Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 21

Saturday, January 21, 2012

It’s the weekend! Welcome to Day 21 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 1, 2; Psalms 88; Luke 21 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Genesis ended with the death of Joseph… Exodus opens with v 8 “Then a new king [Pharaoh], to whom Joseph meant nothing, came to power in Egypt.” Joseph and all his generation had died and there’s a change in the guard. “And their lives were made bitter with hard bondage.” (KJV) (I can still hear that line in the Cecil B. DeMille classic, “The Ten Commandments.”)

Exodus 2 Moses is born… Interesting that Moses is raised in Pharaoh’s house, but there is little in scripture about it. It goes from him being born, named Moses, to him killing the Egyptian he sees abusing one of his people. Then he flees to Midian and marries. The end of chapter two we find that the king of Egypt [Pharaoh] has died and the cries of the Israelites reaches God’s ears, v 24 “God heard their groaning and he remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac and with Jacob. 25 So God looked on the Israelites and was concerned about them.”

Luke 21 “The widow’s offering.” Jesus said she gave more than anyone else. It’s not the size of the check, but the size of the sacrifice that Jesus noticed and commended. She put in “two VERY SMALL copper coins [worth a fraction of a penny, one of the other Gospels states.]

Jesus begins talking about the end of the age… and this famous verse is recorded, v 33 “Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.”

O bservation

It’s funny how favor comes and goes in our life. The promise made to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob is no less in force… but it makes one wonder about how God sees the situations in our lives. His perspective is very different from ours.

One Pharaoh trusted Joseph and embraced his family and gave them all the land in Goshen… But Joseph died, and a new Pharaoh was appointed and there was no favor or affinity or appreciation for Joseph having saved all of Egypt and acquired all the land and wealth for Pharaoh’s house during that time. This new Pharaoh feared that the Hebrews would brow too great in number and attack Egypt. So he issues in edict that all Hebrew sons should be killed at childbirth.

God heard their cries, but don’t you wonder about “God’s timing?” They are in bondage for 430 years! In Exodus 12, “Now the length of time the Israelite people lived in Egypt was 430 years. 41 At the end of the 430 years, to the very day, all the LORD’s divisions left Egypt.”

FOUR HUNDRED AND THIRTY YEARS? What took so long?? Did it take 430 for God to hear their cry? Or for Him to become concerned. These are the questions I wonder about…

Must be why Psalm 88 was paired with today’s Exodus passages. Psalm 88 is a psalm of despair and pain and wondering where God is…

A pplication

Every day I do my SOAP and I get to this section and I ask the question, “How does this apply to MY life?”

I get impatient when my house hasn’t sold…

I get frustrated when a situation doesn’t change as fast as I want it to.

When my circumstances are hard, and I don’t see God moving or doing anything at that time…

The Israelites were in slavery 430 years to the day! God heard their cries… for generations. He’s just not in as big a hurry as I would like for him to be… He heard their cries the very first day oppression set in. He wasn’t distant or unconcerned. He wasn’t far off. He was there strengthening them IN their affliction. We was with them.

P rayer

Lord, give me a sense of your perspective. Of YOUR timing… Help me to see my circumstances through your eyes.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 21

  1. I find Gods timing remarkable. He allowed for Moses own mother to raise him in pharaoh’s house. Certainly she taught him about how he was. God uses who he will. Placing people in our path to help us in our time of need. I am always amazed to see Gods hand in my life.

  2. Ex 1:15-21 The midwives did not do as Pharaoh asked. They had far too much respect for God. God was pleased with them.

    Lord, please help me to put my respect for you above everything else. To honor you in tough situations. To take the hard, narrow path. I want to please you.

    Ex 2:24-25 God listens. God remembers his promises. God sees. God understands.

    Thank you, Lord, that you listen to me, that you are faithful, that you see everything going on in my life and that you understand it all.

    Luke 21:3-4 The widow gave an offering that she would miss. It says she gave extravagantly what she couldn’t afford, she gave her all.

    Lord, help me not to play it safe with my offerings. Help me to make a sacrifice in my giving. Where I feel the gift. To take a risk, to trust you.

  3. Luke 21
    3 “Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others.

    Aaah, tithing, everyone’s favorite subject. I’ll be honest, growing up with little money I had a hard time with tithing when I was younger. Then God helped me realize that giving less or begrudgingly was not showing honor and glory to Him and crippling the blessings He wanted to bestow upon me and my family. I was also limiting the ability of the church to do good works and glorify God. Once I began giving freely and more when there was need it seemed like my concerns for money also diminished. Do I have everything I want? No. But I’m more than content with what I have. More importantly, I stopped looking at blessings in terms of money, cars, things, etc… and started thanking Him for the real blessings in my life.

  4. Luke 21:32 – “Truly I tell you, this generation will certianly not pass away until all these things have happened”33 Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.
    “Be careful, or your hearts will be weighed down with carousing, drunkenness and the anxieties of life, and that day will close on you suddenly like a trap. 35 For it will come on all those who live on the face of the whole earth. 36 Be always on the watch, and pray that you may be able to escape all that is about to happen, and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man.”

    All these things: wars, disturbances in the sky, roaring and tossing of the sea (tsumani’s?) World panic? False church leaders? It seems like these things happen in every generation. I hadn’t yet made the 430 year connection to the passages in Exodus – but it would seem like the 430 year time difference is a sign that God and humans are defintely on different time plans.
    the words of verse 32 made the believers think Jesus would be back to claim the world in one lifetime – 20 or 30 years would seem reasonable.
    the words of verse 34 speak to the thought that we (humans) are going to get bored in the wait for the Messiah’s return- Jesus told us we wouldn’t know the day. Yet 2000 years seems as likely a time frame as any other so far.

    So my application point is how do I balance the needs of my job, family and commitments while remembering to be on the constant watch for Jesus’ return. Some days any one of the “anxieties of life” can take over my thoughts for the day and push out the reminder that God is here and now – with me during my enslavement to the world- and we should be talking! I will do well to remember that He hears every cry for help. As Scott said, He is even now with us, strengthening us in our afflictions.

  5. I love the Price of Egypt movie. It makes this story come to life. “Look at your life through heaven’s eyes”. Love it!

    I must not lose sight of the main reason I am here. I am to be the example of Jesus to the world. It is not easy, but the Christian life was never meant to be easy. We are meant to walk with God through it all.

    Lord, you have blessed me so much. May I not get down, but keep my mind and heart fixed on you and your plan for me.

Leave a Reply

