Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 26

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 26 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 14, 15, 16; Acts 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

The Life Journal reading plan Bible ap on my iPhone was missing Exodus 15… Just fyi in case you are using the same mechanism to mark your plan… I confirmed on LifeJournal.cc that Exodus 15 IS part of today’s reading. Obviously it was supposed to be…

S cripture

Exodus 14:5-8, “When the king of Egypt was told that the people had fled, Pharaoh and his officials changed their minds about them and said, “What have we done? We have let the Israelites go and have lost their services!” 6 So he had his chariot made ready and took his army with him. 7 He took six hundred of the best chariots, along with all the other chariots of Egypt, with officers over all of them. 8 The LORD hardened the heart of Pharaoh king of Egypt, so that he pursued the Israelites, who were marching out boldly.”

v 26 “Then the LORD said to Moses, “Stretch out your hand over the sea so that the waters may flow back over the Egyptians and their chariots and horsemen.” 27 Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and at daybreak the sea went back to its place. The Egyptians were fleeing toward it, and the LORD swept them into the sea. 28 The water flowed back and covered the chariots and horsemen—the entire army of Pharaoh that had followed the Israelites into the sea. Not one of them survived.”

Obviously Pharaoh hasn’t learned his lessons. Egypt has been destroyed, all their crops, livestock, death of their firstborn… Now, they have lost their entire army including 600 of their best chariots and officers.

Exodus 15 is the great song of Moses and Miriam… Always a good idea to worship God for his mighty acts!

Exodus 16, Logistics problems… keeping in mind that there were six hundred thousand men, not including women and children!) (Exodus 12:37 (some estimates are as high as two million people!) We are talking about moving more people than are in the entire Dayton region, mostly on foot. That takes a lot of food and water for both people and livestock and coordination! Difficult to find suitable drinking water (wood into the water, it became fresh). Then “what is it?” appeared… Manna. But not before they grumbled about meat.

Exodus 16:14 “When the dew was gone, thin flakes like frost on the ground appeared on the desert floor. 15 When the Israelites saw it, they said to each other, “What is it?” For they did not know what it was. The people of Israel called the bread manna…” 31 It was white like coriander seed and tasted like wafers made with honey.

Acts 2, the fulfillment of the promise of the Holy Spirit… Could do a SOAP just on this piece…

O bservation

The Israelites grumbled thinking they were going to be killed by the Egyptian army or die from hunger. They had issues with following simple instructions, “Don’t gather more manna than you need.”

It’s easy to think, “If I saw a miracle… or if I saw the Lord part the Red Sea… or if manna appeared in my yard as a sign, I would believe. The reality is we all have short memories and it’s easy to forget the slavery of Egypt in our lives and look back (remember Lot?) and think we were better off in slavery because we had meat!

Even with having a pillar of cloud/fire leading and protecting them, they still had a difficult time believing.

Side note: John 20:29, “Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” That would be me!

Acts 2:40, “Those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand were added to their number that day.” Whenever I read this, I am put in my place. Our church is in the 2,500 range… Peter preached and 3,000 people were added in one day. Note to self…

Love, love, love this passage: Acts 2:42-47, “They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. 43 Everyone was filled with awe at the many wonders and signs performed by the apostles. 44 All the believers were together and had everything in common. 45 They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need. 46 Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, 47 praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.”

That is what the church is supposed to be… ‘nuf said…

A pplication

It’s so easy to forget from where we came… So easy to not be fully obedient (ie gather more manna than we were supposed to… or grumble about what the Lord has provided…)

Note: The Lord really wanted them to take a sabbath to rest… I really need to work on this. More than just a command, it’s in my best interest… must be for it to keep coming up. Even the Lord rested on the seventh day after creation. And it wasn’t because He was tired…

P rayer

Lord, I want all that You have for me. Give us this day our daily bread (manna). I trust You to provide for me. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of a church like the Vineyard that values Acts 2 in all regards. I want to walk in the power of Your Spirit. Help me not to grumble when I don’t get my way or see what You are doing.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 26

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Acts 2:41-47 (msg) “That day about three thousand took him at his word, were baptized and were signed up. They committed themselves to the teaching of the apostles, the life together, the common meal and the prayers. 43 Everyone around was in awe-all those wonders and signs done through the apostles! And all the believers lived in a wonderful harmony, holding everything in common. They sold whatever they owned and pooled their resources so that each person’s need was met. 46 They followed a daily discipline of worship in the temple followed by meals at home, every meal a celebration, exuberant and joyful, as they praised God. People in general liked what they saw. Every day their number grew as God added those who were saved.”

    3000 saved! A commitment to teaching, community, sharing, fellowship, praying. Living in awe, harmony, sacrifice, sharing, meeting needs, worship, hospitality, celebrations, joy, more worship, daily seeing people saved. Where is this place? Because I want to move there!

    Lord, I want to belong to a community as described in Acts 2. Please help me to know how to do my part. What can I sacrifice, how can I share, who can I teach? Please show me people’s needs and how to meet them. Fill me with your joy and help me to celebrate every day. Give me a spirit of worship and hospitality. Open my eyes, Lord. Open my heart. Set me on fire for you. Here are my hands Lord, please use me.

  2. Gen 14… God: “Tell the people to to march toward Ph-hahiroth…camp there. Pharoh will think…’they are trapped’…I have planned this so I will recieve great glory (vss 1-4)” The people began to panic and cried out to the Lord (v10). …(Moses): “Don’t be afraid. Just stand…and watch. The Lord himself will fight for you.” (vss 13-14) When the people saw the mighty power that the Lord displayed…they feared him and put their trust in him and his servant Moses (v31).

    Observations: God had a lesson to teach them. He set the whole thing up, even clued Moses in to what he was doing. The whole thing was to teach the people Who it was they were actually worshiping, to fear him, to trust him and Moses. The Israelites never had to worry about the Egyptians again. The past was history!

    Application: What once entrapped and enslaved us is history. God handles it for us on the Cross and in other miraculous ways. We learn to trust him in our present and our future by remembering his goodness (Chp 15), singing and dancing over it! We can build upon those lessons of deliverance as new opportunities to trust Him come our way.

    Abba, every time you do a miracle for me should be a new opportunity to praise you! I can add it to the ever-growing list of awesome miracles you’ve performed in my life! May my mouth be ever full of praise for you! You have truly been good to me all my days! ❤

  3. I tried viewing your web site with my iphone and the design does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your web page.

Leave a Reply

