Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 50

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 50 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 5, 6; Psalms 22; Acts 26 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Numbers 5 is all about purity of the camp. Making sure that people who had skin diseases or discharges or had come into contact with a dead body were outside the camp, so as to not defile it.

Much was written about how to handle unfaithfulness… even suspicion of unfaithfulness. But it only deals with the unfaithful wife…

Numbers 6 is all about the “Nazirite vow.” A special vow of devotion to the Lord for a certain period of time. Two keys during this time, nothing from grapes was to be consumed, wine, juice, seeds… nothing. And one was to not cut their hair.

Classic verses from Numbers 6:

22 “The LORD said to Moses, 23 “Tell Aaron and his sons, ‘This is how you are to bless the Israelites. Say to them: 24 “‘The LORD bless you and keep you; 25 the LORD make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; 26 the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

Psalm 22 is the Psalm Jesus quoted on the cross. It’s a prophetic Psalm regarding the Christ, his suffering and his glory. “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Acts 26:28, “Then Agrippa said to Paul, “Do you think that in such a short time you can persuade me to be a Christian?”

O bservation

My observation today is that some days, it can be tough to find inspiration in the readings… Actually how the woman in Numbers 5 was treated was really bothersome to me. Even if the husband suspected her cheating, she was subjected to this humiliating process of being brought before the priest. Wondering about the unfaithful husband… what happens to him?

Numbers 6 speaks of making special vows, which is a good thing… Wondering about this… and how it might apply to my life…

Psalm 22 speaks of difficulty and asks tough questions… tempered with faith and hope and belief that God is over all and in control.

But what really jumped out at me today was again, how Paul conducted himself while under great duress… and how God allowed him to speak with officials and give his testimony of Jesus appearing to him and of his (Jesus) resurrection from the dead. Took note that had Paul not appealed to Caesar, they would have set him free.

A pplication

There may be times in my life when I may have the opportunity to appear before some important people and have the opportunity to give my testimony… I need to use those times wisely, and trust the Lord to give me the words, as he opens those doors.

P rayer

Lord, if you open those doors, I will walk through them and trust you along the way… I know you have given me opportunities to appear before officials around our city… I pray that you would use me for your purposes. That is my vow… that I am available and will walk through those open doors.

My prayer for each one who reads this entry today… “The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 50

  1. What inspired you from today’s passages?

  2. I was wondering the same thing about what happened to the unfaithful husband? Also the faithfulness Paul showed under great pressure. He would have been set free but requested to see Caesar instead.

  3. As a woman I am seeing these verses about adultery a little differently. I see justice. In most nations women were treated as less than slaves. Here God is making provision for the woman who is being falsely accused, sometimes by a husband who is just wanting to me rid of her. It was kind of an insurance policy against false accusation.

  4. Mark Long on said:

    What caught my attention was the foreshadowing in Psalm 22. “They have pierced my hands and feet. They divide my garments among themselves and throw dice for my clothing.”

  5. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    These chapters spoke to me of peace through adversity. I need radar accurate vision of the Lord during these times, and to let the noise around me fade. David and Paul both had this kind of focus in unimaginable adversity. I also loved the Priest’s prayer at the end of Numbers 6, as well as this verse from Psalm 22 spoke to me today:

    24 For he has not despised or abhorred
    the affliction of the afflicted,
    and he has not hidden his face from him,
    but has heard, when he cried to him.

  6. When I was in college many years ago, the chaplain would always end the service with Number 6:24-26 “The Lord bless you and keep you, the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you, the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace”. It always stuck with me. The mental image of the Lord turning his face towards me and shining upon me, well, I guess I can only imagine, but the image fills me with comfort and peace indeed.

  7. Maggie, I grew up in a Presbyterian church where the minister quoted Numbers 6:24-26 as the closing benediction every Sunday morning. I agree, the mental picture of the Lord shining the light of his face and extending grace toward me has always been incredibly comforting.

  8. In Psalms today David sounded like such a whiner. He seemed to be dramatizing the situation. I can relate. When you are in the situation it comes with strong feelings. An outsider does not relate the same way. I was super emotional earlier today about my beloved Buckeyes losing to that team up north. I am married to an “up north” fan. I do not take losing well. I did not want to be nice or even talk to him. I do not like the situation one bit, but I must love my husband. It is just a game….I guess.

Leave a Reply

