Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 27

Friday, January 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 27 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 17, 18, 19, 20; Acts 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus 17:1-7, the people are thirsty and want water… God tells Moses to strike the rock and water begins to flow from it. The people were so agitated that Moses thought they were about to stone him!

v 11-12 “As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. 12 When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.”

In like manner, Jethro, Moses’ father-in-law came to him and told him there was a better way to solve everyone’s problems… 18:21 “Select capable men from all the people—men who fear God, trustworthy men who hate dishonest gain—and appoint them as officials over thousands, hundreds, fifties and tens.”

Exodus 18 Moses LISTENED to Jethro’s advice! He could stand the strain and the people would go home satisfied.

Exodus 19, God speaks to Moses at Mt. Sinai, “Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine, 6 you will be for me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.’ These are the words you are to speak to the Israelites.”

19:12 “Don’t touch the foot of or even approach the mountain.”

O bservation

Great pictures of God’s ability to protect and provide…

Sometimes he would turn bitter water into good (when Moses threw the log into the water and it became fresh.) This time he told Moses to strike the rock.

Sometimes God would defeat an army by his own hand (Red Sea) or hold them back by the cloud… Other times the Israelites had to fight. The key is to pray and listen to his directives…

“As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning.” Didn’t matter that he didn’t hold them up by his own strength?

The Ten Commandments… Exodus 20.

Acts 3:12 “Why do you stare at us as if by our own power or godliness we had made this man walk?” Keep this in mind to keep whatever power and authority one may have in proper perspective…

A pplication

Protection and provision

Sometimes I need to let others hold up my hands for me…

We have different strengths and abilities… a spiritual credit card of sorts… I may be a leader of tens, fifties, hundreds or thousands… The key is to be the best leader I can be at whatever level and to whatever I am called.

What does it mean to obey “fully?” Perfectly? Give it my best shot?

The cloud and the mountain/Sinai represented God’s presence… It’s important to not take His presence lightly… They had to consecrate themselves properly to even approach His presence.

P rayer

Lord, I know you want more from me than just keeping rules. You want relationship. You want honor and obedience. I need people around me to hold up my hands. Help me to become the leader you have called me to be.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 27

  1. Mark Long on said:

    So much in these passages once again. The thing that struck me right off the bat was the picture of Aaron and Hur holding up Moses’ hands up and how we need to support our brothers and sisters in Christ as well as minister to those who don’t know Him.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Exodus 17:1-6

    The people needed water. But God didn’t provide it until Moses asked for it.

    God knows what I need. I need to ask him for my needs. He wants to provide for me.

    Lord, I need you. I trust you to provide all of my needs, daily. Thank you for always being there. Thank you for your faithfulness. I love you!

    Acts 18:17-23 Moses father-in-law shared his wisdom with him. It is such a blessing when an elder shares their wisdom with you.

    Acts 3:18 God uses situations to fulfill his plans. I am so glad that he knows the whole situation.

    Acts 3:19 He wipes away our sins, blesses us-to refresh us, gives us Jesus.

    Thank you, Lord, that you wipe away my sins, that you bless me, refresh me and give me Jesus. I adore you.

Leave a Reply

