Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 33

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 33 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 33, 34; Psalms 16; Acts 9 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus 33:12-14, “13 If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.” 14 The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”15 Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. 16 How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us? What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”

Exodus 34:12, “Be careful not to make a treaty with those who live in the land where you are going, or they will be a snare among you… “Be careful not to make a treaty with those who live in the land; for when they prostitute themselves to their gods and sacrifice to them, they will invite you and you will eat their sacrifices. 16 And when you choose some of their daughters as wives for your sons and those daughters prostitute themselves to their gods, they will lead your sons to do the same.”

v 20 ““No one is to appear before me empty-handed.” Interesting thought… Like David said, “I will not offer a sacrifice that cost me nothing.”

Psalm 16:11, “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

Acts 9:40, Peter raised Tabitha from the dead… But what I love is her reputation! v 36 “she was always doing good and helping the poor.”

O bservation

What comes to mind today is “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

Moses recognized that God’s presence (Presence) is what distinguished them from all other people. It wasn’t that they were circumcised… but that He was WITH them. That He was doing great works among them. Providing for them food and water, protection. They were to be careful not to give themselves over to other gods… to be careful who they associated with… not to marry daughters of those who worship foreign or other gods.

A pplication

God’s presence is pivotal in our relationship with Him. It’s more than reading about Him. It’s spending time WITH Him, in His presence.

People may think they know me by listening to a podcast of me speaking… or reading my facebook posts… but they really don’t KNOW me. They know about me… Until we spend time together, it’s information, not relationship. I may read a book about Abraham Lincoln, but that doesn’t mean I know him.

I have been focusing on Hebrews 4:11, “Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest…” or the KJV states it this way, “Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest.” It takes work to enter into God’s rest. It takes work for me to eliminate the distractions and focus on Him. Just BEING in His presence.

I’m not sure it’s quite the same as Moses experienced, but WE now have the promise of the Holy Spirit… That’s different from Moses experienced. We are now FILLED with the Holy Spirit, the same as Peter.

P rayer

Lord, make known to me the path of life; fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 33

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    @Scott-“People may think they know me by listening to a podcast of me speaking… or reading my facebook posts… but they really don’t KNOW me. They know about me… Until we spend time together, it’s information, not relationship. I may read a book about Abraham Lincoln, but that doesn’t mean I know him.”

    This is what life is all about. The relationship. With God, with others…making time. Being present. Thank you for this thought for today. I plan to meditate on it.

    Today what stuck out to me was the lack of food and water. Exodus 34:29-Moses was with God for 40 days and 40 nights, with no food and water. Acts 9:9-Saul was blind for three days. He ate nothing and drank nothing. I need to fast more. There is something about cleansing the body and sacrificing what the flesh wants, in an effort to hear from God.

  2. Exodus 33-34
    3 Go up to the land flowing with milk and honey. But I will not go with you, because you are a stiff-necked people and I might destroy you on the way.”

    God knows the people and knows Himself. I make this decision myself sometimes, because it can be very frustrating to watch someone you love (as God loved the Israelites) make the same mistakes over and over again. Wisdom reminds me to remove myself from a situation where I know if I stick around it will end badly. God reminds me to pray for my loved ones and myself during this time.

  3. Reading or listening to the Bible daily is an awesome thing. You know the devil will through things at you to try to distract. I must remain in the vine. I need you Lord! I know you are doing something good through me.

Leave a Reply

