Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 60

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Welcome to Day 60 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 28, 29; Mark 8  (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

In previous chapters, the people were numbered, orders given for the dividing of the land, and a leaders nominated and commissioned, one would have expected that the next chapter should begin the history of the campaign… instead it contains yet again the ordinances for worship as reminder… as they are about to enter Canaan, to not forget these lasting ordinances… Num. 28:1; 2

The laws are repeated and summed up concerning the sacrifices that were to be offered, 1. Daily, Num. 28:3-8. 2. Weekly, Num. 28:9; 10. 3. Monthly, Num. 28:11-15. 4. Yearly. At the passover, Num. 28:16-25. At pentecost, Num. 28:26-31.

Numbers 29 outlines the annual days of observance and festivals of the seventh month.

(Excerpts taken from Matthew Henry’s Commentary… I find this particular commentary very helpful while reading chapters that are repetitive or duplicative. It provides a succinct recap of each chapter. Easily found on BibleGateway.com, or click on the link above! : )

Mark 8, one of my favorite passages about feeding the 4,000 with just a few loaves of bread and fish. As cool as that event is, I like what happens next… when Jesus is with the disciples in a boat and he cautions them, “Watch out for the yeast of the Pharisees and that of Herod.” The disciples thought he was upset that they had forgotten to bring bread with them. He reminds them that not once, but TWICE he has fed thousands (5,000 and 4,000 respectively) with a few loaves and fish. He asks, “And… how many loaves did you collect afterward??”

Classic, “He said to them, “Do you still not understand?”

The correct answer would be, “No.” (They probably said, “Huh??)

v 27-29 Jesus asked “Who do people say I am?” 28 They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, one of the prophets.” 29 “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Peter answered,

“You are the Messiah.”

Jesus begins talking about his pending death… on the cross… but then he relates the cross to all of our lives…

34 “Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 35 For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it. 36 What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? 37 Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul? 38 If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.”

O bservation

It’s so, so easy to forget… or to simply just not get it… It’s easy to read about the Israelites or the disciples and wonder how they could be so forgetful or sinful… The reality is we are probably in the same boat with them, at times not getting it, other times simply forgetting (or ignoring) all that God has done for us.

People do it all the time. Truth be told, we’ve all done it. We’re all guilty…

A pplication

We all have our moments of greatness when we “get it.” Peter had one here… “You are the Messiah. (The Christ, the Son of the Living God.)

Because of God’s grace, we are not struck down with a plague, the ground doesn’t open up and swallow us and we are not consumed by fire from heaven.

Because of God’s grace.

P rayer

Thank you Lord that indeed you ARE the Messiah, the Christ, the Son of the Living God! Help me to never forget who you are, and all that you have done for me. Help me to take up the cross daily. To live for you…

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 60

  1. Numbers 29 :12 on the Festivals of Shelters it is interesting that God commanded that from the first day to the seventh day of the festival it started out with 13 bulls and decreased each day down to 7 bulls for the burnt offering but the one year old lambs remained the same at fourteen each day for the offering. The rams also numbered two each day. Why did the bulls decrease by one each day but the others remained the same?

  2. Nickie on said:

    I also wondered how the disciples could so easily forget feeding all those people with such little food. But then I wondered if it was that the disciples didn’t think a big miracle like that would be used on their smaller group. I often wonder if and hy God would give me a miracle. Especially a ‘small’ miracle that only I would see. I can understand God giving me a ‘big’ miracle because as others see it, then it would proclaim God’s goodness. Like my three children are my miracles, or my relationship with my husband. But, I don’t know how to believe in the small miracles. Lord, help my unbelief.

  3. Nicole on said:

    Numbers 28 & 29-The list of offerings. This got me thinking about what my offerings are. What can I give as an offering above my tithe?

    Mark 8-Why do we dare question that God can provide or have worry about the unknown? Lord, never let me forget your faithfulness. Remind me daily of who you are so that I never forget.

    Mark 8:34-37 (msg) “…anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat, I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to saving yourself, your true self…”

    Thank you that you lead me, Lord. Thank you for the trials in my life. I don’t understand them. I can’t see the big picture. I don’t know what the future holds. But I trust you. Build my character, make me like you, change my heart and mind. I love you, Jesus.

  4. We need more festivals in the church. I’m picturing a Saturday afternoon picnic where everyone would bring their bulls, ram and lambs with flour (in the form of a covered dish), and put on some worship music. Food, worship and fellowship… Good times. It’s good just to hang out with everyone every now and then and perhaps make new friends. It is too easy to get into a rut.

    The Pharisees want a sign from heaven for Jesus to prove who he is. If he did, I bet they would have said it was proof that he was the prince of demons. Peter on the other hand proclaims Jesus to be the Christ without a specific sign.

  5. Maggie Shergill on said:

    Our small group had the same discussion earlier this week about the unfaithfulness of man : the Israelites, the disciples, us…. After all this time, we still have doubt and disbelief even when we ‘see’. I am so grateful that the Lord’s love is patient, kind and slow to anger. He keeps no records of my doubt (thanks goodness or I would have been cast out long ago), but is full of grace and mercy. Definitely something to work on.

Leave a Reply

