Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 17

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Welcome to Day 17 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 42, 43; Psalms 5; Luke 17 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Genesis 42-43 Captures the fulfillment of Joseph’s dream from earlier in Genesis 37. Their father, Jacob, sends them to Egypt to buy grain. When face to face with Joseph after years had passed, Joseph messes with them a bit… Asks about their dad and if they had any other brothers… “21 They said to one another, “Surely we are being punished because of our brother. We saw how distressed he was when he pleaded with us for his life, but we would not listen; that’s why this distress has come on us.” 22 Reuben replied, “Didn’t I tell you not to sin against the boy? But you wouldn’t listen! Now we must give an accounting for his blood.” 23 They did not realize that Joseph could understand them, since he was using an interpreter.”

Sounds like their guilt has finally caught up with them. Now they have to bring back Benjamin, Joseph’s brother from the same mother. He continues messing with them and testing their honesty by putting their silver back in their sacks for them to find it when they are returning home.

(I can’t believe the reading for today stops here! I already know how it plays out, but I don’t want to stop!)

Psalm 5, 4 “For you are not a God who is pleased with wickedness; with you, evil people are not welcome. 5 The arrogant cannot stand in your presence. You hate all who do wrong; 6 You destroy those who tell lies. The bloodthirsty and deceitful you, LORD, detest. v 12 Surely, LORD, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.”

Luke 17, If someone sins against you seven times, forgive them, faith of mustard seed, Jesus reminds the Pharisees about Lot and how sudden destruction came upon them. This is how it will be when the Son of Man comes…

But what stood out to me in Luke 17:11-18 was when Jesus healed the ten lepers, yet only ONE came back praising God and to thank Jesus.

O bservation

First observation is God’s faithfulness to His promises… To Joseph and his dreams that are now fulfilled after many, many years. Including years sitting in prison for a crime he didn’t commit.

Second observation is how ungrateful we can be… Ten are healed, one returns to say thank you.

A pplication

If only one is going to return, I want to be that one. I want to be the one who returns praising God and falling at Jesus’ feet. I want to hear, “Rise and go; your faith has made you well.” (v 19.)

P rayer

Lord, help me to always have a grateful heart. That I would always remember to stop and say “Thank you.” To praise you as the leper did and thank You for all You have done. That I would hear those words, “Rise and go; your faith has made you well.” May I always be faithful in my duties as was Joseph.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Day 17

  1. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    Genesis 43:20 “They prepared the present for Joseph’s coming, that they should eat bread there.”

    I remember from one of the Beth Moore Bible studies, that bread in the Bible represents fellowship with God. Joseph’s request that they bring the most precious, the “best” of the son’s in their father’s eyes demonstrates to me how much faith God wants us to give Him. The fact that the brothers kept receiving blessing after blessing….food…money…favor with “the man” Joseph…shows the reward of such great faith.

  2. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    Psalm 5:8 “Lead me, O Lord, in your righteousness because of my enemies. May your way straight for me.”

    This also spoke to me…how trusting in the Lord during trials and coming out the other side strengthens my faith, and “straightens” my path to God.

    I also want to never forget to have a grateful heart. Thank you for that reminder Scott. Thank you Lord Jesus.

  3. Dan Kelley on said:

    Luke 17: 11-18 also stands out to me. Only one returned to give his thanks. I need to thank him for every blessing that I have no matter the circumstance I am in. I pray that I see what he is doing in my life to make me a better person. Wealth and things are very temporary and will all be washed away. I wonder how many blessings the other eight lepers missed out on if the would have returned and gave thanks.

  4. Reading the story of Joseph is always, always so overwhelming. All the emotions–pride, fear, guilt, relief, joy, on and on. Forgiveness, redemption and reconciliation. God’s faithfulness, presence, unfailing love, His ability to work all things together for good for those who love Him–it’s all here. I am in awe every time I read these chapters.

  5. Anonymous on said:

    Being in such a mentally scattered world, seeing all the different things people put stock in, it is hard to move through each day w/out Luke 17. My skin wants to judge and get frustrated, but I know, through HIS to be sensitive. Slow to speak/judge.

  6. Anonymous on said:

    HIS “word” to be sensitive.

  7. Nicole on said:

    Psalms 5:2-3 (msg) “Every morning you’ll hear me at it again.
    Every morning I lay out the pieces of my life on your altar and watch for fire to descend.”

    My life is a mess without you, Lord. Help me to seek you daily. To lay my life before you, patiently waiting to see you move.

    Psalms 5:7-8 (msg) “And here I am, your invited guest-it’s incredible! I enter your house; here I am, prostrate in your inner sanctum, waiting for directions to get me safely through enemy lines.”

    Oh, to be his invited guest. His beloved. On my face, allowed in his inner sanctum (def.-from where most are excluded, a private place). What an honor to be allowed in his presence. To know that he is jealous for me. I wait, desperate for his direction.

    Psalms 5:11-12 (msg) “But you’ll welcome us with open arms when we run for cover to you. Let the party last all night! Stand guard over our celebration. You are famous, God, for welcoming God-seekers, for decking us out in delight.”

    You deck us out in delight! You have open arms for us. Always. Always. Always. Being with you is a celebration. No sadness. No worries. No fear. You are my light in the darkness.

    Luke 17:33-“If you grasp and cling to life on your terms, you’ll lose it, but if you let that life go, you’ll get life on God’s terms.”

    I want life on your terms, Lord.

  8. You’re a better man than I “Charlie Brown” (i.e. Scott), I had to keep reading. I was in tears as I was seeing the story played out. I’m getting mushy in my old age. It may have been the reference to Israel’s gray hairs… ;0)

    I will make up for it by re-reading tomorrows chapters :0)

    Thank You God for being so faithful!!!

  9. Dan Kelley on said:

    I just listened to a sermon online about Genesis 37. Joseph was truly a portrait of what Jesus is today. As Annie Hoke mentioned in a post above, I am simply amazed of what Joseph went through to become who he became in all the land of Egypt. From thrown into a pit,slavery,prison and to become truly a portrait of Jesus. I pray that the lord directs our paths to go into the world and live our lives through his eyes and be a living sacrifice as Joseph did.

  10. So much for Joseph’s extremely honest character. When faced with the opportunity to take revenge on his brothers, he couldn’t resist using his position of power to give them a hard time. Still, he exercised restraint, because he could have had them all killed, imprisoned, or denied them food and allowed them to starve. Considering everything Joseph went through because of his brothers’ betrayal, no one would have blamed him for taking revenge. In the end he extended grace.

    Lord, when I am faced with people who have hurt me, help me to resist the urge to take revenge and extend grace instead.

  11. Great comments everyone! I so appreciate your taking the time to share your insights with the rest of us! Good stuff!

  12. I have been a contractor working through a temp agency for over 2 years now. I just had my interview for the job today. It is a small taste as to how long 2 years of waiting for “freedom” can be. We are not certain that Joseph handled the situation well every day. I am certainly praising God right now for my situation. I am happy if I stay and get this job or I will be happy if we move to Ohio. I know God is taking care of me. I feel loved.

  13. Silvia on said:

    As Judah speaks in Genesis 43:9, it comes right from Jesus to me – I myself will guarantee “your” safety; you can hold me personally responsible for “you”.
    And then the Lord confirms in Psalm 5:12: Surely Lord, you bless the righteous; you surround them with favor as with a shield.
    Even though I feel attacked at times, and my thoughts often take me to ideas on how to take care of it on my how, I must trust that God protects me. I am His child, and he cares!

  14. SCRIPTURE
    Genesis 42 & 43
    Oh, how I would LOVE to see Joseph’s story produced into a movie. With some great actors and modern technology, the movie would be an award winner! Like Scott, even though I know the ending, I am still having a hard time putting it down.

    Luke 17:30
    “…on the day that the Son of Man is revealed.” Many teachers in my past taught this chapter as a description of Jesus’ second coming, but when I read this today, I find myself wondering if this is instead a description of the Kingdom of God being established with the death and resurrection of its King, Jesus Christ.

    This chapter starts with the Pharisees asking about the Kingdom of God; is it possible Jesus is saying the Kingdom will occur when His work at the cross is complete “wherever the dead body is…”? Jesus even warns the listener to not look backward and yearn for the old life, as Lot’s wife did, but to preserve their life by losing it, i.e. the Pharisees would have to let go of the law and follow the Holy Spirit?

    OBSERVATION
    The famine not only elevated Joseph to leadership in Egypt, but also provided an opportunity to restore him to his family.

    It seems Joseph struggled with his feelings/resentment towards his brothers. I wish the scripture would have revealed more about his inner thoughts.

    APPLICATION
    I will keep holding on to the dream God gave me even when it seems to be a long time coming.

    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

