Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 44

Monday, February 13, 2012

Welcome to Day 44 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Leviticus 20, 21, 22; Acts 20 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Leviticus 20, 21 and 22… More reiterations about various laws. What defiles or makes a person unclean… Who was to be put to death and for what. Some of this was very hard to read…

Hard to imagine that people would actually sacrifice their children to the god, Molek (or Molech).

Acts 20:24, Paul said, “I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.” His mission statement for his life… “To complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me.”

O bservation

I noted the number of times the phrase, “I am the LORD” or “I am the LORD your God” appears in these chapters of Leviticus…

v 8, “I am the LORD, who makes you holy.” 

It’s not by sacrifices or doing anything that we are made clean or holy. HE makes me holy. I can’t achieve it on my own. I can’t earn it. They could never sacrifice enough to BE holy. They were only made clean for a short time…

Under the new covenant, we are called a “kingdom of priests,” offering our lives, our bodies as LIVING sacrifices. Romans 12:1-2.

One still has to go to Hebrews (and Romans) to keep all this straight and in its proper perspective for our lives today. READ Hebrews 7. What an incredible chapter! (If I were to have designed this reading plan, we would have read Hebrews before Leviticus, maybe even Exodus… or at least alongside them.) If you are reading this blog today, I suggest you take a minute and read Hebrews 7, or better yet, read all of Hebrews. It’s a pretty quick read and it puts all the Old Testament sacrifices into perspective. v 22 states that because of Jesus, we are under a “better covenant.” Praise God for that!

A pplication

I need to keep this in mind… “Holiness” is imparted by God. He is holy and HE makes us holy. We are called to “holiness” but I can’t make myself “holy.” I am called to be “sanctified,” to be “set apart” for His use. To avoid all the traps that cause one to stumble… To not be drunk with wine… to avoid sexual immorality… to not slander people… called to love… to serve the poor… be an ambassador of Christ in the community. To be salt and light.

P rayer

God, I thank you that you are the One who imparts holiness. Thank you that we are under a better covenant today! I can’t imagine living under the Law… under that weight. Thank you for setting us free!

Romans 8:1-4, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. 3 for what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh, 4 in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.”

Amazing…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Day 44

  1. The Ammonites made child sacrifices to Molech (their national God) which was common in ancient religions. They saw this a the greatest gift that you could give to ward off or appease angry God’s. God made it clear that this practice is detestable and strictly forbidden. I can not even imagine sacrificing one of my sons to this practice. Thank God we have a savior in our lord Jesus!

  2. I loved when Paul was speaking to the elders of Ephesus in Acts 20:35 of working hard for the poor. As Jesus said “It is more blessed to give than to receive .” I also love where Paul talks about being drawn irresistibly by the holy spirit to go to Jerusalem not knowing what awaits him. What faith! I pray the the lord gives me faith that Paul had and be still and wait on his direction in my personal and business life.

  3. Acts 20
    24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.

    Knowing exactly what task God has given you would make it easy. Do we ask ourselves this? What is the task I’m supposed to be doing for God? A few times in my life it has been very clear, while other times I find myself seeking, or wondering, or stumbling trying to figure out exactly what I’m supposed to be doing. Cross referencing the other reading in Leviticus, God was crystal clear when speaking to Moses and establishing rules for the people, with a great amount of detail. However, now His direction is less clear at times, making the distinction between His will and my own more difficult. So how do you know? If you’re willing to post “How you know” for times in your life, I’d love to hear them.

    • Mark Long on said:

      Shock – I wish I could tell you “how I know”, but I’m also struggling with hearing/seeking God’s direction. The last year or so has been a period of change for me and of deepening my relationship with God. I feel like I’m moving in the right direction, but I’m still not sure where its all headed. I continue to pray that the Lord shows me the next step(I may not be able to handle the whole thing) and that I’m willing to take it.

  4. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Acts 20:21 “…urging Jews and Greeks alike to a radical life-change before God and an equally radical trust in our Master Jesus”-Paul

    A radical trust! That’s what it takes. God provides, we have to trust-with a radical trust. Like Doug spoke about this weekend.-God can’t be bound by a box. He is bigger than our minds can grasp and it takes a radical trust to get outside of ourselves, to see him move. He will move, when we get out of the way.

    This journey of reading through the Bible, and getting to know God on a much more intimate level has changed me. I have been self employed for 15 years. My income fluctuates and is never consistent. Being the control-freak/long term planner/independent person that I am-not being in control of when income comes in has always caused me anxiety. Until recently. This year I realized that my anxiety, my fear, my need to control is not going to change how money comes in. God spoke to my spirit and said-“I’ve got this! If I feed the birds, I will feed you. I can heal the sick, I can provide for you. I set the sun in the heavens. I will meet your needs”. And he has. My worry, fear and need to figure it out/make it work-are all gone. I have a radical trust now. What a relief! To let God take care of me. To relax in his arms. He is so faithful!

  5. Nicole Marvin on said:

    @Shock-For me, my spirit being at peace is a big indicator if I am to move forward with something.

    I have a friend who asks the Lord for confirmation when she feels she is to move in a direction or not. She receives dreams frequently from the Lord. She will ask that the Lord show her where it is in scripture and that he will send people to speak the same word, to confirm it.

  6. “You must faithfully keep all my commands by obeying them. Do not treat my holy name as common or ordinary. I must be treated as holy by the people of Israel. It is I, the LORD, who makes you holy. It is I who rescued you from Egypt, that I may be your very own God. I am the LORD.” Lev 22:31

    All the rules, requirements, punishments come down to this. The “why” of it all. He wants relationship with them and this was the only way to have it. God set his people apart and now they have to set Him apart. God taught them who He was by the miracles He performed to get them out of Egypt. Now they must show that they know who He is by keeping these commands. It is being ingrained in them to keep that He is holy, that He is their “very own God.”

    Acts 20:35: “I have been a constant example of how you can help the poor by working hard.”

    That would be how I think of Scott Sliver and Steve Bowen. Thanks to both of them for their constant example! 🙂

  7. 1 – “Do not profane my holy name, for I must be acknowledged as holy by the Israelites. I am the LORD, who made you holy” Lev 22:32 NIV

    I cringe whenever I see or hear “OMG”. Even though it may represent “Oh my goodness”, God IS goodness and it still strikes me as being irreverent. There are plenty of other ways to emphasize shock or amazement over something. Just me?

    2 – I am far from the perfect sacrifice required by God. Jesus as the perfect sacrifice allows me to offer up myself as a living sacrifice through His perfection.

    • I think profaning God’s name encompasses something bigger than actually just saying His name disrespectfully (although it could include that). I think it’s all those times people claim to be speaking in His name or claiming to know what He wants others to do. For me, it’s being careful not to put His “stamp of (dis)approval” on something that I really don’t know if he approves of or not. It’s doing or saying things “in His name” that do not honor Him or are contrary to His nature. It’s for calling yourself His follower and then not acting in love.

      That’s my 2 cents, anyway.

  8. Some great insights! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

