Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 49

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Welcome to Day 49 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Numbers 3, 4; Acts 25 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Numbers 3:6-8 “Bring the tribe of Levi and present them to Aaron the priest to assist him. 7 They are to perform duties for him and for the whole community at the tent of meeting by doing the work of the tabernacle. 8 They are to take care of all the furnishings of the tent of meeting, fulfilling the obligations of the Israelites by doing the work of the tabernacle.”

Numbers 4 “The Gershonites were responsible for the care of the tabernacle and tent, its coverings, the curtain at the entrance to the tent of meeting, 26 the curtains of the courtyard, the curtain at the entrance to the courtyard surrounding the tabernacle and altar, and the ropes—and everything related to their use.”

The Kohathites were responsible for the care of the sanctuary. 29 The Kohathite clans were to camp on the south side of the tabernacle. 30 The leader of the families of the Kohathite clans was Elizaphan son of Uzziel. 31 They were responsible for the care of the ark, the table, the lampstand, the altars, the articles of the sanctuary used in ministering, the curtain, and everything related to their use.”

The Merarites were appointed to take care of the frames of the tabernacle, its crossbars, posts, bases, all its equipment, and everything related to their use, 37 as well as the posts of the surrounding courtyard with their bases, tent pegs and ropes.”

16 “Eleazar son of Aaron, the priest, is to have charge of the oil for the light, the fragrant incense, the regular grain offering and the anointing oil. He is to be in charge of the entire tabernacle and everything in it, including its holy furnishings and articles.”

Acts 25, Paul’s imprisonment and getting jerked around sounds very familiar… Jesus was treated the same way. Trumped up charges against him. Wanting him to be put to death with no formal trial.

O bservation

God was very specific as to which clan (subset of a tribe) was to do what. The Gershonites, the Kohathites and the Merarites were all given specific responsibilities regarding the Tabernacle. They are to do THIS, but not that. Very clear instructions, with very clear consequences if they violated them…

v 20 “But the Kohathites must not go in to look at the holy things, even for a moment, or they will die.” They were allowed to go into the Tabernacle and had charge of the Ark, but they still had boundaries as to what they could not do, or even LOOK at.

1 Corinthians 12:4-6, “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. 5 There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. 6 There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work.”

Romans 12:4-6, “For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, 5 so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. 6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us.”

A pplication

This stresses to me the importance of being content in what I am called to. Not being concerned with what anyone else is called to… on staff or otherwise. Some are called to international ministry, others aren’t. The goal is not to get to do whatever, but to DO what God has already called me/us to do.

We all have different gifts… or are called to do certain things. Sometimes we may not even be “gifted” to do a certain thing, but we can be called (simply part of that clan, in my job description, etc).

The lesson here is to be content in what God has called each of us to. Not not look at what others are doing as being the goal, or as better… or even more interesting or whatever.

P rayer

Lord, help me to always be content in what you have called me to. To walk faithfully in those duties…

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 49

  1. Happy Saturday to you!

    One thing I hear pretty often (someone told me this Thursday) that I model good leadership by also being a good follower and a team player… Isn’t it easy to look at what others are doing and think, “I want to do THAT…” Or to see what others are doing as more important?

  2. One of my favorite comebacks…

    When someone says, “There is no “I” in TEAM!”

    I like to say, “Yes, but there is an “I” in WIN!” HA! ; )

  3. Speaking of gifts Scott, sometimes I wander around trying to figure out if I am really where God wants me to be as far as gifts go. I know where my passions are in the ministry but are my passions for The Lord match up with my gifts. Makes me wonder sometimes.

  4. I was also curious why all the Levite children had to be at least one month old to be counted by Moses as far as the census goes. Was that because of diseases and sickness from birth to a month of age?

  5. We are so often tempted to compare. I know I must not become proud . I know God is doing good things through me. I am so glad he put me in the picture. He is preparing me for the next step of life. It is exciting. We do not know the future, but we must continue to cling to the one who does.
    I am so tempted at work to get upset when I see loafing. I am responsible for my actions alone. Good try devil…I am not impressed. He wants us to get off focus. We must stay the course. I want that harvest of righteousness and peace for those who are trained and pass the test. Be amazed by God and unimpressed by Satan’s lies. Happy Saturday! Go Buckeyes!

Leave a Reply

