Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 7

Saturday, January 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 7 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 18, 19; Psalms 3; Luke 7 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

for Scripture

Open your Bible to the reading found under today’s date of our Daily Reading Plan. Take time reading and allow God to speak to you. When you are done, look for a verse that particularly spoke to you that day, and write it in your journal.

for Observation

What do you think God is saying to you in this scripture? Ask the Holy Spirit to teach you and reveal Jesus to you. Paraphrase and write this scripture down in your own words, in your journal.

for Application 

Personalize what you have read, by asking yourself how it applies to your life right now. Perhaps it is instruction, encouragement, revelation of a new promise, or corrections for a particular area of your life. Write how this scripture can apply to you today.

for Prayer 

This can be as simple as asking God to help you use this scripture, or it may be a greater insight on what He may be revealing to you. Remember, prayer is a two way conversation, so be sure to listen to what God has to say! Now, write it out.

cripture

Genesis 18:1-2 “The Lord appeared to Abraham near the great trees of Mamre while he was sitting at the entrance to his tent in the heat of the day. 2 Abraham looked up and saw three men standing nearby.” (The Lord and two angels all in human form… v 19:1 confirms the two angels.)

v 27 Then Abraham spoke up again: “Now that I have been so bold as to speak to the Lord, though I am nothing but dust and ashes, 28 what if the number of the righteous is five less than fifty?”

v 32 He answered, “For the sake of ten, I will not destroy it.”

Psalms 3 is a great proclamation of faith and crying out to the Lord for protection and blessing. It’s ok to ask and to proclaim at the same time!

Luke 7 is classic! The Centurion’s faith… then raising a dead child back to life! Then “Go back and report to John what you have seen and heard: The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is proclaimed to the poor.” The implication, “Yes, I am the one who is to come!”

Gotta love this, v 29 “All the people… even the tax collectors…”

Luke v 49 The other guests began to say among themselves, “Who is this who even forgives sins?” 50 Jesus said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.” She was forgiven much and loved much in return.

O bservation

The Lord confirmed to Abraham during their meeting, that after 25 years, Sarah was FINALLY going to conceive, and oh, yeah… I’m going to destroy Sodom.

You have to love Abraham’s boldness to negotiate with the Lord… although in actuality, was this a negotiation? God was just confirming that he had no desire to destroy the righteous along with the wicked. The thing is, God already knew there weren’t 10 righteous people there. As it ended up 4-6?

Sad that Lot’s two future sons-in law didn’t leave…

Funny, the angels told Lot to go to the mountains… Just like Abraham, Lot negotiated that he be able to go to a small town, the angel agreed. Then Lot ended up in the mountains anyway! lol After seeing the scope of destruction… it hit a little closer to home than he expected. He must’ve thought, “Perhaps those angels were right… maybe we SHOULD go to the mountains.”

How strange is it that it was the daughters idea to get their dad drunk and sleep with him. Guess they didn’t know about DNA and inbreeding issues? They had to know it was wrong. But they were more concerned about preserving their father’s lineage than how wrong it might be… Again, just like Abraham and Sarah, they took matters into their own hands… and they did it without consulting their father.

So… Lot slept with both his daughters without knowing it, after having drunk too much wine? This is starting to sound like an episode of Jerry Springer! Lot HAD to have wondered how they became pregnant! As a father, I would want to know who got my daughters pregnant!

Funny, the Pharisee didn’t extend Jesus any common courtesy, then was offended at the woman’s actions. I would loved to have been able to sit in on Jesus’ dinner with Levi (Matthew) the tax collector, then to sit in on this dinner… To hear their conversations, to see how Jesus interacted with the two different groups of people.

P rayer

Lord help me to live a life of faith… to walk this out, day by day, step by step with You. To not become pious and religious like the Pharisees… but to be like Jesus who impacted so many lives by spending time with them. I need Your power as I pray for people… that You would be glorified as people are healed. Display your power in my life…

P.S. It’s worth mentioning… It’s often thought that Sodom was destroyed because of their desire to sleep with the men (angels) who were with Lot… During last year’s Life Journal, I came across this verse that broadens the scope of their sin… Ezekiel 16:49 “‘Now this was the sin of your sister Sodom: She and her daughters were arrogant, overfed and unconcerned; they did not help the poor and needy.” God is concerned that we not commit sexual sin… He is also concerned that we life unselfishly and that we care for the poor.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 7

  1. Elizabeth Wourms on said:

    Still thinking about how God is a promise-keeping God and nothing can diminish that – not even the passing of time. I live in chronological time and measure events and occurrences by it. God operates outside chronological time – His time is perfect and complete. A friend once shared a word of knowledge that she received from the Lord for me: “Elizabeth, God operates outside time and time is nothing to Him.” In my humanness, I become impatient when I perceive that “too much time” is passing without seeing the revelation of God’s promises to me. In my sinfulness, I sometimes allow time to cause me to question God’s faithfulness; allow time to cause me to doubt whether or not I heard Him correctly. But scripture shows me – the testimony shows me – that God is a covenant-keeping/promise-keeping God who operates in perfect timing. God is on time; God is in time.

    Yesterday I commented on the spans of years that passed between God speaking and acting with Abraham – Abraham was 75, he was 86, he was 99 . . . I realized today that Abraham REMEMBERED. Remembering is a big part of trusting, hoping, and believing. The fact that we have these accounts in scripture means that Abraham remembered God’s words and God’s activities and passed those testimonies down orally through the generations until ultimately somebody (probably Moses) recorded them in writing.

    I was also struck in yesterday and today’s readings that God SEES me and God HEARS me. God saw Hagar in her distress (Gen 16:13) and Abraham named her child Ishmael – the name means “God hears.” God reminds Abraham that He does indeed hear him – “I have heard you; I will surely bless you . . .” (Gen 17:20).

    While I wait, it’s a needed comfort to know that God sees me and God hears me.

    While I remember, I cling to this truth: nothing is too hard for the Lord. (Gen 18:14)

    God, I trust and believe that nothing is too hard for you; nothing is impossible for you – help my unbelief! I confess, God, that sometimes my hesitant heart, my doubting mind whispers, “I’m not so sure . . .” Forgive me, Lord. Give me the faith that Mary had when she cried out “Nothing is impossible with God – I am the Lord’s servant.” (Luke 1:37-38) and the confidence of Jeremiah, “Sovereign Lord, nothing is too hard for you!” (Jer. 32:17). Help me, Lord. Thanks. Amen.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Gen. 19:16 (msg) “Lot was dragging his feet. The men grabbed Lot’s arm and the arms of his wife and two daughters-God was so merciful to them!-and dragged them to safety outside the city”

    They had to be dragged! If an angel came to be and told me that God was going to destroy Dayton, OH-I would hope that I would RUN, not drag my feet or have to be dragged from the city.

    Oh, Lord, please help me to submit to you. Please help me to obey you and not to think that I know better. Please take control of my life. I want your plans, not mine.

    Luke 7:28 “I tell you”, Jesus added, “John is greater than anyone who has ever lived. But the one who is least in the kingdom of God is greater than John.”

    I’m reminded in the Bible where it says that God despises what men love. I don’t want to have the things that are important in this world.

    Lord, humble me. Give me contentment with what I have. Put me last in line, let me be focused on you. I don’t want to be great in the eyes of men, I want to please you.

  3. Connie on said:

    Scott you crack me up. It really was like a Jerry Springer show. S Genesis 18:23 O I am so glad that the LORD stayed with Abraham. Abraham found him approachable. So do I.

    What is the difference between LORD and Lord. When we read this is it Jesus or God? Was it Jesus there with Abraham? Or was God with him?

    Genesis 19:

    O Lot had two virgin daughters, who were married because Lot had two sons in laws. So evidently the sons in laws were homosexuals. That is why they stayed in the city. Lots two daughters were suffering from rejection from their husbands, then their dad threw them outside to be raped by a whole town. No wonder they turned out like they did. That being said, that must have been some wine in the verses of Genesis 19:34-38

    this verse that broadens the scope of their sin… Ezekiel 16:49 “‘Now this was the sin of your sister Sodom: She and her daughters were arrogant, overfed and unconcerned; they did not help the poor and needy.” O This was more fun when I thought I was not guilty of the same sin. Let’s hurry past that part about being overfed.

    Luke 7:1-10 O The Centurian was a Gentile too. A lot of Gentiles had much greater faith than the Jews.

    Luke 7:18 O I just feel bad for John. I am sure he thought Jesus would spring him from jail. Could they do that back then? Jesus had money. Enough that Judas was tempted by the money of the ministry. There is no mention that Jesus even visited John while he was in prison. But after John sent word to ask Jesus if he was the one…Jesus did tell the multitudes exactly who John was. He used the scriptures to tell them.

    Luke 7:36-50 I wonder who she was? I have heard who they think she was. I just wonder what her great sins were. Were they the same as mine? She is one of the first women I want to talk to in heaven. It’s so true that those who have been forgiven much, love much. And those who have not been forgiven much, have trouble loving anyone or even receiving love back.

    A I want to love more.

    P Thanks for this online class. I got behind one day and that was sure a lesson learned. Help me not to do that again.

    Thanks for opening up the scriptures to me. Help me to understand this the way you meant for it to be understood.

    I know with your help I will be able to love more. That would be a wonderful thing to have on my tumbstone…SHE LOVED EVERY ONE!

    Fill me with more. More love, more faith, and more compassion.

    I ask all this in Jesus’ name,
    Amen and Amen

  4. Connie, Genesis 19:14 states, “So Lot went out and spoke to his sons-in-law, who were PLEDGED to marry his daughters.” Apparently they weren’t actually married yet. They must have had other family there, perhaps they had deep roots in Sodom? There are a dozen reasons why they may not have wanted to leave.

    Good question about LORD and Lord. Here is the short answer:

    “LORD” (in capital letters) represents God’s name, YHWH
    Whereas “Lord” (initial capital L) represents God’s title, adonay.
    YHWH is commonly translated YaHoWaH,
    which is why some translations use Jehovah vs. LORD.

    God (Elohiym) said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.
    Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM
    (THAT I AM) (hayah) has sent me to you.'” Exodus 3:14

    You shall not take the name of the LORD (YHWH)
    your God (Elohiym) in vain… Exodus 20:7

    Note: There are volumes written about this very question. : )

    • Connie Hall on said:

      Thanks so much Scott.

      • Connie Hall on said:

        My King James says:Genesis 19:14 And Lot went out, and spake unto his sons in law, which married his daughters, and said, Up, get you out of this place; for the LORD will destroy this city. But he seemed as one that mocked unto his sons in law.

        My NKJ says:So Lot went out and spoke to his sons-in-law, who had married his daughters, and said, Get up, get out of this place; for the LORD will destroy this city!” But to his sons-in-law he seemed to be joking.

        No argument here I just wanted to say what the other versions say. Sometimes they are different.

Leave a Reply

