Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 46

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 46 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Leviticus 25; Psalms 25, 26; Acts 22 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

(There was a discrepancy between my YouVersion reading plan and the LifeJournal.cc reading plan. I verified that the above plan is correct. (Lev 25; Ps 25, 26; Acts 22… NOT Lev 25, 26; Ps 25; Acts 22. I simply checked tomorrow’s reading plan. : )

Leviticus 25:2-4, “‘When you enter the land I am going to give you, the land itself must observe a sabbath to the LORD. 3 For six years sow your fields, and for six years prune your vineyards and gather their crops. 4 But in the seventh year the land is to have a year of sabbath rest, a sabbath to the LORD. Do not sow your fields or prune your vineyards.”

v 8, 11, “Count off seven sabbath years—seven times seven years—so that the seven sabbath years amount to a period of forty-nine years… The fiftieth year shall be a jubilee for you; do not sow and do not reap what grows of itself or harvest the untended vines. 12 For it is a jubilee and is to be holy for you…”

v 55, “the Israelites belong to me as servants. They are my servants, whom I brought out of Egypt. I am the LORD your God.”

Psalm 25, “In you, LORD my God, I put my trust.”

Psalm 26, “I have trusted in the LORD and have not faltered. 11 “I lead a blameless life…” That’s a bold statement, coming from a guy (David) who had a man (Uriah the Hittite) killed so he could take his wife as his own! justsayin’

Psalm 26:2 “Test me, LORD, and try me, examine my heart and my mind…”

Acts 22 Paul gives his testimony… Never under-estimate the power of your testimony.

O bservation

I can’t imagine taking off one out of every seven years… then, the year of jubilee!

Note: God wanted the land to also have a sabbath rest! His promise was provision and protection.

The whole idea of redemption… That slaves or land could be bought back, or redeemed… Jesus redeemed us! Galatians 3:13-14, “Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us… 14 He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.”

We have been “bought at a price” according to 1 Corinthians 6:19-20, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”

A pplication

In a sense, we are also slaves… but no longer slaves to the law or to sin, but to Christ, to righteousness… to the law of the Spirit that sets us free! Romans 6 addresses this at length. What a great chapter!

Still chewing on the sabbath rest… This is so impressed upon my heart of late. Obviously it’s not possible today for us to simply take a year off… but I believe it’s God’s heart for us to take a sabbath, not because it is lawful, but because it is His  desire for us to rest. Even God rested on the seventh day. Not because He was tired, but to model this concept for us! Don’t get me wrong, I really try to take a day off, but it’s what I DO (or don’t do) on that day that is the issue.

P rayer

Thank you Lord for redeeming me. For freeing all of us from the law of sin and death! Thank you that it’s your heart for us to rest…

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 46

  1. Interesting that Paul saw Jesus as a bright light.

    Paul writing to Timothy stated, “Lord Jesus Christ, which God will bring about in his own time—God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see. To him be honor and might forever. Amen.

    Psalm 36:9
    For with you is the fountain of life; in your light we see light.

    Psalm 89:15
    Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, LORD.

    John 8:12
    When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

    O – light is good it illuminates our path, bring revelation to our hearts.

    A – Jesus is our fountain of life, and in Him, in His presence, the Light, we see light.

    P – Lord help me to acclaim You and live a life that walks in Your presence.

  2. It dawns on me that this is my 50th year! Perhaps I need a Year of Jubilee where I set it apart as holy and proclaim release to what I’ve held captive.

  3. Melissa Stepp on said:

    Hi Scott!

    Making sure I keep the Sabbath and rest on that day has been weighing heavily on my mind as well! I use to get “chores” done on the Sabbath, but after finding the Lord, it feels wrong like I’m allowing evil by thinking my needs have got to get done, and that I’m placing that importance before the Lord’s. I have been doing well without the working part, but I question what exactly does rest entail? I believe God is reminding us that we are not obeying him if we fail to respect him by resting on that day. I think this would be a good topic for service. Too often people are so busy with their lifes that they can’t stop to rest, yet this is putting our own desires before the Lord’s.

    For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments. And His commandments are not burdensome. (John 5:3)

    ‘Surely My Sabbaths you shall keep, for it is a SIGN between Me and you throughout your generations, THAT YOU MAY KNOW that I am the Lord who sanctifies you'” (Exodus 31:13).

    —This is one of the many tests, possibly the biggest that the Lord will give us. One of the questions to ask ourselves is how are we measuring up?

    Now by this we know that we know Him, if we keep His commandments. He who says, ‘I know Him,’ and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him” (1 John 2:3-4).

    If you turn away your foot from the Sabbath, from doing your pleasure on My holy day, and call the Sabbath a delight… not doing your own ways, nor finding your own pleasure, nor speaking your own words, then you shall delight yourself in the Lord; and I will cause you to ride on the high hills of the earth. (Isaiah 58:13-14)

    Bless everyone and have a good day today!

  4. The concept of rest and taking refuge in the Lord really stood out to me. Is rest for me simply not working on a computer writing code since that is my profession, or is it deeper? I find mowing the lawn is a highly relaxing activity (really looking forward to smelling the first cut this spring), so should it be considered work? Practicing my drumming and working out some new pattern or song is very enjoyable to me, but it could be regarded as work. Even after our 2 hour worship sets on Monday evenings (much set up and tear down is required), I come out refreshed and refilled with the Holy Spirit, even though I spent the entire day at work prior. As a matter of fact, I now look forward to Mondays instead of dreading them. Despite all this, I set aside a portion of every day to spend with the Lord. For me, that is the key, to make sure that I spend time every day learning, praising and listening, taking refuge in Him. There are occasional days were I plan little to no activity and just veg out. When I do that, His blessings seem to flow. It’s also important to help others so that they may get rest. Excessive rest for us should not come at the expense of others since we all need rest.

  5. Nicole Marvin on said:

    It would be great to see a message series done on rest.

    There seem to be several definitions to the word rest. It would be fun to do some studying of the word used in scripture. I just looked it up in the Webster dictionary. The definition ranges from sleep or repose, to ease or activity after exertion, to absence of motion and on.

    As others have stated, I find it a challenge to rest on the Sabbath. Last Sunday, I found my self out in the yard working and thought “what am I doing-I’m supposed to be resting”. When something is a passion or a pleasure, it doesn’t seem like work, so it seems like it should be okay to do. But our bodies do need a day to just relax and get refreshed for the week ahead.

    An electronic fast on the Sabbath is also beneficial. To be without the phone, TV, computer, etc. So many of us feel committed to these things through the week. It is nice to have a break from them.

    I usually try to think about through the week what I want to read on Sunday. I heard a very interesting song a few weeks ago about Ezekiel. So I took a Sunday to read through the book, so I would know what the song was about. It might make the Sabbath easier to rest on if we prepare for it, and know how we want to spend our time on that day.

    Here are some ideas to help with keeping the Sabbath or what to do that day…

    Go to the grocery in advance, get books from the library to have something to read that day, find a spot in the woods to sit and think, sit with a pen and paper (wait to see what God speaks to you), invite friends over for a meal, take a nap, read to a child, sit by the fire, take a bath, draw, paint, dine at each meal, enjoy nature, read the Bible, sing, spend time with an animal…

Leave a Reply

