Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 5

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Welcome to Day 5 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 12, 13, 14; Luke 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

cripture

Genesis 12, Abram leaves his homeland and sets out to a place God says, “I will show you.” God said, “I will (bless you, make you a great nation, etc) Go from basically everything you know… to an unknown place.

Genesis 13:8-9 “So Abram said to Lot, “Let’s not have any quarreling between you and me, or between your herders and mine, for we are close relatives. 9 Is not the whole land before you? Let’s part company. If you go to the left, I’ll go to the right; if you go to the right, I’ll go to the left.” Abram was kind to Lot, gave him his choice of which direction to go…

bservation

Start over at 75 years old… starting over? Are you kidding me?

What about Abram and Sarai’s deception of the Pharaoh? I get that they feared for their lives in a strange land, but what did Sarai go through? They were there for some time because Abram “acquired sheep and cattle, male and female donkeys, male and female servants, and camels.” That doesn’t happen overnight… I can guess what it means to be in Pharaoh’s household… But there is no mention of it. Really makes me wonder what went on.

Funny, Lot SAW how nicely watered the land was in one direction and took it. Lot ended up settling… near Sodom. Things aren’t always as they appear… aside from their wickedness, there was war in and over that land!

When Lot was captured, Abram went to war for him and got him and all his possessions back! Fought for him! That’s commitment to family. Am I willing to fight for my family in that way?

14:20, “Then Abram gave him a tenth of everything.” to Melchizedek, the king AND priest… the first tithe. He tithed on everything he had… then gave everything else he had take back to the king of Sodom, just because it was the right thing to do. I Love that.

I know there’s more to this story… trying to read each chapter as though I’ve never read it before… and not journal about what’s going to happen… But we all know what happens in Sodom, then to Sodom… and to Lot’s wife.

Luke 5, you gotta love the story of Jesus asking Peter to borrow his boat to speak from… then he suggests Peter go to deeper water to fish some more. Peter was a pro fisherman… yet he dared to give it a shot… and was blessed for it, and learned a great lesson about Jesus. Then he (and his partners in his fishing business) left EVERYTHING and followed Jesus. I wonder if they asked Jesus to become a partner in their fishing business? Let down the nets one time per day with so many fish?? Peter was at least WILLING for both requests to do what Jesus asked. Imagine if he had said no to letting Jesus use his boat to speak from?

v 16 “Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” Good advice for all of us…

Story of the paralyzed man… Did he ask his friends to do that for him or did they just do it for him? Jesus saw “their” faith. Must have been a collective effort… What a great story about doing whatever it takes to get near Jesus!

Wow, to prove he had the authority to forgive sins, he healed the man. Love the people’s response, “We have seen remarkable things today.” Love that!

I love that Jesus called Levi (Matthew’s Hebrew name) while he was still “a sinner.” Then Levi invited Jesus over to be with him and his circle of friends, a bunch of other “tax collectors and sinners.” I love spending time with people who aren’t Christians… Keeping in mind that Jesus was the son of God, and had great self-control… He was able to be in that situation… for the rest of us, we need to use caution. We are called to be salt and light, to reach out to “the lost” but I have to use wisdom and be careful. Remember, “sin is crouching at the door” from earlier in Genesis 4?

A pplication

I see a correlation between these passages, old and new testament… How Abram treated the king of Sodom and how Jesus treated Levi… Both could have said, “Go away from me you sinner!” They may not actually say that… I may not actually say that, but how often do I THINK that and treat people as less-than because they are not a Christian or see the world through my glasses? I need to learn to see people the way God does… to see their potential… who they can become as I am becoming who God wants ME to be. There is so much in these passages each day… how is it possible to boil it down to one verse, one thought, one application?? I can’t do it. Not gonna try. Just gonna roll with it!

P rayer

Speak Lord, your servant is listening. I want to absorb everything I can from your word… about Abram’s faith and trust and willingness to go and do. I want to be a person who carries his friends into your presence so that they can be healed… I want to be a person who draws others into relationship with you. I want to be a person who is respected in the community for my faith and how I walk it out, not in a judgmental way, but in a way that they would want to invite me over to hang out with them and their friends. Make it so Lord. But I need your help to maintain my character, integrity and values along the way. Thank you for open doors into the community…

P.S. If you made it this far in reading MY journal/SOAP, I just want you to know I really am trying to keep it as MY journal, not A journal for everyone else following along. This is how I process what I am reading. Please don’t feel pressured to make YOUR journal like mine. Make it YOUR journal… and keep sharing your insights with me and others by posting comments… This is going to be a great year of breakthroughs and insights and discovery together!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Listening to the Holy Bible on my way to work certainly puts a much better perspective on my whole day. This morning it even made a bad traffic jam a pleasure to sit through.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Luke 5:5 (msg) “Master, we’ve been fishing hard all night and haven’t even caught a minnow. But if you say so, I’ll let out the nets”

    Why do we think we know more than God? Why don’t we remember who he is and surrender to him daily? It should be so easy. Where is my faith? I should have no worries, no fears, no concerns. I know who God is. The miracles that he has shown me. I know what he is capable of.

    Lord, I love you. I love who you are and all that you are. Please help me to remember who you are daily. To surrender my whole self to you. To live under your covering, wrapped in your arms, following your lead.

    Luke 5:8(msg) “Master, leave. I’m a sinner and can’t handle this holiness”.

    Let this be my frame of mind. Not the “know it all”, independent, I can do it myself, I know better frame of mind. I should ask daily for his mercy, his forgiveness and to focus on his holiness.

    Lord, I am a sinner. Please forgive me for any sin that is keeping me from you. If there is anything that is hindering me from being closer to you, take it away. You are holy and I adore you.

    Luke 5:16 (msg) “As often as possible Jesus withdrew to out-of-the-way places for prayer”.

    Jesus, the son of God, did this. As often as possible. It sounds like any spare time he had, any chance he got. He left for a hidden spot to be with the Lord. I need a prayer closet, a hidden space, a quiet spot to be with the Lord, alone.

    God, I need you. I want more of you and less of me. Please help me to take control of my days. To make more time for you. To remember what matters most…you. Help me to make you my first priority.

  3. Jeremiah Shockley on said:

    It’s funny, as I read about Abram and Sarai I was thinking some of the same things. It would be very interesting to see things from their perspective and understand their choices. But in the big picture, what are we willing to endure for our loved ones? Years of separation knowing that they may be mistreated, rather than being killed and knowing they will be mistreated. I’m often humbled at how easy we have it, compared to those in the Bible. Thanks for bringing that out.

  4. Kim Osburn on said:

    This isn’t directly related to today’s reading, but I hope it’s relevant. A Facebook friend of mine posted a link to a page of “Funny Autocorrects” for the iPhone — situations where people are texting one another and mean to type 1 thing, but Autocorrect changes one of the words so the entire meaning of the conversation is changed. For example, a man texted his friend to say he was starting a new job with the police force and just picked up his “unicorn” today (instead of “uniform”), leading to a conversation about police officers riding unicorns around town!

    While several of them were downright hysterically funny, many were obscene. A person typed in an innocent word, but Autocorrect changed it to a vulgarity. Having a hard time believing that Apple programmed such extreme vulgarities into every iPhone from the factory, I wondered what these people had been habitually typing into their iPhones on a daily basis prior to the conversation that programmed vulgar language into the iPhone’s Autocorrect system?

    This got me to thinking about our Life Journal reading plan. By doing this daily study, we are habitually “programming the Autocorrect” in our brains to respond to everyday situations the way God would respond. What goes into our minds and hearts will come out later.

  5. Thanks Scott. I didn’t understand what Genesis 15:21 meant. I just put ????? in my journal for that verse.
    S Genesis 14:18-20
    O This sounds like the first communion with him bringing bread and wine.

    S Luke 5:1-3
    O I love it that Jesus knew the sea waters would act as a microphone and that more of the multitude would be able to hear him speak if he was in a boat on the water.

    S Luke 5:13
    O I also love it that Jesus touched the untouchable leper. I act like people have leprosy if they sneeze or cough in front of me.

    S Luke 5:19
    O This sounds like an Old Testament Bible study or a cell group. Imagine saying you would have cell group in your home and people wanting to get in there so bad they take the roof off to come in.

    S Luke 5:20
    O One of my favorite things in the whole Bible. When Jesus saw the faith of the paralytic man’s friends, he forgave the man for his sins.

    S Luke 5:36 and 37
    O I wonder if the reference to old wine in new wine skins could apply to the music in the church today. It’s almost the only real complaint I hear today. The older generation does not like the praise music. The younger generation loves it. Sometimes it’s not even age. One spouse likes one and the other spouse prefers the opposite. I have friends who go to a church where one service on Sunday is hymns and the next service is praise, but they like different music.

    A I am going to try to not be so stand offish to those who are sick. We went to church once with a woman who wore gloves so she wouldn’t actually have to shake hands with anyone who possibly could have been sick. I am kind of like that.

    I wonder if Jesus can see my faith? Is it strong enough for him to forgive someone I love of their sins? Is it strong enough that he would heal someone just because of my faith?

    P Hello Lord,
    Thanks for giving us your word. It sure makes me realize I am not ready for sainthood yet. Lord I am a mess. I need a lot of work. Thanks for giving me your Holy Spirit so that he will help me become more of you and less of me. Please increase my faith.

  6. Kim thank you SO much for sharing your story! I pray that this habit that I am not doing for God, but for myself to learn daily. I want it to be my natural impulse to act in a godly manner.

    Observation: Did the disciples have to give up a great deal to follow Jesus? For someone to simply get up and walk away from their normal lives? I know it was harder for some than others. I ask this because the military tells us where to live. It has never been our choice. When you are given a command that involves consequences you are more inclined to obey. I wonder what the disciples feared if they did not obey Jesus.

    Application: Do I have reverential fear of God if I do not obey Him?

  7. Kim Osburn on said:

    S:
    Genesis 12:10-20 Abram and Sarai in Egypt
    Genesis 13 Abram and Lot Separate
    Genesis 14:17-20 Melchizedek Blesses Abram

    Luke 5:31-32 — “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do. I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners and need to repent.”

    Luke 5:38-39 — “New wine must be stored in new wineskins. But no one who drinks the old wine seems to want the new wine. ‘The old is just fine,’ they say.”

    O:
    Abram, who God promised would be the father of a great nation, was a big chicken! When he and Sarai went to Egypt, he made his wife pretend to be his sister and let her be taken into Pharoah’s palace just to save himself. It’s interesting that God punished Pharoah’s household with plagues instead of punishing Abram, but then again, Abram was eventually punished by being driven out of the country.

    Abram and Lot chose to part company on good terms rather than live together in conflict, because they valued their relationship as close relatives.

    Melchizedek was a priest of God, although he was not a Hebrew (was he?). I did a Google search on Melchizedek and found speculation that he was Shem, son of Noah, or maybe even Jesus. Weird.

    Jesus didn’t call the “pretty people” of his day. He called the tax collectors and sinners (NLT translates it “scum”).

    New wineskins are flexible enough to accommodate new wine.

    A:
    Sometimes it’s better to part company on good terms with family than to live in continual conflict, because you value the relationship enough to preserve it with some healthy distance.

    I need to be flexible enough to accommodate the new things God is doing in my life, even though the old things seem better because they feel more comfortable.

    P:
    Lord, help me to be flexible and open to your movement in my life, no matter how uncomfortable it seems. Please continue to help me find a balance in relationships with my family members.

  8. Not enough posts from today… so I will add mine….Loved yours Kim!

    SCRIPTURES:
    Gen 12:2-3 – Make Abram into a great nation and bless him. God will bless those who bless Abram and curse those who curse Abram.
    Gen 12: 7,8,18 -Abram built 3 altars to the Lord. 1st in Bethel (north of Jerusalem), 2nd going south enroute to Negev and called on the name of the Lord, and 3rd at Hebron (south of Jerusalem).
    Gen 12:10-13 -Abram told his wife Sarai to lie to the Egyptians about being his wife to save his life, and get food as the famine was severe. Tell Pharaoh that she is Abram’s sister.
    Gen 13:4 – Went back to Bethel and called on the name of the Lord again.
    Gen 13:17 -Go and walk the land (length and breadth) for I am giving it to you.
    Gen 14:19-20 – Blessing of Abram by Melchizedek, King of Salem, priest of God Most High. Abram gave him 1/10 (10%) of EVERYTHING!
    Luke 5:5 -But because you say so, I will let down the nets.
    Luke 5:10 – Don’t be afraid’ from now on you will catch men.
    Luke 5:16- But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.
    Luke 5:31- It is not the healthy who need a doctor but the sick.

    OBSERVATIONS:
    God blessed Abram and called him for ministry to a new land. Abram obeyed and left his father. Abram built altars to worship God and remind him of his personal spiritual encounters with God. It says God appeared to Abram at Bethel (house of God), and he called on the name of the Lord at the 2nd altar location, and the 3rd altar mentioned was built at Hebron. Abram was told to walk the length and breadth of the land that God was giving him. Go he went further south again and built the 3rd altar at Hebron. Keep my eye on Bethel and Hebron… which will be seen many times again in future scriptures. Hebron in particular is where Abram became Abraham and was told the prophecy about having a son named Isaac.

    Abram tells a ½ truth (lie) to Pharaoh to try to stay alive. Helping God to keep his promise to give him the land and make him into a great nation. Sarai is actually his ½ sister (same father, different mothers-Gen 20:12) and wife. But a ½ truth is actually a whole lie. He wasn’t trusting God for his protection. Abram came up with his own plan, which he will do in the future too concerning Isaac. But because Abram is chosen, God blesses Abram even more and makes him more wealthy (more livestock and gold) and protects Sarai from having relations with Pharaoh, the mother through whom Christ’s lineage will come. Then Abram goes back to Bethel to call on God again.

    Blessing of Abram by Melchizedek, King of Salem, priest of God Most High. He brought out bread and wine… sounds like communion to me, as later introduced by Jesus. This was the first occurrence of the word priest in the Bible. And it was also unheard of for someone to be both a king and a priest, so this is foreshadowing of Jesus once again to be both a king and a priest. Also, first occurrence of “God Most High” the name of God as El Elyon. Then Abram gave Melchizedek 1/10 (10%) of EVERYTHING! This establishes the tithe that we are to give back to God as worship and to honor all that He gives us.

    In Luke, the soon to be disciples demonstrate obedience to the Lord, by humbly letting down their nets, because Jesus said to do so. They were told not to be afraid and that in their new calling is as fishers of men.

    Jesus often withdrew to be alone and pray to his Father in heaven. If intimacy with the Father is critical to Jesus, how much more so for me!

    Jesus understood that he was to hang out with sinners, demon possessed, lame, leprosy, etc… as it is not the healthy who need a doctor but the sick. They were the ones who needed forgiveness for their wrong ways… like Matthew (called Levi in the gospels of Mark and Luke) for collecting too much money for the taxes.

    APPLICATION:
    Like Abram, I am called and blessed by God for His ministry. I am to honor God and have a sacred, holy place (like an altar) where I go to worship Him and call on His name and sit at His feet. When I am not sure the direction I am going, like Abram, it is good to go back to the last place I know where I clearly heard His voice and felt his holy Presence. Abram went back to Bethel after leaving Egypt. I must remember that a half truth is actually a whole lie. Be careful to watch my words. Words have the power to bless or to curse. I must always have my belt of truth securely in place as in spiritual armor in Ephesians 6. God protects me and restores me too when I make mistakes, like Abram.

    I am to walk the land given to me. To take the territory! Sometimes it is as easy as just showing up to give out groceries, serve breakfast, pray for others at hospitals, or send a card in the mail. Other times, I am told to physically walk around future land that we will own someday, even walking specific streets in Dayton, blessing and anointing buildings. Exercising authority and claiming the promises of God with every step I take while worshipping, praising, and praying. Like the disciples, I am to go to places where people need physical, spiritual, and emotional healing. Then I am to call on your name O God, just like Abram did at Bethel. Also, Jesus demonstrated the importance of spending time alone praying to God the Father to get His blueprint for the day. Not our will, but His be done.

    We too are royalty as God’s children and a royal priesthood of believers who can freely enter into fellowship with the King of Kings. We have permission to be the sanctuary of God, the temple of the Holy Spirit. We can enter into the conversation with God as we have access to the holy of holies. It just takes me carving out time and setting aside all other priorities to spend quiet time alone with God to pray and worship at our home altar. Help me to practice your presence all throughout my day. Nothing is more important than me establishing a place of intimacy with God in my own home. And like the disciples to obey you Jesus, just because you say so. Not leaning on my own understanding or desires.

    PRAYER:
    Lord, help us to be a royal priesthood, representing you and praying for the sick and lost. We ask that you increase the anointing on our church so we see more people healed and restored. Help us not to be afraid to go into the places you are sending us. Overshadow and protect us with your presence. Give us confidence, boldness, and authority to take back territory for your Kingdom. Help us to obey your commands immediately and completely, in faith, and to be truthful as we represent you. Let our words be full of blessing to others, and our life a reflection of your goodness and character. Let us be generous to others with our time, talents, and money, and not hold back anything, as you own everything anyway. Thank you for entrusting us with your resources for your Kingdom, as they pass through our hands to others. We love you O God! You alone are worthy of praise, glory, and honor. Help us to be faithful, diligent, and intentional as we walk out your commands in the Bible. Like Abram, we ask that you bless and protect our nation, O God! Help us to get back on track and once again, seek your face! We are nothing without your presence! Have mercy on us and rescue us like you did Lot!

Leave a Reply

