Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 11

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Welcome to Day 11 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 27, 28; Psalms 4; Luke 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Genesis 27, Esau said, “Isn’t he rightly named Jacob? [Jacob means he grasps the heel, a Hebrew idiom for he takes advantage of or he deceives.] This is the second time he has taken advantage of me: He took my birthright, and now he’s taken my blessing!”

28:14, God reiterates his promise to Jacob, the promise given to Abraham and then to Isaac… “Your descendants will be like the dust of the earth, and you will spread out to the west and to the east, to the north and to the south. All peoples on earth will be blessed through you and your offspring.”

28:16, “When Jacob awoke from his sleep, he thought, “Surely the LORD is in this place, and I was not aware of it.” 17 He was afraid and said, “How awesome is this place! This is none other than the house of God [Bethel means “house of God”]; this is the gate of heaven.” 18 Early the next morning Jacob took the stone he had placed under his head and set it up as a pillar and poured oil on top of it. 19 He called that place Bethel, though the city used to be called Luz.”

Psalms 4:8 “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, LORD, make me dwell in safety.”

Luke 11:13 “If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

O bservation

Esau asked, “Haven’t you reserved any blessing for me?” Wow… isn’t that the question for siblings of all time?

A pplication

As a father, I want to bless all my kids. Not sure why Isaac had (or thought he had) only one blessing… Esau blames Jacob regarding his birthright, but Esau SOLD IT to Jacob for a bowl of stew! That was HIS mistake… No question there is some “right” for the firstborn… But Esau sold that right?

It bothers me that Rebekah was in on deceiving Isaac… She certainly favored Jacob… He was a bit of a mama’s boy, whereas Isaac favored Esau, a “manly man” of the earth. I wonder how my kids perceive one another… Do I bless one more than another? When I am gone, will they wish each other didn’t exist or will they love and bless one another? As in Luke 11:13 do I know how to give good gifts to my children? Do I do that?

I love that Abraham Lincoln quoted this verse about a house divided… speaking of the north and south. THAT is great application! I wonder… when people hear that Abraham Lincoln quote, do they (did they) know it’s scripture?

Woes are never fun… Woe is me if I ever become like the Pharisees or the teachers of the Law… that I become more concerned about rules than the people.

People often wonder if tithing is a New Testament or ended with the Old Testament… Here Jesus clearly commend them for tithing of their herbs, but they also needed to add mercy, justice and faithfulness… it’s not either/or… it’s both/and. Tithing without mercy becomes a pointless act. Is my tithing a pointless act? Or is it an act of worship, supported with mercy, justice and faithfulness?

P rayer

Lord, help me to be a good father… one who walks in blessing. One who understands mercy, justice and faithfulness. Help me to not limit my giving to a tenth, but that all I have would be Yours. Help me to never boil my worship down to a percentage… I don’t want to do “the minimum.” I need Your help, Your strength, Your wisdom to walk this out… Make our church a “Bethel.” That people would say, “How awesome is this place!”

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 11

  1. Melissa Stepp on said:

    Luke 11:24

    When a evil spirit leaves a person, it travels through the desert looking for a place to rest. But when it doesn’t find a place, it says, “I will go back to the home I left.” When it gets there and finds the place clean and fixed up, it goes off and finds seven other evil spirits even worse than itself. They all come and make their home there, and that person ends up in worse shape then before.

    How interesting this verse is! What I get out of this verse is that once you have decided to leave your life of your own selfish wants and follow Christ, God allows Satan to test your faith. When Satan sees that you are going to be difficult to break, God allows him to test you even further and harder.

    If you allow yourself to stray from God’s Word, you are making Satan’s job of breaking your spirit easier.

    Lord, I pray that you give me strength and determination, and work within me to stay on your path. I love you!

  2. Luke 11
    8 I tell you, even though he will not get up and give you the bread because of friendship, yet because of your shameless audacity[e] he will surely get up and give you as much as you need.

    Although I’ve read the NIV before, I’ve never encountered it worded like this, “shameless audacity”. Reminds me that if I don’t ask at all, surely the answer is no, so no harm in asking politely. It also reinforces my boldness to have “shameless audacity” when asking for things to further God’s kingdom. If Steve Bowen never displayed “shameless audacity”, where would the food bank be? If Doug never decided to go to downtown Dayton and hand out a bag of grocieries, where would the Vineyard be? I’m thankful this verse has opened my eyes to what Jesus spoke and what our faithful leadership has put into practice. Now that my eyes are open, the verse which is very familiar comes next.

    9 “So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Gen 28:20 “Then Jacob made a vow to the Lord “If you will be with me and protect me on the journey I am making and give me food and clothing, and if I return safely to my father’s home, then you will be my God”.

    Why is he negotiating with God or bargaining with him? That seems so disrespectful, to try and make a deal with God.

    Psalm 4:8 “When I lie down, I go to sleep in peace; you alone, O Lord, keep me perfectly safe”.

    Luke 11:3 “Give us day by day the food we need”.

    vs. 13 “As bad as you are, you know how to give good things to your children. How much more, then, will the Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

    Lord, hep me not to ask you to prove anything to me. You are the Almighty and have proven yourself over and over again. I just need to trust you. Thank you for keeping me safe. Psalm 91 says “Whoever goes to the Lord for safety, whoever remains under the protection of the Almighty, can say to him, “You are my defender and my protector. You are my God: in you I trust.” I trust you and I feel your presence. Thank you for providing for us daily, all of our needs. I have no worries, Lord. Fill me with your Holy Spirit daily. I need him for guidance. Thank you, Lord.

  4. God is in this place and I did not know it. This struck me hard. I wonder how many times God is in this place and I did not know..

    I pray that I see God in the places of my life.

  5. jamie sullivan on said:

    The reading and studying of the Bible in a year with the Life Journal has caused me to take a step back and look at my life and my heart a bit deeper. Am I a fair mother, person in general? Do I freely give grace, mercy and justice to my children and those in my life? Once again, I’m so grateful we are doing this!

  6. Don’t sin by letting anger control you.

    Think about it overnight and remain silent. Interlude (Psalm 4:4 NLT)

    The first week I felt like God had me focusing on the need to establish boundaries in relationships where someone is continually sinning against me. Today I am looking at my response, the *way* I have gone about setting boundaries. So often I have done it while under the control of anger instead of love. Even though my hurt is real and the boundaries are essential for everyone involved, I need to develop the heart of God for these people, not the knee-jerk reaction of anger.

    God, I can’t repair the damage my anger has done, but you can. Please heal those who my anger has hurt. Please forgive me and change my heart to make it more like yours, so I can handle situations like this in the future by your spirit and not my anger.

  7. As we come together to seek God’s Word we will come across adversity. I certainly feel it. One thing is good is that I am not speaking as though I am defeated. I will come out of this. Jesus died that we might live and enjoy life to the full until it overflows. I WANT THAT!!!

Leave a Reply

