Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 43

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Welcome to Day 43 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Leviticus 18, 19; Psalms 13; Acts 19 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Leviticus 18 is the chapter of “Do nots…”

Speaks over and over of that which is detestable, wicked or perverted. Of things that defile and dishonor one’s self or another.

Makes me think of a former president who went on tv, looked into the camera and said, “I did not… have… sexual relations… with that woman…”

Leviticus 19:2, “‘Be holy because I, the LORD your God, am holy.” When we strive toward this (holiness), you don’t need all those laws. Jesus said all the Law and the prophets could be boiled down to two things, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength.” And,  “love your neighbor as yourself” (v 18).

This chapter is filled with a long list of don’ts… ranging from don’t trim the hair on the sides of your beard to do not use dishonest weights on your scales, not to lie or spread slander. And just about everything in between… including again repeating to not eat meat with blood.

In other words, be holy, honest and honorable. Most of these one would not have to worry about… except wearing clothing with mixed fabrics, etc.

v 26 and 31… “Do not practice divination or seek omens…” “Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists, for you will be defiled by them.” I am constantly amazed at how many people check their daily horoscopes or have their palms read, “for fun.” I remember playing on a Ouija board when I was a kid. I had no idea what I was opening myself up to. It’s easy to minimize things as though they are harmless. At best they defile us… at worst they may lead us astray, because it’s not looking to the Lord. It’s looking elsewhere for direction or answers.

Psalm 13, “I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me.”

Acts 19:1-2, Paul asked some believers in Ephesus, “Did you receive the Holy Spirit when you believed?” They answered, “No, we have not even heard that there is a Holy Spirit.” When Paul placed his hands on them, the Holy Spirit came on them… Nice.

v 13, “Some Jews who went around driving out evil spirits tried to invoke the name of the Lord Jesus over those who were demon-possessed. They would say, “In the name of the Jesus whom Paul preaches, I command you to come out.” The difference between knowing and knowing about… The people who were doing this got trounced by a man with evil spirits.

v 19, “A number who had practiced sorcery brought their scrolls together and burned them publicly.” Some things need to be burned, not just thrown away.

O bservations

Love that a riot broke out in Ephesus over their goddess Artemis… “Fellow Ephesians, doesn’t all the world know that the city of Ephesus is the guardian of the temple of the great Artemis and of her image, which fell from heaven?” (Hmmm… don’t think so.) Her image did not fall from heaven. It came from someplace else…

Note that they shouted for TWO HOURS “Great is Artemis of the Ephesians!” In challenge of what Paul was preaching and in worship to their god.

People all over the world worship what they don’t know. It’s easy to worship an idol, or god made by human hands. But we are to only worship the LORD. The Maker of heaven and earth. The One who is over all. The God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Who sent His only son, Jesus to die for us.

A pplication

“I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me.” I will shout ONLY to HIM… YOU are GOOD to ME! I may have to just proclaim that for two hours one day this week…

(FYI, every time I see this pic I think of my friend Josh…)

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Day 43

  1. How’s it going today? If you read this, make sure you leave a comment. We all want to hear what you have to say! Have a great Sunday!

  2. Leviticus 19:33-34 stuck out to me. It talks about how we should treat all foreigners from other lands. In reality we are all foreigners here. I find myself as a business owner pre- judging a potential clients ability to pay for my service based on their culture and belief system. I pray that the lord uses me in this situation to not judge others on this basis. I pray that I can use the opportunity to fully listen to what God has to say to me.

  3. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    I have to admit that sometimes reading the detail of the laws from Leviticus can be overwhelming for me. But I really enjoyed chapter 19 for a couple of reasons; first, respect reminders. I particularly like this one, as I am working closely with elderly patients daily: Leviticus19:32 “‘Stand up in the presence of the aged, show respect for the elderly and revere your God. I am the Lord.” He reminds us that our elders are precious, but also reminds us with all the rules that “I am the Lord.” Many times over. So we don’t forget who to worship. Not things, not people. Worship Him, respect our neighbors. Loved that today.

  4. Cheryl,
    I had a distant relationship with my mother in law until she lived with us for her last 14 months. I had the privelidge to understand who she was on a daily basis. God changed my heart from that experience. As the saying goes,”When an old person dies, a library dies with them. How true that is.

  5. Lindsey G on said:

    I’m a first time reader. I stumbled upon a link from Scott’s facebook status (I am not an attendee of the church), and now I think I’ll have to check in on these daily life journals more often! I particularly like Psalms 13. As I am an avid daily-cnn.com-goer, my heart is constantly heavy with the injustices of the world. Psalms 13 helps to relieve a heavy heart with the promise that our Creator hears and hurts for us. That our burdens are God’s burdens. Leviticus’s “do nots” are actually also encouraging to myself. The “laws” encourage me to stay focused, stay true to the right path, and internalize the boundaries God has set for us out of LOVE.

    • Mark Long on said:

      Welcome Lindsey,

      The Life Journal reading, journaling and this blog have already been a great blessing this year. I hope you join the journey with us and can share and be blessed by the comments here as I have.

  6. Scripture: Leviticus 18

    Observation: It’s nice to be out of the oozing skin chapters, although . . . .

    Application: Daily application is recommended but not very realistic.

    Prayer: Oh Lord, please forgive my sarcasm but You were the one who brought up the subject of sex in the first place.

    Scripture: 31 Leviticus 19: 31 “Do not defile yourselves by turning to mediums or to those who consult the spirits of the dead. I am the LORD your God. ”

    Observation: I love shows like Ghost Hunters and The Haunting so when I read this verse it bothered me because I don’t want to stop watching them. However, it made me think that maybe, although I keep the shows in perspective, that perhaps some stuff is sneaking in that I really don’t need taking up valuable space in my head. I have not purchased a EMF Detector or anything but perhaps shows like that stunt my growth as a Christian?

    Application: Turn off the TV and pick up the Bible.

    Prayer: If there is any habit or action in my life that is not helping me in my Christian walk than please (preferably gently and painlessly) remove it from my life.

    Scripture: Psalm 13 in its entirety

    Observation: David has an almost schizophrenic-like quality about him. In verse #1 he is obviously overwhelmed with pain and fear to the point of desperation yet a mere four lines later, he is singing and praising God in obvious joy. What a complete 180 in a matter of moments! Complete devastation to ecstatic joy in wharp speed. God works like that, doesn’t He?

    Application: In the midst of our storms in life we can hold on to the promise that God is there, like a life preserver, keeping our heads above the waves until the storm passes. God shines brightest in our darkest moments.

    Prayer: Never let me forget in the good times what I learned in the bad.

  7. Karen Stephens on said:

    I enjoy the Life Journal, just have to it caught up as I get behind. In today’s reading, Leviticus, it talks about not doing divination or other abominations. In Leviticus 19:31, God talks about avoiding spirits and mediums. I had been going to a woman for reiki, then I heard a message on you-tube about how you are inviting in spirits, which are actually demons. I quite going to her rescently because God told me not to go anymore. We as Christians can be taken in by such things, but God wants us to avoid these people in the New Age movement. I noticed that the Vineyard has a class called Christian Yoga and Bible study, I can tell you there is nothing Christian about yoga, Those who do yoga are actually worshipping the sun god called Ra, I believe. Yoga is about meditation, which opens a person up to the demons or spirits and allows them to come into your life. The new age people are working on infiltrating the churchs here in America to destroy the church. The new age people are looking for the messiah, which is actually the anti-christ. I just wanted someone to know about this and it is good that this reading was about this very thing.

  8. Karen Stephens on said:

    Also, I am dealing with some movies and books , like Harry Potter and Twilight. I really liked these until I saw the last two movies of Harry Potter, I left the theatre feeling really sad and depressed, like a heaviness came over me, or a dark cloud. I also felt that way when I saw the last Twilight movie that was released. I felt so oppressed by something, so I am deciding what to do with the books and movies that I have. The entertainment world is full of occult messages in the music and movies and even on TV. I don’t watch TV much anyomore. I wonder if other people are dealing with this, would like to know their take on all of this.

Leave a Reply

