them. 7

But it was your own eyes that saw all these great things the LORD has done.”

O bservation

It’s easy to read the Bible as though these were just stories… But in actuality, these are historical records, of actual events that took place. The adults saw with their own eyes the parting of the Red Sea, when the earth opened up and swallowed up those who had been disobedient. They saw the plagues and the Presence of God in the pillar of fire and cloud. They gathered the manna every morning…

Not their kids. It was their job to pass these things along to their kids.

God told them NOT TO FORGET all that he had done for them… and to talk about them with their kids… morning, noon and night.

A pplication

Being a Christian is more than some moral code of ethics that we live by. It’s how God wants us to live. He is THE God. He is not A god… He is the great and awesome God. The creator of heaven and earth, showing love to a thousand generations of those who love him and obey him!

It’s my job to pass my faith on to my children. And for them to pass it on to their children. They may have not seen God’s mighty works, but I have. They may not believe it, but I do. I know that I know that I know.

 

P rayer

Thank you Lord for who you are! For being the Almighty! The one true God… Lord over all. Thank you for using broken, hurting people for your purposes! There is a great prayer in Habakuk 3:2…

“LORD, I have heard of your fame;
I stand in awe of your deeds, LORD.
Repeat them in our day,
in our time make them known;
in wrath remember mercy.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 68

  1. And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God ask of you but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in obedience to him, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to observe the LORD’s commands and decrees that I am giving you today for your own good?
    To the LORD your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it. Yet the LORD set his affection on your ancestors and loved them, and he chose you, their descendants, above all the nations—as it is today. Circumcise your hearts, therefore, and do not be stiff-necked any longer. For the LORD your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes. He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing. And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt. Fear the LORD your God and serve him. Hold fast to him and take your oaths in his name. He is the one you praise; he is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes. Your ancestors who went down into Egypt were seventy in all, and now the LORD your God has made you as numerous as the stars in the sky.

    I think this is a great summary. It would be a good thing to print on a 3×5 card and read frequently. Fear the LORD our God. I think of this not like horror film fear like Freddy Krueger, but more like the way we feared our father coming home when we did something bad. Walk in obedience, not just think about being obedient. Love Him. Worship God because He is God Almighty, not because he can do stuff for us. Observe His commands and decrees for our own good. I think I get those mixed up sometimes and Love God for my own good and try to observe his commands because I think it will benefit Him.

    Lord, I imprint these words on my heart and in my soul. I want act as you would have me act and speak as you would have me speak, so that I may not face your judgment when you return. I am far from perfect, so I ask for forgiveness for the things I’ve done wrong. I worship you only because you alone are worthy of all my praise. I remember the signs and wonders recorded in scripture and those that I have witnessed with my own eyes and stand in awe of them. We need more of you Jesus. You uphold the cause of the widow, the orphan, the foreigner, the lost and the broken. I your name we drive out demons, speak in new tongues, pick up snakes with our hands without harm, and place our hands on the sick to heal them. Amen.

  2. Nicole on said:

    Deut. 10:12-13 (msg) “So now Israel, what do you think God expects from you? Just this: Live in his presence in holy reverence, follow the road he sets out for you, love him, serve God, your God, with everything you have in you, obey the commandments and regulations of God that I’m commanding you today-live a good life.”

    God expects me to obey him, love him and serve him. Life is so simple. Why do I complicate things-filling it with things that don’t matter, stuff that needs care? I need to prioritize each day-with a plan of obedience, love and service.

    Deut. 11:16 “But be vigilant, lest you be seduced away and end up serving and worshiping gods…”

    Be on guard. Don’t be tempted. Know that I have power through Christ who give me strength-in mind and body.

    Deut. 11:18-21 “Place these words on your hearts. Get them deep inside you. Tie them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder. Teach them to your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street;talk about them from the time you get up in the morning until you fall into bed at night…”

    I want your words deep inside me, Lord. Help me to be on guard. Thank you for the strength and power that you give me. I commit myself to obedience, love and service. I love you.

Leave a Reply

