Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 56

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Welcome to Day 56 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 17, 18; Psalms 29; Mark 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Numbers 17:10-13, “The LORD said to Moses, “Put back Aaron’s staff in front of the ark of the covenant law, to be kept as a sign [reminder] to the rebellious. This will put an end to their grumbling against me, so that they will not die.” 11 Moses did just as the LORD commanded him.

12 The Israelites said to Moses, “We will die! We are lost, we are all lost! 13 Anyone who even comes near the tabernacle of the LORD will die. Are we all going to die?”

Numbers 18:26-29, “The LORD said to Moses, 26 “Speak to the Levites and say to them: ‘When you receive from the Israelites the tithe I give you as your inheritance, you must present a tenth of that tithe as the LORD’s offering… 28 In this way you also will present an offering to the LORD from all the tithes you receive from the Israelites. From these tithes you must give the LORD’s portion to Aaron the priest. 29 You must present as the LORD’s portion the best and holiest part of everything given to you.”

Psalm 29:1-2, “Ascribe to the LORD, you heavenly beings, ascribe to the LORD glory and strength. 2 Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of his holiness.”

Mark 4, the parable of the sower and the seed… should be called the parable of the soil. It’s about the condition of each type of soil (heart), except for the seed that is snatched away by the birds (enemy). Also about the lamp on a stand… that we are to let our light shine for all to see… to bring light into any situation!

O bservation

The Lord gives yet another reminder as to who he had chosen… to stop the grumbling. Even though he said the people wouldn’t die, they were in panic mode, convinced they were toast. They had seen God’s wrath and now knew what it meant to “fear” the Lord. God, yet again, spared Israel in his mercy.

One can choose to see that 14,700 died as a result of their disobedience, or one can see that he spared over a million people. God swore that no one over age 20 except for Joshua and Caleb, would enter the promised land. We’ll see how this plays out over the next few days…

Regarding the tithe that went to the Levites… I noted that even the Levites themselves were commanded to give a tithe from their portion to the Lord… the “best and holiest portion.” This really struck me.

The parable of the sower and seed reminded me of Paul in Athens… the result of people hearing the message is, as always, “some believe, some want to hear more, some will sneer.” And even out of those who believe, the enemy loves to snatch that word or that seed away keep it from ever taking root…

I think we are all prone to weeds… v 19 “the worries of this life, the deceitfulness of wealth and the desires for other things come in and choke the word, making it unfruitful.”

BUT… others “hear the word, accept it, and produce a crop—some thirty, some sixty, some a hundred times what was sown!”

A pplication

Wondering… do I really give the “best and holiest” portion of everything I receive from the Lord back to Him? It’s one thing to give my “first fruits” or “off the top.” But this is a matter of perspective, a heart issue.

Interesting in Corinthians it uses the analogy of sowing and reaping in terms of giving and generosity. Today’s reading is about the tithe of the Levites… and the sower and the seed of the word of God… and being FRUITFUL.

Producing a crop “some thirty, some sixty, some a hundred times what was sown!” In order to reap a crop, one has to sow seed, right? If I want to reap a harvest of 30/60/100 I have to sow seed… and not let my desire for “other things” get in the way of what God wants to do in my life.

It’s about focus. It’s about priorities. It’s about the soil of my heart being ready. It’s about not letting life get in the way. It’s about living a life of generosity, giving my best to the Lord.

Remember the blue tassels and now the budding staff? Alters were built, the

Passover meal observed. All are REMINDERS.

P rayer

Lord, I want to be fruitful… Help me to be one whose heart is ready to receive… and to give!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 56

  1. Scott Sliver on said:

    H E L L O O O . . . Where is everybody today?? : )

  2. I am here! I started to leave a comment earlier, but typing on an iPad is not easy if you wish to type a lot. So, here we go.

    The Lord gives his people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.

    Strength – carry a heavy load/ built for challenges/ prepared for battle
    Peace – ex dove, olive branch, but why a broken cross?
    when I think of what a broken cross means to me – Jesus overcame death on a cross; He broke the system. He is alive to give us peace. Great thought right now during lent.

    Worry is sin. I struggle with worrying especially at work. It means I am not trusting God. I am “anxious”and troubled with cares of the world.
    What keeps me from crying out to God in time of need? Holy thinking – put into practice what I know I should do. I want to be the good example – not be a part of stirring the worry soup.

    Lord, thank you for your strength and peace. You freely gave. I must receive daily this gift. You are with me always. You do not give me more than I can handle. Instead, Lord, I ask for more strength and peace. It is just what I need – MORE of You!

  3. I wanted a little more background about this “covenant of salt” in numbers 18:19. I found this article on line and thought it made an interesting comparison between pagan offerings which included honey and the ones Yahweh asks for
    http://www.hebroots.org/hebrootsarchive/0209/0209b.html
    I think I often try to sweeten God up or have Him allow my sin – glad I read this

Leave a Reply

