Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 67

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Welcome to Day 67 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 7, 8, 9; Mark 15 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

In Deuteronomy 7 Moses exhorts the Israelites to keep God’s commands and to keep themselves pure from idolatry and those who practice it. Not to let their sons and daughters marry them v 4 “for they will turn your children away from following me to serve other gods.”

They were to drive out the other nations so that they would not be a temptation and lead them into idolatry. They were to obliterate any evidence of their gods… v 5 “Break down their altars, smash their sacred stones, cut down their Asherah poles and burn their idols in the fire.” v 25 “The images of their gods you are to burn in the fire. Do not covet the silver and gold on them, and do not take it for yourselves, or you will be ensnared by it, for it is detestable to the LORD your God. 26 Do not bring a detestable thing into your house or you, like it, will be set apart for destruction. Regard it as vile and utterly detest it, for it is set apart for destruction.”

Point taken. Following other gods is not a good thing.

v 9 “Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments.”

Deuteronomy 8 is all about not forgetting the LORD and all he has done. v 15 “He led you through the vast and dreadful wilderness, that thirsty and waterless land, with its venomous snakes and scorpions. He brought you water out of hard rock. 16 He gave you manna to eat in the wilderness, something your ancestors had never known, to humble and test you so that in the end it might go well with you.”

v 19 “If you ever forget the LORD your God and follow other gods and worship and bow down to them, I testify against you today that you will surely be destroyed.” (Gulp…)

Deuteronomy 9, Moses again reminds the people of their rebelliousness and (nothing like patting oneself on the back!) of his intercession on their behalf. v 18 “Then once again I fell prostrate before the LORD for forty days and forty nights; I ate no bread and drank no water, because of all the sin you had committed, doing what was evil in the LORD’s sight and so arousing his anger. 19 I feared the anger and wrath of the LORD, for he was angry enough with you to destroy you. But again the LORD listened to me. 20 And the LORD was angry enough with Aaron to destroy him, but at that time I prayed for Aaron too. 21 Also I took that sinful thing of yours, the calf you had made, and burned it in the fire. Then I crushed it and ground it to powder as fine as dust and threw the dust into a stream that flowed down the mountain.”

Mark 15, Jesus appears before Pilate… Jesus is mocked and ultimately crucified… v 39 “And when the centurion, who stood there in front of Jesus, saw how he died, he said,

“Surely this man was the Son of God!””

O bservation

Over and over and over Moses reminds the people of God’s commands and exhorts them to obedience. All three chapters of Deuteronomy were cautionary in nature. Reminding the people of God’s commands and all the LORD has done for them and promises to do. Exhorting them to obey… and the results if they don’t.

Always amazed at the trial and crucifixion of Jesus. How he conducted himself and how he was treated… Sad and inspiring all at the same time. Jesus knew who he was, where he came from and where he was going.

Keep in mind he was only 33. I’m 49.

A pplication

Remember all God has done for me.

Be obedient.

Worship him.

P rayer

Lord, I thank you for all you have done for me. More than I even know about! Thank you for your protection and provision.

.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Day 67

  1. I noticed twice that God tells us about how He is among us. Deuteronomy 5:15 and again in 7:21. I was so encouraged by that and that we are in the ” thousand ” generations of the covenant. Powerful….

  2. “The LORD did not set his affection on you and choose you because you were more numerous than other peoples, for you were the fewest of all peoples. But it was because the LORD loved you and kept the oath he swore to your ancestors that he brought you out with a mighty hand and redeemed you from the land of slavery, from the power of Pharaoh king of Egypt. Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments.”

    This promise is still true today and thankfully available to anyone through Jesus. Noting here that is says we need to love Him AND keep his commandments.

    “Do not be terrified by them, for the LORD your God, who is among you, is a great and awesome God. The LORD your God will drive out those nations before you, little by little. You will not be allowed to eliminate them all at once, or the wild animals will multiply around you.”

    How great was it that God was among them driving out their enemies. 1 Corinthians 3:16 says “Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?” How much more comforting is it to know that the spirit of God is inside us through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

    Speaking of the death and resurrection, it is always with mixed emotions that I read the crucifixion story. I know that it needed to take place for scripture to be fulfilled, but I always find it gut wrenching that humans could do this to an animal let alone another human.

  3. Nicole on said:

    Deuteronomy 8:4 (msg)”…so you would learn that men and women don’t live by bread only; we live by every word that comes from God’s mouth.”

    We need his word to live. People are starved today. There is a famine in the world. You don’t live without the word. I haven’t been living for the last 35 years. I have been breathing and surviving, but not living. How have I gone for 35 years without the daily meal from his word to give me wisdom, love, peace and comfort.

    Thank you, Lord, for your word. Thank you for feeding me.

    Deuteronomy 8:16 (msg) “..the God who gave you manna to eat in the wilderness, some-thing your ancestors had never heard of, in order to give you a taste of the hard life, to test you so that you would be prepared to live well in the days ahead of you.”

    We get tests to see what we can handle and prepare us for the better things to come.

    Lord, help me to pass the tests that you give me. Help me to be obedient and submissive.

    Deut. 8:16 “…”make sure you don’t become to full of yourself and your things that you forget God, your God”
    Deut. 8:18 “Remember that God, your God, gave you the strength to produce all this wealth…”
    Deut. 9:4 “…don’t start thinking to yourselves ‘It’s because of all the good I’ve done that God has brought me in here to dispossess these nations”
    Deut. 9:6 “Know this and don’t ever forget it. It’s not because of any good that you’ve done that God is giving you this good land to own.”

    It’s all about you, Lord. Don’t let me forget you. Take any pride in my life. Humble me. Every blessing in my life is a gift from you. Thank you, Lord.

    Mark 15-

    Jesus doesn’t defend himself. He remains quiet. He never answers them. He didn’t respond. One doesn’t get offended, see a need to talk or defend who they are when they know what they stand for, what their purpose is and why they do what they do.

    Remind me, Lord, of who I am. That I need not be offended. My purpose is to love. Help me to be like Jesus.

  4. Anonymous on said:

    God drives out the Anakim (giants) before us with His consuming fire. Good to know.

  5. Good reminder in these readings to stay focused on the goodness of God, and everything else can be a distraction that isn’t important anyway. Jesus put us under the new covenant…another good reminder when reading the old testament. No need to beat myself up for being less than perfect. Jesus bought my salvation. Thank you sooooo much Lord Jesus!!!

  6. Mark 15:29-32…the people passing by and the chief priests and teachers of the law all mocked Jesus. He saved others but can’t save himself. …Let him come down from the cross so we can see and believe in him!”

    They thought they’d won, they thought they’d gotten rid of him. His followers must have been so confused, wondering what had happened. They must have questioned everything they’d believed the last 3 years.

    It’s so shocking when it appears things aren’t working out the way we want…the way we hope and pray for. If I think I “know” what God’s gonna do and how and why, then I could be really disappointed and confused about my faith if it doesn’t work out that way. I may have to face “3 days” while my hopes and plans lay buried before I witness a resurrection–answers beyond my wildest dreams. Do I trust me or do I trust God when I’m standing at the tomb of unanswered prayer? Must I have things work out my way in order to believe in a good God? Or can I trust there’s a good God no matter how things appear?

  7. Scott Sliver on said:

    I am the anonymous poster… posted from my iPhone, but wasn’t logged in. : )

Leave a Reply

