Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Just curious…


What have you learned from the scriptures thus far?

What have you learned about yourself?

What has surprised you?

What is working? What isn’t?

Join the conversation and share your observations with the rest of us!

(Just wanted you to know that we are approaching 5,000 views of this online Vineyard Life Journal! How cool is that!?)

I’m so excited to be on this journey with you all!

Scott

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Just curious…

  1. Anonymous on said:

    are we on facebook?

  2. Getting the reading done is easy because I listen to it through the YouVersion app on my iPhone. The challenge is making the time to do the journal, because there are so many different things to process in 4 chapters/day that it’s hard for me to pick just one verse and write about it.

  3. My challenge is that I want to investigate to much -word studies etc. I have to be careful of not getting off track and to keep focused on the main lesson that the Holy Spirit is trying to teach me. I’ve done on-line college classes, and I have to watch myself by not going into something too deep-I think basically I’m noisy, or to say it another way, I’m very curious-which is my distraction.

  4. Monica, I also think my experience with online college classes has made journaling more challenging for me. I am so used to having to do 500-600 word online discussion board postings that comply with a rigid format!! 🙂 It was helpful for me that Scott mentioned the SOAP method is just a guideline.

  5. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    I’m learning to remember that trust in the Lord…complete trust in the Lord…is the key. I tend to be a bit of a control freak, and I think at times that’s a huge challenge for me.

  6. I have a tendency to go into teaching mode. Teaching is one of my gifts I discovered, so I’ll need to watch it. 🙂

  7. Mark Long on said:

    For me, the SOAP method is giving me a good, but flexible, structure to nudge me into hearing what the Holy Spirit is trying to say. The community here is also helping me see things that I have overlooked or just seen differently. I did another reading plan through the bible last year, but this so much better and I’m getting much more out of it. Thanks Scott, Doug and the Vineyard staff for organizing this!

  8. WE LOVE IT! My 8 yr old daughter and I have been reading together. Its nice to share that quality time with her and the Lord.It amazes me how she does her S.O.A.P. So glad we can be part of this!

  9. Nicole Marvin on said:

    God is teaching me humility, selflessness and giving me his love for others. I feel an excitement and energy that I haven’t felt in years. The Bible is like my life line now and I look forward to reading the scriptures every day. Morning has worked well for me to keep me in a routine and to give me energy for the day.

    Love this!

  10. Thanks everyone! I think we’re all in the same boat for sure!

  11. Marcia on said:

    Saw in Luke today that the descipiles were unable or unwilling to cast a demon out of a young boy and James, Peter and John had just witnessed the transfiguration. Then we hear a man outside the regular followers was casting out demons in Jesus name and Jesus was good with that. Hmmm it might be good to remember that the power to heal is always in His name and we cannot look at ourselves or our shortcomings.

  12. Jen Sauer on said:

    Around “Day 4” my Bible seemed to have doubled in size over night! But, as Nicole said earlier…this time everyday is becoming my “life-line”. Thank you to everyone who posts. What I appreciate most is the honesty that all of you contribute with your perspectives…2012 is going to be a transforming year for so many of us!

  13. I listen to the chapters on my iPod touch first thing each morning. I love that I am making it a priority. I struggle to find the one or few things that jump out to me. I listen to all of the chapters make breakfast and then journal. I might need to make a change. I am listening. I want to make sure I am picking up what God is trying to share with me. All I know is that I am praying more. I am all for progress!

  14. Carlene Wooddell on said:

    I am really enjoying the Life Journal approach to reading through the Bible. I have read the Bible many times, but also have gained new insight into scripture that I have never noticed before and I am also learning that hearing and understanding what the Holy Spirit is trying to reveal to me, really can and does apply to my life. I am so glad The Vineyard has offered this type of learning and Scott, I really appreciate your starting this blog for all of us to do this together. What an amazing year God has in store for 2012~I can just feel it and I am so excited to see what happens next! Blessings.

  15. My 10 and 12 yr old are doing this in their own Journals. We are taking it one day at a time. Some days we all forget to do it for the day. this is anew habit for us and I am praying it changes my children and I.

Leave a Reply

