Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 65

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 65 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Deuteronomy 3, 4; Psalms 36; Mark 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Deuteronomy 3 Israel’s conquest of Canaan has begun. They are beginning to take possession of the land the Lord had “given” them (I would say, he “decided they would inhabit” that land… they had to fight for it. It hardly was given to them…)

In v 23 Moses pleads with God to be allowed to cross the Jordan River… but sadly, his request is denied.

Funny that Moses placed blame on the people, rather than taking responsibility himself for his disobedience and frustration… v 26, “But because of you the LORD was angry with me and would not listen to me. “That is enough,” the LORD said. “Do not speak to me anymore about this matter.”

You may see it, but not cross over into it…

Deuteronomy 4 is an AMAZING chapter… Moses encourages the people to be obedient to the laws the LORD had given them. Reminds them to avoid idolatry… Cautions them not to worship any image of man or beast, or any heavenly body.

v 32-40 is a great chapter declaring “the LORD is God! Besides him, there is no other!”

v 39-40, “Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the LORD is God in heaven above and on the earth below. There is no other. 40 Keep his decrees and commands, which I am giving you today, so that it may go well with you and your children after you and that you may live long in the land the LORD your God gives you for all time.”

Psalm 36, “Your love, LORD, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. 6 Your righteousness is like the highest mountains, your justice like the great deep.” LISTEN to Third Day’s “Your Love Oh Lord.”

Mark 13, Jesus describes the end times… v 32-32 “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.

Be on guard! Be alert!

You do not know when that time will come.”

O bservation

I wonder how often this happens? That God has the Promised Land for us, but due to our disobedience we might only get to see it from a distance and not enter and possess it? How sad is that? So close… so close and yet so far…

I wonder what would have happened if Moses had just taken responsibility for his actions? When God told him to speak to the rock and it would bring forth water for the people… but he hit the rock twice instead. Numbers 20:7-12.

“LORD, please forgive me. Forgive my disobedience. In my frustration (with these people) I became angry and hit the rock instead of doing as you commanded… That I speak to the rock… and in your great love you would bring forth water for your people.”

A pplication

“Obedience” sounds simple enough. Do this, don’t do that. If only it were reallythat easy…

Moses had faithfully led the people for forty years… they grumbled and complained, seemingly endlessly. He was faithful in setting up the tabernacle. He pleaded for the people, repeatedly… crying out to God to NOT destroy them… Yet in a (cumulative) moment of frustration, he lost his opportunity to enter the Promised Land…

Moral of the story? Life is a marathon, not a sprint… Easier to run, not so easy to finish well.

P rayer

Lord, I want to, as Paul said, “Run the race to win.”

Forgive me for the times I have been frustrated and grumbled or acted in disobedience…

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 65

  1. Deut. 4:20: “But as for you, the LORD took you and brought you out of the iron-smelting furnace, out of Egypt, to be the people of his inheritance, as you now are.” But as for you . . . as for you, Elizabeth, the LORD took you and brought you out of the iron-smelting furnace, out of Egypt, to be a person of his inheritance, as you now are. [I was also in Psalm 149 this AM – not part of our LifeJournal plan, but the LORD tied this in, too: “For the LORD takes delight in his people; he crowns the humble with salvation. Let the saints rejoice in this honor and sing for joy on their beds.” Ps 149:4-5.] I was deeply convicted this AM about the way in which I take my salvation for granted. I tend to forget what an incredible deliverance it is; what an unspeakable honor it is. God crowns the HUMBLE with salvation – I came to the Cross in humility and abject poverty of spirit to receive salvation, but somehow I neglect to maintain this humble posture continually – continually marveling that I’ve been delivered from an iron-smelting furnace and that Christ has afforded me the honor of entering His Kingdom. I forget to REJOICE in my salvation and sing for joy because I become careless and complacent. Oh God, forgive me for taking your magnificent and eternal gift for granted. Thank you, God, thank you, thank you. “Has anything so great as this ever happened, or has anything like it ever been heard of? . . . Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the LORD is God in heaven above and on the earth below. There is no other.” Deut. 4:32, 39. Eternal and Everlasting God, I give you thanks and praise and walk with joy and confidence this day, in humble dependence on you. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me (Psalm 51:12). Amen!

  2. Lisa Green on said:

    It reminds that it is people around me-family, friends, acquaintances, the guy in the car in front of me…. all bring out what is inside of me. Others make me realize exactly where I am.

  3. “The LORD said to me, “Do not be afraid of him, for I have delivered him into your hands, along with his whole army and his land.”

    “At that time we took all his cities. There was not one of the sixty cities that we did not take from them—the whole region of Argob, Og’s kingdom in Bashan. All these cities were fortified with high walls and with gates and bars, and there were also a great many unwalled villages. We completely destroyed them…”

    This sounds like a scenario for certain defeat without the first part. Sometimes today, it seems like the walls are high with gates and bars. We have sickness and disease, continued erosion of morals, dirty politics and hate speech, crime, murder, addiction, suicide, etc. How can we be effective against such a long list? Every day, it seems like the prayer list keeps getting longer. How can we be victorious?

    Romans 8:31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

    Romans 8:37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

    Luke 10:18-20 He replied, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven. I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you. However, do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.”

    Victory is certain. We just need to engage. To borrow the words of Charlie Sheen, “Defeat is not an option.”

  4. There are times in my life where I have to admit the rules have seemed like a burden, for “those other people. ” Through this reading, I learn that the rules aren’t a barrier…my disobedience is to my inheritance. Like you have all commented, easier said than done to stay faithful always to them. I’m so thankful for the insight today that blessings come through obedience. This is God’s will for me.

  5. Marcia on said:

    Reading Deut. 4, I am reminded of all the Lord has done for me, all he has taught me by the circumstances He hand picked and placed in my path. I see His intricate planning on my behalf to bring me to this day and this place. Verse 35, “To you it was shown that you might know that the Lord, He is God, there is no other besides Him. Wow, all this planning, all His leading, so that He could reveal Himself to me. What love!!! What a Father!! What a Savior!!

  6. Deuteronomy 3-4
    26 But because of you the LORD was angry with me and would not listen to me. “That is enough,” the LORD said. “Do not speak to me anymore about this matter.

    I’ve felt like Moses. Something I wanted so badly, but I can see that God doesn’t have it in my plan. Sometimes I try and make it my way, but without much success (like the Israelites attempting to take the promised land after God said forget it). When I do it God’s way, things turn out as planned. The only fault in the system is me. My wants, urges, thoughts, sadness, anger, distrust. I need to focus on what God wants for me, rather than try and force what I want into God’s plan. Easier said than done.

  7. marcyj5800 on said:

    I both Deuteronomya and the Mark passages I see the repeated emphasis is to “be ready; be on your guard; watch yourselves. God’s people have always been surrounded by eneies – either fearful foes waiting to devour, or deceitful liars luring us away from true Light, Life and Love. S, how do I keep my guard up? My focus must always be on the Only God Whos sought us out and chose us for Himself(Dt. 4: 34); Remember and obey His words/commands – they are the distinguishing source of wisdom and understanding (Dt. 4:6); Fear Him ad Him alone – this is the only fear that brings blessings (Dt.10:b) and keeps me from the foolishness that inflated ego brings (ps.36:2); Focus on God’s infinite Love, Goodness, Righteousness, Faithfulness, Justice, Protection and Provision (Ps.36:5-8) And finally – He and He alone will bring us safely Home(Mark 13:27). Watch, wait – and be in Awe of Him. Lord I know the days are perilous – and I know my own inclination to stray..help me keep my eyes fixed on the Wonder of You (not just during quiet times or church), but 23/7…You are so worth the obsession.

Leave a Reply

