Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 53

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 53 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 10, 11; Psalms 27; Mark 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Numbers 10, Orders are given about the making and using of silver trumpets, which seems to have been the last of all the commandments God gave upon mount Sinai… Also, the history of the removal of Israel’s camp from mount Sinai, and their orderly march into the wilderness of Paran. (Excerpt taken from Matthew Henry’s Commentary.)

Numbers 11, the Israelites are dissatisfied, yet again and have begun grumbling. They are tired of manna (understandable) and are asking for meat. They are looking back at Egypt, forgetting the slavery and oppression, only remembering fish and melons and garlic…

Moses goes off on a rant of his own. He’s fed up with these people… Keep in mind this has been forty years… They are nearing the end of their journey about to arrive in Canaan… Numbers (if I remember correctly) is the final year of Moses’ life…

“Moses was troubled. 11 He asked the LORD, “Why have you brought this trouble on your servant? What have I done to displease you that you put the burden of all these people on me? 12 Did I conceive all these people? Did I give them birth? Why do you tell me to carry them in my arms, as a nurse carries an infant, to the land you promised on oath to their ancestors? 13 Where can I get meat for all these people? They keep wailing to me, ‘Give us meat to eat!’ 14 I cannot carry all these people by myself; the burden is too heavy for me. 15 If this is how you are going to treat me, please go ahead and kill me—if I have found favor in your eyes—and do not let me face my own ruin.”

“The LORD said to Moses: “Bring me seventy of Israel’s elders who are known to you as leaders and officials among the people. Have them come to the tent of meeting, that they may stand there with you. 17 I will come down and speak with you there, and I will take some of the power of the Spirit that is on you and put it on them. They will share the burden of the people with you so that you will not have to carry it alone.”

This was the second time that Moses appointed leaders, in addition to the time when his father in law Jethro approached him about how to better structure his leadership… Public sentiment has swayed and the people are grumbling badly… The Lord burned with anger against them… sent fire from heaven that consumed many on the outskirts of the camp, followed by the plague after He sent the quail…

The long and winding road to the Promised Land...

Ultimately, Joshua and Caleb were the only adults over the age of twenty who entered into Canaan (the Promised Land!). Including Moses… who dies within sight of it!

Love, love, love how Psalm 27 ends… “I remain

confident

of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.”

Mark wastes no time in jumping right in with Jesus being baptized and starting his ministry and calling his disciples. Driving out spirits, healing many, preaching the good news, praying… Only a passing mention of Jesus in the wilderness being tempted.

Could do a SOAP on every piece of this first chapter of Mark!

O bservation

The Israelites began grumbling about their situation and what they were given to eat… then Moses questioned God’s ability to provide that much meat… to which God replied, v 23 “Is the LORD’s arm too short? Now you will see whether or not what I say will come true for you.” I sensed a touch of “watch this!” in that verse.

I can remember when my kids were little and they didn’t want to eat what was on their plate in front of them…

All God wants is for us to TRUST him.

Our faith can NEVER be based upon our REALITY. Faith sees BEYOND reality. We don’t receive from God based upon our feelings, but based upon our faith. God hasn’t called us to be “realistic.” He has called us to be HOPEFUL!

Faith sees beyond our lack of job to God being our provider.

Faith sees beyond cancer and trusts that God is our healer.

Faith sees beyond our broken relationships to God being the God of reconciliation and forgiveness and mercy.

A pplication

What am I trusting God for… that goes beyond my reality? What do I need to look beyond and for what do I need to look to God?? Do I trust him. We would all say “Yes!” But what do our actions and words say? Do I grumble about my situation at work? Or do I thank him for my job? Do I trust him for my healing? Or am I trusting the doctors?

P rayer

Lord, I want to trust you with all my heart! My hope is in YOU alone. I will be content if all I have to eat is manna for the next 40 years. And I will thank you for it! Every day!

I don’t care what my current “reality” is about anything in my life. I am looking to you! You haven’t called me to be realistic, you have called me to be HOPEFUL!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 53

  1. Psalm 27:14 stuck out to me when it said: Wait patiently for the lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes,wait patiently for the Lord.

    Patience is a big weakness of mine.

    Also Mark 1:43 taks about how Jesus healed a man of leprosy and gave him a stern warning not to talk to anyone on his way to see the Priest of this healing. Telling him to take along the offering required in the law of Moses for those that have been healed of leprosy, so everyone will have proof of your healing.

    What a wonderful lord and counselor we have in Jesus! Leprosy was like cancer is today and how healing through prayer is a miracle only the lord can heal.

  2. If I must stay in GA then I will make the best of the situation. God has my best interest at heart. I will go where you send me.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    “All God wants is for us to TRUST him.

    Our faith can NEVER be based upon our REALITY. Faith sees BEYOND reality. We don’t receive from God based upon our feelings, but based upon our faith. God hasn’t called us to be “realistic.” He has called us to be HOPEFUL!

    Faith sees beyond our lack of job to God being our provider.

    Faith sees beyond cancer and trusts that God is our healer.

    Faith sees beyond our broken relationships to God being the God of reconciliation and forgiveness and mercy.”

    Amen!

    Life becomes so simple when we trust God. Numbers 11:4-25 reminds me that God will bring help in time of need. vs. 17-“…you won’t have to carry the whole thing alone”. I just have to ask for his help. vs.23 “So, do you think that I can’t take care of you?” God wants our trust. I think it blesses him when we allow him to handle things.

    Psalms 27: 5 speaking of being at God’s feet…
    “That’s the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world,
    The perfect getaway, far from the buzz of traffic.”

    Thank you, Lord, that you bring me peace, security and a safe place to rest. I trust you.

  4. Numbers 10:35 really hit me today. Moses said “Rise up Lord! May your enemies be scattered; may your foes flee before you.”. This is what I need to be shouting. Now this gives me hope.

    Another thing that stood out to me was how the Israelites felt it was their right to have more (entitlement) and they forgot what they already had. Forgive me Lord. I need to spend more time being grateful.

  5. I recognized myself in Numbers 11 — complaining and grumbling. Wanting to be more like David in Psalm 27, I thought I would sing it. Found this version on youtube which I thought I would share:

    Replay, replay, replay : )

  6. Psalm 23 – Because the Lord is our light and our salvation, we should not be afraid, yet we frequently succumb to the “what ifs” of the world. In God’s protection, we should not be afraid even when war is breaking out all around us. This is not to say that we should not prepare for life’s “what ifs”, but we should not live in fear of them. We can be confident about seeing God’s goodness on earth. It is all around us even though we often ignore it and focus in on problems and differences.

    Numbers – 40 years in the desert… That is the span of my life so far. I feel like I have been wandering in the desert for that long. I am fortunate that He was with me along the way, even though I was not aware or didn’t acknowledge it. I am thinking of the Footprints poem here.
    We are a lot like the Isrealites. We bicker over things when we are surrounded by so many excesses, but envy blinds us to manna in front of us. We need to look for the manna. I wonder why the Isrealites didn’t call out to God for some meat instead of complaining about it and remembering how “good” they had it as Egyptian slaves. I imagine that satan’s voice was manipulating them into remembering how good they had it there and how much better they would be if they hadn’t followed God.

    Mark – Demonic forces recognized Jesus right away. They still recognize Him today so they camouflage themselves. Reflecting on Psalm 23, we live in fear of them and/or ignore them when it should be the other way around.

  7. In Numbers where the Lord took some of the Spirit that was upon Moses and put it upon the seventy elders was very interesting to me. The Lord gives us more than we need, but sometime I don’t realize it.

  8. It’s so painful to read all the complaints from the Israelites about what they didn’t have! Do I sound like that? Whining, complaining, grumbling about things I have been blessed with but now take for granted? Ugh! It’s so ugly. God must just long to hear “thanks.” He’s done so much for me….I should never utter even a word of complaint.

Leave a Reply

