Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 13

Friday, January 13, 2012

Happy Friday! Welcome to Day 13 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 31, 32, 33; Luke 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Genesis 31, Right off the bat, Jacob’s success (God’s blessing upon him and his brilliant breeding scheme) causes a rift in his family. His brothers in law accused him of stealing from their father (his father in law) and Laban’s attitude changes toward him after Jacob had worked for him for 20 years! He had married Rachel and Leah… Jacob has had enough and leaves. Rachel steals some items (gods!) from her father. Oops. (What is Laban doing with “household gods” anyway?)

Reminder: Leah was the sister of Rachel and daughter of Laban whose grandfather, Nahor was Abraham’s brother. Tryin’ to keep all this straight in my head!

I wonder what Abraham would have thought about his nephew having “household gods?”

Genesis 32, Jacob wrestles with a man (God)… Would love to have been there to see that! Says the man could not overpower him? Then jacked up his hip by touching it? I think God can do whatever God wants to do. I wonder if this was a good wrestling or a not-good wresting… Jacob’s name is changed to Israel.

Jacob and Esau have a tearful reunion. I wonder what Jacob/Israel had told his wives about Esau over twenty years?

Luke 13, “14 Indignant because Jesus had healed on the Sabbath, the synagogue leader said to the people, “There are six days for work. So come and be healed on those days, not on the Sabbath.” You’ve got to be kidding me… THAT is hypocrisy at it’s finest. Note to self.

Luke 13:28 “There will be weeping there, and gnashing of teeth, when you see Abraham, Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God, but you yourselves thrown out.” Wondering why Jesus didn’t refer to Jacob as Israel?

O bservation

Funny how relationships ebb and flow over the course of time… a lot can happen over twenty years. God blessed BOTH Jacob and Esau. Neither needed what the other had!

Wondering if Jacob and Esau had any contact over that twenty years. Seems not… Was Jacob was trusting in his flocks and herds more than in the Lord? Using all that God had blessed him with to prime the pump with Esau? How easy is it for us to take matters into our own hands? There certainly was some wisdom in what he was doing. He did pray… thanking God for his promise… Wondering if God gave him that strategy as to how to greet/handle Esau…

A pplication

Luke 13:24, “Make every effort to enter through the narrow door.” Life strategy… Make EVERY EFFORT to enter through the narrow door. Good thing is we know Jesus IS the narrow door! The path. The gate. “Narrow is the path that leads to life. Few find it. Matthew 7:14 “But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Few. Few? Few! Few…

P rayer

Lord, help me to stay on that narrow path. I know YOU are that path. Help me to not take matters into my own hands… I pray that you would bless me and my family! Thank you for your word, that is so practical and thought provoking… A lamp to my feet… and YOU are the light to that narrow path.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 13

  1. The relationship break down between Jacob and his brother was great . Certainly Jacob was aware of his part and fears retribution.

    Enstead he is received And welcomed. Not because of his gifts to his brother but because God had prepared the way.

    This is the perfect picture of Grace.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Gen 32:24-32-Jacob wrestled with God. How cool would that be? To be with God in human form. What a blessing, to have him right there where you can see him. Better than anything else. It makes me tear up thinking about it.

    It reminds me of Hebrews 13:2 “Remember to welcome strangers in your homes. There were some who did that and welcomed angels without knowing it”. God is with us. Angles are all around us.

    Lord, keep me aware. On alert. Help me to be sensitive to your spirit. Help me to be open to others. Thank you that you are with me. Thank you that you send angels to protect me. I can’t wait for the day when I will see you face to face!

    Luke 13:23-30 (msg) “…Put your mind on your life with God. They way to life-to God!- is vigorous and requires your total attention. A lot of you are going to assume that you’ll sit down to God’s salvation banquet because you’ve been hanging around the neighborhood all your lives. Well, one day you’re going to be banging on the door, wanting to get in, but you’ll find the door locked and the Master saying, “Sorry, you’re not on my guest list. 26 You’ll protest ‘But we’ve known you all our lives!’ only to be interrupted with his abrupt, ‘Your kind of knowing can hardly be called knowing. You don’t know the first thing about me.'”

    So, is just believing enough? I have told my eight year old son when he asks me how one gets in to heaven that the Bible says all you have to do is believe in God. Confess your sins, ask him in to your heart, and you are saved. These verses don’t sound like that. They speak of having your full attention on Christ. That you must really know him.

    I was thinking of a comparison for the verses. Just because I hang around a chemist’s lab, doesn’t make me a chemist. I would have a lot of reading, research and experiments to do before I became a chemist. I am learning that I need to read the word a lot, trust a lot, get my knees a lot, surrender my self daily and do a whole lot more-using my total attention-to know Christ. To be blessed with his salvation.

  3. Deanna Leroux on said:

    It’s been 17 years since I’ve seen my siblings and 20 since I’ve seen my Dad. I see Jacob giving gifts ahead if him to Esau as a necessary sign of respect. Shows he’s giving instead of taking like he was when Esau last saw him 20 years earlier. I really relate to this story. Genesis is my favorite for comfort from past relationships. Joseph is my favorite. Can’t wait!

  4. Marcia on said:

    Gen. 32:10 I have thought this verse shows Jacob getting his eyes off God and what He promised to do for him, but now I am seeing this might be Jacob’s realization that it wasn’t his coniving or trickery that produced these two companies, but it was God fulfilling his word. And also his preparing his coming to Esau might have been Wisdom and not just fear. Just like me, Jacob deserves death but receives grace. And a loving hug thrown in as well.

  5. maren gray on said:

    i feel stupid but i don’t understand the part about him wrestling with God….was it good or bad????? what was the purpose?

Leave a Reply

