Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 15

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 15 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 37, 38, Psalms 7; Luke 15 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

The next few days are some of my favorite passages!

S cripture

Genesis 37, Joseph is the next to the youngest son of Jacob… He gives a bad report to his father about his brothers, and they hate him. Then Jacob gave him an ornate robe (the “coat of many colors) and they hate him all the more. Then, when Joseph has the dreams about them all bowing down to him, that’s it. His brothers are jealous of him and have nothing kind to say to him… So they plot against him, ultimately selling him into slavery to the Midianites, and faking his death. Jacob is heartbroken.

v 11, “his brothers were jealous, but his father kept the matter in mind.”

His brothers nickname Joseph “the dreamer.” Look at “the DREAMER is his pretty little robe! Hey, dreamer… Come here!”

v 36 “Meanwhile, the Midianites sold Joseph in Egypt to Potiphar, one of Pharaoh’s officials, the captain of the guard.” A man of some prominence.

Hit the pause button on Joseph’s story… Cut to Judah. He marries Shua, who bears him three sons, Er, Onan and Shelah.

Judah finds a wife (Tamar) for Er… So many years have gone by. Er was wicked and it says “the LORD put him to death.” Interesting… No word on how he died.

Then Judah tells Onan to fulfill his brother’s duty and impregnate Tamar on behalf of his brother… Onan does sleep with Tamar, but, ummm, “prevents” her from becoming pregnant by practicing his own method of birth control.

v 10 The Lord saw this also as being wicked so the Lord put Onan to death also.

Psalm 7, 7 Let the assembled peoples gather around you, while you sit enthroned over them on high. 8 Let the LORD judge the peoples. Vindicate me, LORD, according to my righteousness, according to my integrity, O Most High.” That’s a brave prayer right there! “Vindicate me according to MY righteousness and integrity?” Wow… That sound a lot like “But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” Matthew 6:15

Luke 15, Love this trilogy of “lost” items. Lost sheep, lost coin, lost son. In all three cases, something was lost and was then found, with great joy. The parable of the lost son is not so much about the son as it is about the father. THE Father, and His love for the lost. How He is waiting and watching for his (our/my/your) return. He is waiting to put the best robe on us, to put a ring on our finger and sandals on our feet, to feast and celebrate at our return.

This story is also more about the reaction of the older brother who is angry at his father’s reaction… Easy when you’ve been a beliver for a long time to say, “HEY! What about ME!?”

“My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours.”  That is for me! Everything God has is for me and has already been given to me!

O bservation

It’s amazing to me how the Bible can condense stories that it’s obvious that YEARS have passed, into just a few verses! Judah marries, has three sons, finds a wife for his oldest son, Er, and Er dies all in the first SEVEN verses. Onan dies three verses later!

Judah’s wife then dies… He heads into the town of Timnah. He propositions a prostitute, who turns out to be his daughter in law, Tamar, who is pretending to be a prostitute to trick her father in law?? (When he was waiting for his youngest son to be old enough to be with her.)

Amazing to me that Judah’s reaction to finding out that Tamar is guilty of prostitution and is now pregnant, he’s going to have her BURNED to death, until he realized that HE himself is the father of her twins.

Is this the height of hypocrisy or what?? Reminds me of the New Testament story of the woman caught in adultery. Where was the man in that story?? She is dragged out into the streets to be stoned, until Jesus steps in. John 8:1-11

And how can these guys (Lot, Jacob, now Judah) be sleeping with their daughters and in this case, his daughter in law, and they not know who they are?

A pplication

Amazing how jealousy and deception can cause so much destruction in our lives and in the lives of the people around us. Joseph’s brothers did both. They were jealous AND they deceived their father into believing Joseph was torn apart by a wild animal. I wonder if he suspected his older sons. He had to have known that they were jealous and hated Joseph.

From Luke, I need to walk in that blessing God has already given to me. To enjoy all that He has given to me. He is my Father and I am His. Nothing can pluck me from His hand! John 10:28

P rayer

Lord, help me keep my motives in check, to not let jealousy worm its into my heart and mind. May I never use deception as a way to manipulate those around me. May I always remember Your great love for me!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Day 15

  1. You mention hypocrite, I read a FB comment from a former co-worker that spoke of that same topic.
    “I am probably one of the most unreligious people in existence, but it hasn’t been because I don’t have the capability to believe. It’s been because of so much hypocrisy I have seen. It’s hard to be told what’s right by so many “do-righters” who don’t even do it themselves. Is there a religion or faith or spiritual entity out there that is up my alley? I’ve been thinking and wondering about that for quite some time, and right now is a time where I could use some guidance to lead me and my family to a better life. Looks like more research is in order.”

    Is this simply an excuse used by people to wipe off God? We are not perfect. We are all together on this journey. I want to reply to this post and remind her that Christians do not claim to be perfect. I want to encourage her to not judge God by one or few examples. Then again, I guess all I can say for her now is that I am praying for her.

  2. 14 minutes agoJudy Telzerow
    Kelly, I read your post on Scots Slivers blog. I totally understand your comments and sometime back that was me. In fact the things that people told me and handed me as truth were Lies and I was lost for a long time..

    In one small message I cannot tell you all the truths of heaven. Except that Christ died that you might have life and he sent the holy spirit to guild us and let us know the truth. Kelly I pray that truth will be shown to you in a way that will take your eyes off people and on to the living God.

  3. As I’ve read the parable of the Prodigal Son (Luke 15) today and the Parable of the Good Samaritan a few days ago (Luke 10), I’ve tried to put myself alternately in the shoes of each character in Jesus’ stories and imagined the story from each perspective. It’s a fun exercise to meditate on what my thinking, feeling, spiritual “temperature” would be from each perspective and perhaps most importantly, to reflect on the ways in which I exhibit the attitudes and behaviors of each person and to ask God to reveal the ways in which I exhibit the attitudes and behaviors – both good and bad.

    For example, in what ways in my life am I the (Good Samaritan):
    Expert in the Law asking the initial question
    the Guy beaten and left for dead
    the Levite
    the Priest
    the Samaritan

    . . . in what ways in my life am I the (Prodigal Son):
    Father
    Older Brother
    Younger Brother

    Father: how would I feel if my child insulted me grievously by asking for his inheritance before I was even dead and in effect saying to me that I was dead to him for all intents and purposes and THEN have him disappear from the family and run off to parts unknown. I’d feel grief-stricken, angry, betrayed, heart-broken, perhaps guilt-ridden . . . What would my response be? What would my behavior look like? What would my thought-life and prayer-life look like while he was gone??

    Older Brother: How would I feel if I had always tried to be a good son, done the right things, had a good work ethic, played by the rules, honored and respected my father and my brother pulled such a stunt? I’d be angry at my brother, have a sense of righteous indignation, feel that a grave injustice had been done . . . how would I feel toward my father? Would I respond as the Older Brother did with anger and jealousy or would I be graciously extravagant, offering unconditional love and acceptance and celebrating his return?? If this was really my story, how would I respond? It’s easy to read the story and be critical of the Older Brother, but really, what would I do??

    Younger Brother: It takes a lot of humility and grace to confront your sin, return to what will likely be a hostile reception, confess your sin and ask forgiveness. This guy has nothing with which to repay the extravagance that was extended to him either so he is completely reliant upon the possibility of unconditional love and grace. It was a big risk to go home. This guy was desperate! I’ve never been desperate in this way, facing homelessness and abject poverty. What would I do in his shoes?

    Heavenly Father, this whole situation calls for humility, unconditional love, grace, and mercy. Your call and Your nature requires that each character in this story exhibit those qualities. The Older Brother did not; the Younger Brother did not in his initial actions that triggered the whole thing; but the Father did. Lord Jesus, You modeled these characteristics and behaviors for me while you walked this earth. This is what you require of me in ALL the circumstances and situations of my life. Holy Spirit, it’s only possible as you fill and fuel me. Triune God, please guide me into living this way because it’s who You desire that I’ll become as one created in Your Image. Oh Father please help me to take on more of who You are – please help me to be humble, loving, gracious, and merciful – ALWAYS. Thanks, God.

  4. Genesis 37 & 38: A couple of things stood out to me here…

    Even though Reuben kept his brothers from killing Joseph, he did not console his father, Jacob, by telling him that Joseph was not dead, but sold into slavery. Very sad to see how Jacob’s sons let him believe Joseph was dead.

    How symbolic that Ishmaelites bought Joseph as a slave. Adam fell into sin, which only could be resolved by Jesus, the second Adam. I have always seen the struggle between sons in Abraham’s family as a reliving of that spiritual story. Here we have Ishmael(ites) condemning Joseph to slavery, reminiscent of Adam’s slavery to sin.

    Judah, Jacob and Leah’s first born son, also had the same first and second son contention that occurred with his father and grand father, with his twin sons, which he had with Tamar – Zerah and Perez.

    Psalm 7:9
    Testing of emotions – wow. The question I must ask myself, regularly, will my emotions determine my actions or God? It is good to know I don’t have to understand my emotions and I do not have to feel condemned about them; I simply have to trust God and act on what I know God would have me do.

    Rebecca Caudill

  5. I notices that in the case of the lost sheep an the lost coin, someone went to great lengths searching for what was lost. But in the story of the lost son, no one went looking for him. The father waited for him to come back on his own. I wonder why the difference?

  6. I “noticed” (fat thumbs lol)

  7. I really enjoy reading all your comments. Thanks for joining in the conversation and sharing your observations. Good stuff!

  8. Genesis 37-38
    4 When his brothers saw that their father loved him more than any of them, they hated him and could not speak a kind word to him.

    This situation often arises. Joseph has done nothing wrong (although he may relish in being the favorite) yet his brothers simply hate him for being the favorite (he’s also the baby). Family isn’t the only time this happens. In work, or even our relationship with God, we don’t understand why some are more favored than others, especially if we perceive that we are performing better than someone. What we don’t see is God’s plan, for development or purpose in our lives or in someone else’s. Therefore I must try to listen, be patient, and enjoy the life God has for me.

    Luke 15
    ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. 30 But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’

    Another example of doing the right thing, but feeling slighted. It is often difficult to see someone else favored more than yourself. We immediately forget all of the blessings we have, and focus on the one thing someone else is getting, which may be the only blessing in their life.

  9. Sebastian R. on said:

    Hi, i have a question… where did get this image? https://vineyardlifejournal.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/prodigal-son-jpg.jpg?w=300&h=273

    It’s very nice. Please, give me feedback, I would like to have this image for a book cover. Please tell me if that image is free. Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

