Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 22

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 22 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 3, 4, 5; Luke 22 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus continues today, after yesterday’s birth of Moses and his fleeing from Egypt… Exodus 3, 4 and 5 records a lengthy conversation between Moses and God, “I AM WHO I AM.” God sends Moses back to Egypt to set the Israelites free, but not before giving him very clear instructions as to how Pharaoh is going to respond.

v 10 “Moses said to the LORD, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

v 13 “But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”

v 24 “At a lodging place on the way, the LORD met Moses and was about to kill him.” (Because Moses had not circumcised his son, so his wife did it… Wondering if Moses didn’t have a high value for circumcision since he had been raised in Pharaoh’s house by Egyptians?)

Luke 22, Jesus observes the Passover with his disciples, including Judas, who was about to betray him. Jesus called Judas knowing that he would betray him… That’s amazing to me.

In the middle of the meal, v 24 “a dispute also arose among them as to which of them was considered to be greatest.” Seriously? Human (sin) nature is ridiculous.

O bservation

God called Moses, specifically. He gave him the strategy and what to say to Pharaoh.. He even told him, “I made your mouth!” He told him what to expect from Pharaoh… He gave him a staff to perform signs and wonders.

I view the Bible as my burning bush. It has the path we are to walk on… sometimes in broad terms, other times it gives specifics. I think He gives us revelation (downloads) as we read his word and pray, during times of worship, and as we receive godly counsel. (What am I called to? Where should I live? Should I take this job and move my family? Etc…) I also think His will for our lives unfolds as we walk through doors we are (fairly) certain He has opened for us.

In Moses’ case, he is going back to place where he had killed a man. Fearing there could be consequences for his actions, he is understandably nervous… I love that God reassured him that the people who wanted him dead are they themselves dead and are no longer a threat.

Just imagine though… Moses killed a man. Saul (Paul) had Christians killed. David had Bathsheba’s husband, Uriah, killed. I’m seeing a theme… a pattern here. (Tongue somewhat in cheek…)

The encouraging thing is that God uses broken people… people with a past. He is more concerned with our future than our past.

I wonder if Peter had prayed on the Mount of Olives that he would not fall into temptation, if he would have NOT denied Jesus? Jesus was at the time of his deepest need and his closest friends were SLEEPING. Again, human nature…

A pplication

When God gives me an assignment, best to do it without arguing and whining about I don’t speak well, or whatever. Simply trust Him that He will give me what I need to accomplish the task. He made my mouth, He will give me the words. (Jesus reiterated this in yesterday’s reading in Luke 21, that he would give us the words.)

P rayer

Lord, I just want to trust You… I just want to be willing and obedient to the things You have called me to. I am trusting You to lead me when I am leading worship… I am trusting You to give me the right words when I am speaking, whether in church, or out in the community. Help me to not be sleeping when I should be praying… Thank You that You use ordinary people…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 22

  1. Ex 3:18 (msg) “Believe me, they will listen to you.” God intervenes when he wants something to happen. No one can change it.

    Ex 4 Why did Moses doubt God? Why did he ask questions. Why do I ask questions? I just need to trust & obey.

    Ex 4:10 Moses makes excuses. This sounds like me when something is taking me out of my comfort zone. Not believing that I am capable, my pride in the way, fear taking over me.

    Ex 5:22-23 Moses questions God, again. It seems so silly when someone else is questioning God. But I do the same thing and is seems so normal.

    Luke 22:26-Be a servant.
    vs. 40-Pray that you do not give in to temptation
    vs. 41-44-Not what I want, what do you want?
    vs. 53-He doesn’t fight. He says do it your way

    Thank you, Lord, that you are in control. That you intervene and make a way for us. Help me not to question you. Help me to trust you and to be obedient, knowing that you see the whole picture. I know who you are and what you have done. Help me to remember that daily. Give me a servant’s heart, Lord. Guard me from temptations. Give me strength to say no and the power to rebuke Satan. Help me to be a peacemaker. I love you, Lord!

  2. Mark Long on said:

    One passage that is surprising or confusing me is that in Exodus 4:24 where it says that the Lord was about to kill Moses. I understand that Moses didnt think he could do or was afraid to do what God was asking him to and that Gods anger was burning against Moses, but it still seems surprising that God would set out to kill him after entrusting him with this.

  3. When God gives me an assignment, best to do it without arguing and whining about I don’t speak well, or whatever. Well said Scott. I am currently in a position that has a lot of potential, but I have a long way to go to be where I can be truly effective. God might send me to Ohio and this might be a temporary gig. All I know is that my first official day starts tomorrow and I want to give my best. I need to be the example. I must not fear for God is with me.

Leave a Reply

