Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 19

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 19 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 47, 48; Psalms 10; Luke 19 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Genesis 47, Today’s passages cover Joseph’s family moving to Egypt and Joseph “acquiring” all the money, land and Egyptians in exchange for grain during the famine. All of it. Thanks to Joseph, Pharaoh now owned everything. Seems God blessed Pharaoh thanks to Joseph. Kind of hard to get my head around that one, since Pharaoh didn’t worship the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

47:5 “Now then, your two sons born to you in Egypt before I came to you here will be reckoned as mine; Ephraim and Manasseh will be mine, just as Reuben and Simeon are mine.” Jacob adopts Joseph’s Egyptian sons right there on the spot. Done.

Then Jacob switches his blessing! (Just like with himself and Esau??) He intentionally gives the younger the better blessing. (Note: “Ephraim” means “double fruitfulness in Hebrew!) But I’m wondering how Jacob’s personal experience in stealing Esau’s blessing and purchasing his birthright might have come into play??

Psalm 10 is all about what I should NOT become. How to NOT live life! Note to self, Psalm 10. Thank God he hears the cries of the afflicted!

Luke 10. You have to love the story of Zacchaeus the tax collector. Another instance when Jesus simply spent time with someone and their life was changed!

The ten minas… faithful in little = faithful over more/much. Got it.

Jesus received praise from the disciples… If they don’t praise me, “the rocks will cry out!”

Jesus was very unhappy at the condition of the temple… had become a den of thieves. “My house will be called a house of prayer.”

O bservation

I wish I didn’t know this whole story of Joseph and his family soon takes a turn for the worse…

What keeps popping out to me is the whole idea or concept of “blessing” and the power of it.

I had a great time the other night helping with worship at our women’s night of worship. On my way to the meeting I was thinking about Proverbs 31:28, “Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.” I was wondering how many of the women there might have never heard those words from their husband or children? How many women have never been praised by their husbands? So I offered to pray for them and offer a blessing over each one. Maybe 1/3 of the women there came forward for prayer and a blessing. I am both a son and a husband and a father. I blessed them from all three perspectives. How many women (or men) have never been blessed by their father?

It was a very powerful moment…

I am wondering what would happen if we all blessed each other, gave each other blessing. In James 3:9-12 it says,  “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. 11 Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?”

Luke 6:28, We are all called to “bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”

I wonder what would happen if…

A pplication

I am going to be one who gives blessing. Not in some fake, thoughtless way, but in a real way. To bless people to be who God created them to be. Obviously in Genesis these blessings were taken very seriously and had repercussions that have lasted to this day. I can bless moms because I am a son. I can bless children because I am a dad. I can bless wives because I am a husband.

P rayer

Help me to become a person who gives blessing to others. (In comparison to the man in Psalm 10 whose, “mouth is full of lies and threats; trouble and evil are under his tongue.”) Help me to help make the Vineyard a house of prayer…

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 19

  1. @Scott-Thank you for your thoughts on blessing others. This is powerful. It reminds me of Prov. 18:21 (msg) “Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit-you choose.”

  2. A couple observations about Jesus today. In Luke 19: 40, Jesus is obviously joyful over the praises of the people. In verse 41-42, he begins to cry over Jerusalem: “I wish that even today you would find the way of peace. But now it is too late and peace is hidden from you.” Then in verse 45 I see his anger as he drives out the merchants from the Temple, angry of their misuse of this holy place.

    Lots of emotions in a short span of time/verses.

    Application: God delights in my praise, is sad when I miss out on the best He has for me, and is angered when I misuse His dwelling place for my own benefit and desires.

    I pray I bring God delight as I give Him praise in my words and actions. I pray that I don’t miss out on a single one of His blessings for me. And, God, may I never misuse your dwelling place or those within whom You dwell! May my life be about honoring You.

  3. Joseph was taken care of so well after his rough patch caused by his brothers.

    I think it would be so cool to hear the rocks or street cry out. It would be amazing to some and totally freak others out. I guess I am in the middle. It would freak me out amazingly so.

    Something or someone is going to praise God. I want to be a part of that group.

    Lord, you are amazing! You provide. You made a great sacrifice. I receive your love and favor today. May I give you praise and stay humble.

    I told my boss today that I was praying for sales. We can pray for anything. God did not put limits on us. Why should we put them on Him?

Leave a Reply

