Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 4… already??

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 4 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 9, 10, 11; Luke 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

(They come quickly, don’t they!) I can tell you this, keeping up daily, not playing catch-up is the key to this program. One can easily do the reading and the S.O.A.P. exercise in 30 minutes to an hour per day… but if you get behind… it only makes it more difficult. Best to stay on top of it! Don’t get discouraged, simply move on. If you have to skip a day or get a little behind, don’t let it take you out of the race!

Do you realize we are just getting started? This is a year long marathon… not a 100 meter dash. Keep that in mind along the way!

I hope you are enjoying this as much as I am! Thanks for participating in our Vineyard Life Journal blog! Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

9:22-23 “Ham, the father of Canaan, saw his father naked and told his two brothers outside. 23 But Shem and Japheth took a garment and laid it across their shoulders; then they walked in backward and covered their father’s naked body. Their faces were turned the other way so that they would not see their father naked.”

11:6 The Lord said, “If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them.”

Luke 4, Jesus had the power to turn stones into bread… but he didn’t. He resisted the devil. Noticed that the devil quoted scripture to him… interesting. The enemy knows scripture and may even twist it to deceive us? A scary thought, especially as we are going through the entire Bible together as a church family.

Says, “Jesus returned in the power of the Spirit…” after fasting and being tempted for 40 days.

Classic passage of scripture from Isaiah 61… (Keep in mind, chapter and verse breaks weren’t added until the mid 1200s…)

18 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
19 too proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

bservation

One son left his father exposed… the other two covered his nakedness. They refused to even look upon him. Thought of the verse, “Love covers a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 4:8 We always have a choice… to talk about what someone has done, or offer to help them through it. One son dishonored his father. The other two honored him.

God was concerned about man’s attempt at building a tower “that reached the heavens.” I wonder what He thinks about some of our buildings today, or that we actually pulled of landing on the moon! I wonder if He didn’t thwart recent attempts due to not being under the law? Think about the scientific advances in the past 100 years, vs. the previous several thousand since Noah… What God said was true, “then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them.”

Preaching the good news to the poor. Proclaiming freedom, healing the sick… We’ve always done those… however… proclaiming the year of the Lord’s favor! Wondering if this could be a year of the Lord’s favor. Is it a matter of proclaiming it, or agreeing with the Father that it IS. Hmmm…

A pplication

Two thoughts today…

I can choose to be like Noah’s two sons that honored him and covered him. Or, I can be like the other that mocked and exposed his nakedness.

I can choose to participate in Isaiah 61… (Or not.) To proclaim the good news to the poor, freedom, the Lord’s favor. (Or not.)

P rayer

Lord, help me to become a person who lifts others up… whether it is my father or “the poor.” That I would be a person who proclaims the Lord’s favor, not His judgment or His wrath, as so many people think and do. Give me/us power as we pray, that the blind would recover their sight, not just spiritually, but physically. Give me bold faith that doesn’t just “ask for” but PROCLAIMS your favor! This is what I want my life to be about… Over the long haul!

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Day 4… already??

  1. Dan Talbott on said:

    Luke 4:4-13 Jesus temptation was part of his suffering for me Heb 4:15, and i suffer the same 1 Peter 1:6,7, and find it to be a trial of my faith. But i can overcome By the power of Jesus and the Word of God. Thank you Father. A note to Scott, thanks for the encouragment and helping us get started with this blog.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Genesis 9:12-16
    vs. 13 ” I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth”.

    vs. 16 “Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth”.

    Oh, I love this! That God placed his rainbow in the clouds as a sign of his covenant to us. That he would never again use water to destroy all life. He says in vs. 16 that he will see it and remember the covenant. So when I look at a rainbow, I know that God is looking at it to and we are remembering his mercy, grace and compassion together. What a wonderful God! He could have chose something plain, common and/or colorless as a sign of his covenant. But he chose something spectacular.

    Thank you, Lord, for your covenant. Thank you for your mercy, grace and compassion. You make life exciting, adventurous and full of beauty. I adore you!

  3. P: Lord, help me to take your precious word into battle today like Jesus did when he was tempted.

  4. maren gray on said:

    scott i really enjoyed reading your s.o.a.p notes today….sometimes i read and my brain doesn’t pick up what my eyes see….it helps me to read what you wrote and get some of my questions answered! thanks so much!

  5. Dan Kelley on said:

    Going 40 days without food and also being tempted by the devil at the same time would be very difficult to overcome. Jesus withstood everything the devil could tempt him with and never wavered. An interesting thought in Luke 4:35 how Jesus told the demon to be silent and to “come out of the man!” And the demon threw the man to the floor and left him without harming him anymore. Demons being fallen angels and we are deceived by their nature. I find it fascinating that Jesus didn’t have to lay hands to rebuke demons but he could speak to them to leave a person.

  6. I am being bold right now and proclaiming I am moving to Ohio even though it is not confirmed yet. I think God might be using this situation to teach me that I can look at situations in 2 ways. I long to be a more positive person. It is not natural, but I know I can change.

  7. Pam Zambenini on said:

    Thanks, Scott. We’re having some difficulty keeping the journal but when John (who is an avid Bible reader and actually remembers it!) doesn’t feel up to reading, I read aloud to him and we discuss the SOAP. Enjoying it together.

  8. Silvia on said:

    I haven never noticed Luke 4:13 before. The devil was gone until the next opportune time. Even with Jesus, the enemy is just looking for another opportune time. But as we resist the devil with God’s Word, he will flee… everytime!!! Thank you for 2012 Lord that I can offer this year to get closer to you through your word.

  9. Again, thanks everyone for your comments and insights! I hope you keep coming back! I enjoy reading your posts, too!

  10. Faith Kasten-Payerle on said:

    I was reminded that He came to set the prisoners free. What is it today that He is trying to give me freedom from? He is the ultimate breaker of any chain or anything that may be keeping us seperated from His grace.

  11. Yesterday while reading Genesis when Adam and Eve were banned from the garden of Eden, the flashing sword that God placed there after they had sinned,,,held no value to me. However, right after reading I opened my email and was reading a daily spirit of prophecy bulletin where I learned the importance of the sword and what it represented. How exciting to serve a “right now” God! The sword represented the seperation of good and evil, flesh and spiritual. And God was making that clear to Adam and Eve by placing it there. I can’t wait to see what happens next so thank you Doug and Scott.

  12. Gen 9: We see God establishing His first Covenant with man to Noah, his sons, descendents, the living creatures and the earth itself-He gave the sign of the covenant the Rainbow, He made a Covenant and keeps His Covenant, man did not have to earn it, beg for it, the Lord Made a promise not only to all those listed above but a promise to Himself, that He would remember to never destroy again the earth by a flood when he sees the rainbow.
    Father thank you that you are a Promise Keeping God, that you are not like me or mankind that you should lie- or just have good intentions! Thank you that you never go back on your word, through all eternity!

    S-vs. Luke 4:18 “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”
    O-We see Jesus in the very beginning of this chapter that He is full of the Holy Spirit. vs1) Jesus return to Galilee in the Power of the Holy Spirit vs 14) The Spirit of the Lord is upon me vs18) I see that Jesus depended upon, and relied upon the Holy Spirit for fullness, power, to get through temptation-to proclaim truth (even when they wanted to throw him over the cliff-always amazes me in scripture when He walks through the crowd, a wall, etc.) to cast out demons and to heal.

    A-I need to yield myself to the Holy Spirit, apart from Him I can do nothing
    P- Jesus thank you for sending us the “Helper” thank you for your mighty working power through the Spirit-come Spirit and fill me, forgive me when I don’t allow you to work, and flow through my life-because of grieving you by sin and trying to handle things in my own flesh. Thank you Jesus for your example, that when you even though you are the Son of God, you relied on the Spirit for power.
    Amen

  13. Kim Osburn on said:

    S:

    Genesis 9:21-25 — One day he drank some wine he had made, and he became drunk and lay naked inside his tent. Ham, the father of Canaan, saw that his father was naked and went outside and told his brothers. Then Shem and Japheth took a robe, held it over their shoulders, and backed into the tent to cover their father. As they did this, they looked the other way so they would not see him naked. When Noah woke up from his stupor, he learned what Ham, his youngest son, had done. Then he cursed Canaan, the son of Ham:

    Genesis 11:5-6 — But the LORD came down to look at the city and the tower the people were building. “Look!” he said. “The people are united, and they all speak the same language. After this, nothing they set out to do will be impossible for them!

    Luke 4:1-13 The Temptation of Jesus

    Luke 4:29 “Jumping up, they mobbed him and forced him to the edge of the hill on which the town was built. They intended to push him over the cliff, but he passed right through the crowd and went on his way.”

    Luke 4:42 “Early the next morning Jesus went out to an isolated place. The crowds searched everywhere for him, and when they finally found him, they begged him not to leave them.”

    O:

    Even Noah, the only righteous man on earth who walked in close fellowship with God, made mistakes. His foolish son gossiped about him to his brothers, who were wise enough to cover their father’s shame. I wonder why Canaan was punished for Ham’s behavior?

    A group of people who are united can accomplish anything they set out to do — good or bad.

    Jesus resisted Satan’s temptation by using his thorough knowledge of Scripture. He didn’t simply rely on being the Son of God.

    I wonder how Jesus passed through the angry mob in Nazareth that tried to push him over the cliff? It’s interesting that the people of his hometown tried to kill him, but the people in Capernaum begged him not to leave.

    A:

    If even Noah made mistakes, I definitely will too. 🙂

    If even Jesus needed a thorough knowledge of Scripture, then I do too!

    P: God, help me not to be too hard on myself when I make mistakes, but to let your love cover my sin and move on. And help me to stick with this journal. If Jesus needed to know the Scriptures, then I need to make it a priority too.

Leave a Reply

