Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 61

Friday, March 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 61 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 30, 31; Mark 9  (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Numbers 30 gives instructions for vows taken by women, and how if they are young daughters living at home, that their father has influence on the validity of their vows. The same thing with married women and their husbands. And if they are widowed or divorced, their vows stand.

Numbers 31, what a chapter! God commands the army of Israel to attack the Midianites…

In this attach, Balaam is killed. Here is the verse that showed why Balaam was killed (and considered to be a false prophet, as mentioned in 2 Peter, Jude and Revelation.) v 16 “They were the ones who followed Balaam’s advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD’s people.”

(Did you remember that Moses married a Midianite woman when he fled Egypt? There seems to be some dispute as to whether Moses had married only once, or twice… Miriam and Aaron were murmuring against Moses and his “Cushite” wife… If he had actually married a Cushite woman or if this was just a slur against Zipporah?)

On one hand, Balaam blessed Israel… on the other had, he enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD… You can’t have it both ways. Like Jesus said, “No one can serve two masters.” It cost him his life… mixing “divination” (also translated “sorcery”) and serving God is a mismatch. Even if a person claims their power (or gives credit) to “god.” Ultimately it cost him his life.

Mark 9 is the account of the transfiguration of Jesus, when both Moses and Elijah appear to him. Peter, James and John were witnesses to this amazing event…

v 7 “Then a cloud appeared and covered them, and a voice came from the cloud:

“This is my Son, whom I love. Listen to him!”

Good advice.

Jesus healed a boy who had a spirit that kept him from talking… He would convulse and foam at the mouth (seizures…). Jesus healed the boy. Awesome!

Jesus said, “whoever is not against us is for us.”

O bservation

Forty years had passed since the Exodus from Egypt… Moses had lived in Egypt from Birth to age 40. He is now 120. Been 40 years since he lived in Midian… Just wondering if there was anyone there that he had known…. wife Zipporah’s relatives, etc…

I wonder how Moses felt about warring against the people who had taken him in at one point in his life?

I also wonder what it was like for Peter, James and John to have witnessed Jesus’ transfiguration? To have seen with their own eyes Moses and Elijah! To have heard God’s voice saying, “This is my son whom I love. Listen to him.” Wow!

A pplication

My application today has nothing to do with my Observations under the O section… Just reflecting on Balaam’s downfall… how he encouraged the Moabites and Midianites to entice the Israelites away from the Lord… (by using the Moabite women to lead them astray.)

At the same time he was blessing Israel and God was speaking to him, he was also helping them (the Moabites and Midianites) devise a plan to lead them (the Israelites) astray!

Moral of the story? Not everyone who “blesses” you has your best interests in mind. Note to self. Sexual sin will lead a person astray spiritually faster than just about anything…

Wondering how this fits with what Jesus said, “He who is not against us is for us?”

In a word, wisdom. Ok, two words… and, discernment.

P rayer

Lord give me wisdom and discernment.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 61

  1. Nicole on said:

    Mark 9:23 Jesus said “If, There are no ‘ifs’ among believers. Anything can happen.”

    God did a miracle for me this week. After asking God for something that seemed so far fetched to me…he gave it to me. I received my tax return and it had a zero balance. In 15 years of being self employed-I have never had a zero balance tax return, where I owe nothing. In November he delivered me from my anger. Last week, he healed my knees. Anything is possible with God, I just have to ask. And trust.

    Thank you, Lord, that you still do miracles today, that anything is possible with you. I will not doubt. I will trust you. I believe in you and your power.

    Mark 9:49-50 “Everyone’s going through a refining fire sooner or later, but you’ll be well-preserved, protected from the eternal flames. Be preservatives yourselves. Preserve the peace.”

    God, refine me. Do a work in me. Please change me to who you want me to be. Help me to be a peace-maker. Create in me a clean heart. Renew a right spirit with in me. I love you!

  2. Shock on said:

    Number 28-31
    3 “When a young woman still living in her father’s household makes a vow to the LORD or obligates herself by a pledge 4 and her father hears about her vow or pledge but says nothing to her, then all her vows and every pledge by which she obligated herself will stand.

    There is a similar verse for wives. This is a call to action for husbands and fathers. If you do not speak, you are approving. I think it is often easy to be the alpha male, bring home the bacon, be a good guy, a good friend, and when you get home just be. But as a husband and father, I’m called by God to be a GREAT husband and a GREAT father. So vegging out on the couch in front of the TV isn’t going to cut it. I recently rented Courageous (Christian movie) and it reminded me that when I get home is when I should give my very best. My wife and my daughter deserve that. I’ve stood before God and family and made this vow to each (wedding, baby dedication) so God will hold me accountable.

  3. Cindy on said:

    Mark 9:33- They came to Capernaum. When he was in the house, he asked them, what were you talking about on the road? But they kept quiet because on the way they had argued about who was the greatest. Sitting down, Jesus called the twelve and said, Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.

    Jesus already knew what they were talking about. And he turned their thinking upside down. this couldn’t have been what they expected. a servant will be first? And the person who wants to be first will be last?

    Jesus doesn’t teach what/how the world teaches. Position wasn’t important to Jesus. He washed Their feet. He modeled how we should humbly serve others.

  4. The LORD said to Moses, “Take vengeance on the Midianites for the Israelites. After that, you will be gathered to your people.” I think this can easily be used as justification to take it upon ourselves to seek revenge. We have to remember this was a specific word given to Moses regarding the Midianites.

    Jesus appeared transfigured before Peter, James and John. God proclaims that Jesus is his son again from the glory cloud and instructs us to “listen to him”. Thinking forward a bit to Peter’s denial of Jesus 3 times, it becomes clear how easily we succumb to the fear of what people will think of us.

    Those who are not against us are for us. it’s important to remember that Christians in other congregations are on the same team. We are one church under Christ Jesus despite different gathering places and methods, beliefs, etc. We need to “Be at peace with each other.”

Leave a Reply

