Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 25

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Welcome to Day 25 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 12, 13; Psalms 21; Acts 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus 12:12, “On that same night I will pass through Egypt and strike down every firstborn of both people and animals, and I will bring judgment on all the gods of Egypt. I am the LORD. 13 The blood will be a sign for you on the houses where you are, and…”

“…when I see the blood, I will pass over you.”

Exodus 13 is all about the consecration of every firstborn male to commemorate them leaving Egypt, the land of slavery. (Perhaps better yet, the day they were set free!) Also mentions that they didn’t take the main road that led through the land of the Philistines, but the off-road toward the Red Sea.

Psalm 21, “The king rejoices in your strength, LORD. How great is his joy in the victories you give!”

Acts 1:8 “You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” 9 After he said this, he was taken up before their very eyes, and a cloud hid him from their sight. 10 They were looking intently up into the sky as he was going, when suddenly two men dressed in white stood beside them. 11 “Men of Galilee,” they said, “why do you stand here looking into the sky? This same Jesus, who has been taken from you into heaven, will come back in the same way you have seen him go into heaven.

O bservation

At any point along the way, Pharaoh could have let the Israelites go, and God would have spared them… but because of the hardness of his heart, his stubbornness and “unyielding” mindset, it cost them dearly… including the firstborn male of EVERY household in Egypt. It also cost them livestock and ALL their crops…

And, as this story continues, it will cost them their army, since they are about to follow the Israelites to the Red Sea to get them back…

My key observations today are these…

First, “When I see the blood, I will pass over (Passover) you.” That is all anyone had to do to be saved… If there was blood (a one year old lamb or goat without defect) on their doorway, the “destroyer” would not be allowed to enter.

I wonder… if ALL Israelites did this? I wonder if they didn’t use a lamb (or goat) without defect if they were still passed over? I wonder of ANY of the Israelites died that night?

I also wonder… if any Egyptians heard about it and tried to do it… would it have worked? I wonder if circumcision entered into the equation?

The Greek word for "power" is "Dunamis!" (The same root word for "dynamite!") Power, strength, ability!

Second, “You will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you.”

A pplication

Obedience saved their lives. It wasn’t a hard task… only to put blood on the doorposts.

Didn’t seem to matter what anyone had done prior, or even what was happening in the house… only the blood mattered. “When I see the blood, I will pass over you.”

Two words for today, “Passover” and “power.” (Or “promise” of the Holy Spirit).

The Father sent his only son, Jesus, the Lamb of God without spot or wrinkle, as our Passover. (God sees his blood on the doorposts of my heart and passes over me.) And when he ascended into Heaven and sent the promise of the Holy Spirit, we received power.

P rayer

Lord, help me to be your witness “in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” (Dayton, Montgomery and Greene counties, Ohio and to the ends of the earth.) I need your power to do this… Thank you for passing over me. I know it’s not because of anything I have done, only because of your son.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 25

  1. “This observance will be for you like a sign on your hand and a reminder on your forehead that the law of the LORD is to be on your lips. For the LORD brought you out of Egypt with his mighty hand . . . And it will be like a sign on your hand and a symbol on your forehead that the LORD brought us out of Egypt with his mighty hand.” Exod. 13: 9; 16

    What I see in these verses is that the testimony of what God has done in my life is to be just as obvious to others as if I had actually written it on my hand or put a sign on my forehead! Sometimes my son writes notes to himself on his hand with a Sharpie – a reminder to turn in a homework assignment, etc. My testimony should be just as obvious and clear! I also see that because of God’s great deliverance in my life, His Word should be always on my lips. God has delivered me – I should freely testify and share His Word! Both are Good News – the word of the testimony and the Word itself. I also see that as the community celebrate’s God’s deliverance together that the testimony of the Body should be just as obvious. The deliverance of our God and His mighty works should be as evident and obvious to our children as if we’d written it with Sharpie on our faces!

    God, please help me to share my testimony and your Word as boldly as if it were printed on my face and on my hands with indelible ink! Help me to share my testimony and your Word naturally with my children so that they will know and claim their inheritance in You. Thanks, God.

  2. Very interesting that God said several times to mark with blood that all first born be identified during the Passover. He would have known the difference between the first born of each,but he wanted it marked. This says to me that obedience in our lives and remembrance of him is our first priority in life. It also says to me that there is no grey area in our walk with him. I pray that he gives me the wisdom to live my life as a living sacrifice.

  3. Acts 1
    8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you;

    If I want to do something in the name of the Lord, prayer alone may not get it done. I need to receive the Holy Spirit to receive the power. Once I receive the power I can do something in the name of the Lord. Since I’m a novice at summoning the Holy Spirit, I’m pretty sure it’s not happing in the nanosecond between the time I start praying and the time I lay hands on someone praying for something in their lives (healing, patience, discernment, etc.). This is an important concept to understand, since my reinforcement of being able to effectively help someone hinges on getting this right. Kind of an awakening moment for me, anyone care to comment on how I perceive this?

Leave a Reply

