Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 3

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Welcome to Day 3 of our Vineyard Life Journal blog! Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 6, 7, 8; Luke 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Apart from a lengthy and circular discussion about the Nephilim (who they were and where they came from?) What immediately struck my heart was this passage in chapter 6:5-6, “that every inclination of the thoughts of the human heart was only evil all the time. 6 The Lord regretted that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was deeply troubled.” I have regrets in my life, but this is tragic to me. God was so disappointed in humanity…

But…

6:8 But Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord. 6:9 Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked faithfully with God. 6:22 Noah did everything just as God commanded him.

CLICK HERE to see a Noah’s Ark Model Plan

Sidenote: Seven pairs of every clean animal, but only one pair of every unclean animal. You never see that in a kid’s book about Noah… Then he sacrificed some of the clean animals after they got off the ark!

I also took note that there is no record in these chapters that Noah was mocked or that he pled with anyone to come with him, other than his wife, his sons and their wives. It makes sense that people would mock and jeer and laugh at this situation, but the Bible does not state that. It’s easy to take conjecture and make it scripture. We just naturally fill in the blanks around these stories as though it is truth…

Luke 3 I love that there is a genealogy of Jesus from Joseph all the way back to Adam. You hear people talk as though the Bible is full of fictional characters… but these people really lived, and here’s the family tree. (Worth noting that this genealogy varies from the one in Matthew, they are the same from Abraham to David, but vary from that point forward, again, there is much speculation as to why.)

In a parallel passage to Luke 3, John 3 states, “He must become greater; I must become less.” Jesus said that among men there is none greater than John the Baptist (Matthew 11) but the least in the kingdom is greater than he… The more John knew his place, the greater he became. As he proclaimed Jesus’ greatness, his own was displayed. The more he decreased, the more he increased… then he was imprisoned for calling out Herod’s sins and wickedness, ultimately beheaded. He was Jesus’ cousin… this is one of those instances where one might ask, “Didn’t Jesus care enough to stop it from happening??” But Jesus knew it was the Father’s will… it had to happen… Still, very sad and troubling.

O bservation

The flood certainly didn’t end wickedness…

A pplication

We are called to be “Noah’s” and “John the Baptists” among the people of our time. To walk uprightly, to be blameless among our generation. Easier said than done.

We are sometimes criticized for our practical application of the Bible… but take note of what John the Baptist said people should do when people asked him… v 11″ John answered, “Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none, and anyone who has food should do the same.” v 13 “Don’t collect any more than you are required to” and “Don’t extort money and don’t accuse people falsely—be content with your pay.” \

That is practical life application.

P rayer

Lord, help me to walk uprightly before you among this generation… to be the kind of man that would give one of my shirts, to share my food, to be honest and content with my pay. I know the heart of men haven’t changed since the days of Noah… the flood didn’t erase that, but as David prayed in the Psalms, create in me a clean heart oh God.

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Day 3

  1. Dan Kelley on said:

    I think the Ark is one of the most fascinating stories in the old testament. To even imagine how Noah could gather all the animals and birds in such a short period of time is astounding. But to me it shows his obedience towards God no matter what the circumstance may be. As the old saying goes “If God gets us to it,he will get us through it.” We just have to wait on him to direct our paths in the direction he chooses,not ours.

  2. Elizabeth Wourms on said:

    I was struck by a couple things today. One continues in the theme of “worship” and living a life of worship that I’ve been seeing in our scriptures the past 2 days. Noah and his family were in the ark nearly a year, if I add up the time correctly. I can only imagine the boredom, the stench, the “cabin fever,” the annoyances, the frustrations . . . they experienced a captivity. I imagine it felt like imprisonment; a “wilderness” experience; an entrapment. Once the doors were opened and they were all liberated, I can only imagine the sense of unadulterated joy that they felt as they ran down the ramp and onto dry land again (or maybe they couldn’t even run after such a long time being cooped up and unable to move about freely). Noah’s first act at being liberated was to worship! Noah built an altar (Gen. 8:20) to the Lord before he did anything else; before he celebrated with his family; before he just ran around gleefully; before he fell down and kissed the ground. God’s liberation should always inspire our worship, shouldn’t it? The fact that we have been saved and set free through the Cross should inspire our worship, but every small liberation – every time God looses a chain and breaks me free from something that holds me back in my life – every instance of God’s liberating activity in my life should be an occasion for worship. Lord, help me to have worship be my first response to your freeing works!

    John the Baptist’s ministry was to “prepare the way for the Lord.” (Luke 3:4) Worship is one way to prepare the way for the Lord in my own heart, mind, and soul. As I learn to live a life of worship, that worshipful focus will “make straight paths for him” in my life. But I need to examine myself, too. What wrong things in my attitudes, my thinking, the state of my heart, my patterns of behavior actually make crooked paths for God? What are the “crooked” things in my life that need to be straightened out in order that God can come in easily on smooth and straight pathways? Show me, Lord. And God, what would you have me do today that will help to create a straight path for you to come into the life of someone else? I found this cool prayer in the margin of my Worship Bible alongside Luke 3:

    Thank you, Lord, for the ministry of John the Baptist. His message still lifts the downtrodden, humbles the proud and convicts the sinful. Today as I hear his words again, may they prepare the way for Your presence in my life. Come, Lord Jesus. Find a home in my heart. Give me spiritual integrity so that the fruit of my life will match the words of my mouth. Help me to follow You in the way You have prepared for those who love you. And I pray, Lord, that You will use me, as You used John, to prepare the way for You in the hearts of others.

  3. Christie Frisk on said:

    Thanks for posting your Life Journal Scott! I love reading it after I’m done with mine!

  4. Dan Talbott on said:

    Gen.6:6 sin grieves God, my sin grieves God. Eph.4:30 tells us Do not grieve the Holy Spirit. Father help me to hide your word in my heart, to be filled with you, and to resist satan that i might not sin against you.

  5. Now truely an email thread that is awesome! Thanks Scott and thanks to all the bloggers!
    We need to sit down over a latte and discuss the Nephalim ;0)

  6. interesting note in the reading a few days before.

    He named him Noah[c] and said, “He will comfort us in the labor and painful toil of our hands caused by the ground the LORD has cursed.”

    Interestingly perhaps the flood helped the ground to become blessed… makes sense… silt, dead things etc.

    Offering made…The LORD smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart: “Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though[a] every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.

    So the ground is still blessed… human hearts are still off center…interesting note for ponder.

  7. Carlene Wooddell on said:

    I am thoroughly enjoying this Life Journal reading plan. Being able to see the Word in a new light, with a new perspective is very helpful and being able to read other’s comments on the same thing I have read is refreshing. It makes me really stop and think and just ponder on the Word.

    Today’s Scripture that really spoke to my heart was Genesis 6:6-8 where the Lord has decided to destroy all living things that he created, because he is so grieved at how mankind has taken the gift of life and destroyed the gift they were given, but because Noah found favor, he and his offspring were spared God’s wrath. This is a reminder to me, that our God is a loving God and as deeply grieved as he was and probably still is with most of mankind, he did not destroy everything.

    The promises that he gave in Genesis 8:21 that Never again would he curse the land, reminds me that his blessings are true today just as they were thousands of years ago, sometimes we just have to look to see the blessings in our lives.

    And the last verse that spoke to me, was Luke 3:11; where John is speaking of sharing what we have, with others. Once again these are blessings that we have because of God and once again, many of us, myself included , fall short in realizing how very blessed we are and how much we have to share.

    In applying what I have learned for my life today, I need to be someone that when people meet me, they see Jesus. I need to be more kind, loving, honest-but not too critical or harsh in my opinions, and to continue to be content with what I have and bless others that are less fortunate than myself.

  8. Scripture: Genesis 6:1 and 2
    Now it came to pass, when men began to multiply on the face of the earth, and daughters were born to them, that the sons of God saw the daughters of men, that they were beautiful; and they took wives for themselves of all whom they chose.
    Observation: I have been taught and my Dakes Bible notes back this up, that sons of God are the fallen angels. I believe that the fallen angels mated with the human women. I believe that is why God had to wipe out all of humanity. The lineage of Jesus had to be clean of this. Since God knows everything from the end to the beginning he knew the flood would not wipe out the evil thoughts from the hearts of man.
    Scripture Genesis 6:9 says that Noah was a just man, perfect in his generations. I think this backs it up too. I think no angels had mated with anyone in Noah’s family line.
    Scripture Genesis 8:20 and 21 Then Noah built an altar to the LORD, and took of every clean animal and of every clean bird, and offered burnt offerings on the altar. And the LORD smelled a soothing aroma. Then the LORD said in His heart, “I will never again curse the ground for man’s sake, although the imagination for man’s heart is evil from his youth, nor will I again destroy every living thing as I have done.
    Observation: God says he cursed the ground for man’s sake. Here right after the flood, while Noah is offering Him burnt offerings, God again speaks of man’s evil heart. The flood wasn’t to wipe out the evil hearts of man. It’s because the blood line of man was being tainted by the fallen angels. Jesus would later come from the human blood line and it couldn’t be tainted like this.

    Scripture: Luke 3: 31 and 32 I am not sure I am right here, but does this say that
    Boaz and (Ruth is not listed) were Kind David’s grandparents?

    Prayer: God thank you. Thanks for loving us enough that you had to wipe out everything and start again. I can only imagine how hard that must have been for You to do that. My bible notes say that what John preached in Luke 3:10-14 is the kind of repentance that You require. Please help me to share what I have, take no more than my portion, be content, and to not be a trouble maker.

  9. Joyanna on said:

    Noah was obedient in every detail. (7:5)
    As opposed to his contemporaries who were so wicked that God regretted making man. (6:6) “The Lord was grieved that he had made man . . and his heart was filled with pain.”
    Sometimes we are saddened by our children’s actions but not to that level. Our forgiving God must have been REALLY fed-up!

    It doesn’t say that God was sad he made the animals and birds though. Twice in Ch6 God tells Noah he’s to keep the animals alive.
    Noah’s Ark = The world’s first zoo! And a floating one at that! The story of the ark is one of my favorites. I love animals; they fascinate me!

    Noah is told to bring the animals to the ark. (6:19) But later it says they came to Noah and entered the ark. (6:20 and 7:9 ) Animals can be stubborn, like people.(Have you ever tried to get a horse into a trailer when it doesn’t want to go?) It must have been miraculous to see the orderly animals file in two by two!! There is no account of the animals fighting or killing and eating each other.

    Perhaps it took a week to get all the animals situated in their stalls.
    Seven days before the rain began God was kind enough to start bringing dry animals to the ark. Can we assume they were dry? I think so. (I know how bad a wet dog can smell . . . how bad would a wet yak smell?) Was the 18″ space between the ark and the roof for ventilation? For tossing overboard the “soil” from cleaning the stalls?

    Noah took appropriate food for every creature on board. (6:21) He must have either studied their habits or God told him what to store-up on board. Feeding the animals and cleaning their stalls must have kept the whole family busy all day! I don’t think they sat around playing yahtzee in the evenings either! They would have been too tired.
    God must have already established which kinds of animals were “clean” and “unclean” before this time as Noah was to take 7 pairs of the “clean” animals.
    God already knew Noah’s heart, that after this experience Noah would, in worship, make a sacrifice of those clean animals, and so God prepared him.

    After being cooped-up for just over a year, with the same seven relatives and all those noisy, smelly animals, you can bet Noah was ready to give thanks and worship the Lord!

    Luke 3
    John was already teaching compassion and to love your neighbor (v.11) by sharing your extra tunic (or anything you’ve been blessed to have more than one of.)
    Time to give away some “tunics”! This spoke to me as I’m preparing to jettison some of the excess in my household.

    v.23 NIV states “He was the son, so it was thought, of Joseph” . . . then the long lineage of Joseph is listed . . . but the very last phrase (referring to Adam) is, “the son of God.”
    In actuality this last phrase accurately describes the paternal lineage of Jesus.

  10. Mark Long on said:

    What struck me today was in Luke – “Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none, and anyone who has food should do the same.” I see a strong connection between that and “Give us today our daily bread” in the Lord’s prayer and am convicted that I need to be more giving. Also that “our daily bread” is all that we need and most of have so much more that we should be helping our brothers and sisters with.

  11. maren gray on said:

    wow such detailed observations! i am impressed and feel so silly because the one thing i have been wondering is why was i always taught the people ridiculed and mocked noah for building the huge boat! i didn’t come across that today!!! i also never really thought about what they did while they were on board and how long it must have seemed to them…i wonder if i would be able to follow directions as well as noah did…..i’m almost afraid to ask how many corners i would try to cut in order to save time…yikes! i love this by the way. it’s nice to get insight from other people!

  12. S:
    Genesis 6:5-6, 9
    “The LORD observed the extent of human wickedness on the earth, and he saw that everything they thought or imagined was consistently and totally evil. So the LORD was sorry he had ever made them and put them on the earth. It broke his heart… Noah was a righteous man, the only blameless person living on earth at the time, and he walked in close fellowship with God.”

    Genesis 8:20-21
    “20 Then Noah built an altar to the LORD, and there he sacrificed as burnt offerings the animals and birds that had been approved for that purpose.t21 And the LORD was pleased with the aroma of the sacrifice and said to himself, “I will never again curse the ground because of the human race, even though everything they think or imagine is bent toward evil from childhood. I will never again destroy all living things.

    Luke 3:8
    “Prove by the way you live that you have repented of your sins and turned to God. Don’t just say to each other, ‘We’re safe, for we are descendants of Abraham.’ That means nothing, for I tell you, God can create children of Abraham from these very stones.

    O:

    God sent the flood to completely destroy humanity because they were completely evil, except for Noah. Because of Noah’s righteousness, God not only spared him from destruction, but his entire family, even though they were not righteous. God knew that even after the flood, humanity would be “bent toward evil from childhood”, yet he promised never to destroy them again.

    A:

    The story of Noah encourages me that even the unrighteous members of my family may be protected if I walk in close fellowship with God.

    What John the Baptist said in Luke 3:8 reminded me of Cain’s descendent Lamech, who assumed that God would punish anyone who killed him just because he was Cain’s descendant. It’s a reminder to me that I can’t rely on the faith of my parents, ancestors (or even the faith I may have had in the past) to secure my relationship with God today. It’s important for me to keep pressing in to God’s presence to stay in fellowship with him.

    P:

    God, help me not to take my relationship with you for granted. Help me to become like Noah: a righteous person walking in close fellowship with you.

  13. WOW, Noah managed to gather his family together to work and live together on the ark, as GOD instructed him, and I cannot even get my family together at all. An extended car drive is dreaded instead of being cherished as time together to make family memories. I am going to make a real effort to stay in touch with my family.
    Thanks Guys for the honest posts!

  14. S – I took note of Gen 8:13-15 “finally…10 and a half months after the flood began…the water was drying up. 2 more moths….the earth was dry. Then God said “leave the boat'”

    O – That must have been some year. Tough in many aspects for Noah but preferable from what the rest of mankind faced.
    – What a sad story…all those people and animals dead. I wonder what went through Noah’s mind that year.
    – I wonder if Noah suffered post-traumatic stress syndrome. He lived while so many others died. Did he question God? Was he angry? sad? scared? Regardless, when he got off that boat he worshiped God.

    A – Sometimes what I perceive to be a really hard season of life is actually a season of redemption. Perhaps I need to rethink what I perceive to be unfair, i.e. “trapped on a boat amidst a flood.” Maybe God places me in a certain circumstance to save me from much worse alternatives. One thing’s for sure, God saved the one righteous man. I want to be righteous in His sight even if I’m the last woman on earth. And, I want to offer Him my worship always.

    P – May God help all of us to honor and love Him fully, knowing that He rescues those who do.

  15. By the way, I think that other references to Noah in the New Testament may lead many to think that Noah was mocked or that he went around preaching repentance.

    One is Hebrews 11:7 By faith Noah, being divinely warned of things not yet seen, moved with godly fear, prepared an ark for the saving of his household, by which he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith. Another is 2 Peter 2:5 “…and did not spare the ancient world, but saved Noah, one of eight people, a preacher of righteousness, bringing in the flood on the world of the ungodly…”

  16. Good insights and comments everyone! Keep it coming! I’m really enjoying reading your posts! Thanks!

  17. I wondered why God did not just wipe out the animals and remake them. That would be admitting God made a mistake. He does not make mistakes. We are not a mistake. We stumble and let others down, but there is forgiveness and a new chance each day to make things right. I love the new year, new month, new week, new day. We can only handle so much. God rested after creation. We must rest and get back to work the next day.

  18. Gen. 8:21 shows how pleased God was with sacrifice. This tells me that he is pleased with the sacrifices that we give Him today. An example is tithing. It is sometimes very hard for us to make our tithe, but we should give it freely to God and be happy to do so. Our God is a great God, and when we sacrifice for Him, no matter what we are giving, he will repay us ten fold!

  19. S Luke 1:18 and 34 were the scrpiptures that stuck with me

    O Doubt and or fear was the initial response of Zechariah and Mary at the presence of God via Gabriel.

    A I take comfort in knowing that feeling fear or doubt at God’s presence is something that happens even to the greatest of God’s servants.

    P Father allow me to overcome my fear and doubt and act according to your will.

Leave a Reply

