Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 66

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 66 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 5, 6; Psalms 43; Mark 14 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 5, Moses reminds the people of God’s commandments. v 9 “I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 10 but

showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.”

v 32 “So be careful to do what the LORD your God has commanded you; do not turn aside to the right or to the left. 33 Walk in obedience to all that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess.”

Deuteronomy 6:4-5

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.”

v 6-7 “These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”

v 12 “Be careful that you do not forget the LORD, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.”

“Fear the LORD your God, serve him only”

Psalm 43,

“Why, my soul, are you downcast?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.”
Mark 14, Jesus and the disciples, the last supper… “Truly I tell you, one of you will betray me—one who is eating with me.” (Judas) Then, Jesus predicts Peter’s denial of him…
O bservation
First, I love today’s chapters in Deuteronomy… Some of the most revered scriptures in Judaism and Christianity are within these verses. Moses is stressing, in the twilight of his life, the importance of obedience and loving and fearing the LORD. Amazing inspirational chapters full of timeless wisdom…
Jesus quoted from Deuteronomy 6! In Luke 4:8, “Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God and serve him only.” and Mark 12:30, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”

 

A pplication

Be careful…

Do not forget…

Impress them…

Talk about them…

Do what the Lord has commanded…

Love the Lord…

Worship the Lord…

P rayer

Show me what it means to love you with all my heart, soul, mind and strength…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 66

  1. Nicole on said:

    Deut 6:6-9 Focus on God all day. Tell others about him. Tell your children. Remind yourself.

    vs.10-12 Remember where you came from.

    vs 14-God is jealous. We’ve seen this three times lately in the last few chapters.

    Lord, help me to remember who you are, your commands, your love-every minute of every day. Keep my mind focused on you and your word. Help me not to make you jealous. I give you my all. Thank you for changing my life, for renewing me daily, for changing my heart. I love you!

  2. WordPress was acting up today… the usual formatting was not functioning properly… A simple hard return wasn’t the right spacing… Not going to worry about it. Already spent too much time trying to fix it. : )

  3. I hear alot today about humility, remembering God and do Good in the readings. Thank you Father for the times I get off track, and your gentle correction and continuous love.

Leave a Reply

