Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 2 Life Journal 2012

Monday, January 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 2 of our Vineyard Life Journal blog! Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work? (If you read mine first, it may taint what you think.) Read a note from Scott.

Click here for today’s reading: Genesis 3, 4, 5; Luke 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

S cripture

Right off the bat… 3:1 “Did God really say?” Compare to chapters 1 and 2 “God said” twelve times. People always question what God has said, both in the Bible and personally…

Blame is never good. “The woman you gave me… SHE…”

4:7 True for all of us… “If you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”

(Only took 4 chapters and 8 verses to get to the first murder in humanity. Jealousy and disobedience preceded. Note to self.)

I wonder how many “restless wanderers” there are out there… I have met a few.

Funny, the first verse to mention anyone other than Adam & Eve, Cain or Able, mentions Cain’s wife… who was she? Where did she come from? I know many people struggle with this, but there are a lot of things I don’t know and don’t matter to me. Faith has unanswered questions. That’s ok with me. A population explosion in verses 17-22!

Key verse 4:26: “At that time people began to call on the name of the Lord.”

Key verse 5:21, “Enoch walked faithfully with God.”

Noah started his family at the ripe old age of 500! lol

Luke 2, I have read that chapter (the Christmas story) so many times over the course of my life… I am still left with one thought, “Wise men still seek Him today.” (Matthew 2) Not a lot mentioned about Jesus from childhood to age 12 or then up to age 30 when he started his ministry.

O bservation

Even under the most ideal circumstances (the Garden of Eden) sin is not far off. Even having seen God and walking with Him, both Adam and Eve did the ONE thing that was forbidden. Jealousy was the root cause of Cain killing Abel, and it was over his sacrifice! Even in church jealousy can sneak in. Take note.

A pplication

Be on guard… live a measured life at all times. Sin waits for an opportunity in all of our lives… Remember what God has said in His word and to me. When the enemy asks, “Did God really say?” Simply answer, “Yes, He did.” In james it says, “Resist the devil and he will flee from you.” Just don’t crack that door!

P rayer

Lord, I need you to give me the strength to live out this life of faith… Help me to be like Enoch, to walk with You. I know I can’t do it on my own and I don’t even want to try. Protect my heart from jealousy. I pray that my sacrifices are acceptable to you.

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Day 2 Life Journal 2012

  1. My goal is to have the blog posted by 8:00 AM every day…

  2. Elizabeth Wourms on said:

    Observation: Abel’s offering (Gen. 4) was the first true worship offering – that struck me this AM for the first time! He offered the fat portion of some “first fruits” meat – not only does this offering point ahead to the sacrifices that would be prescribed later by the Lord, but it reflects the worshipful heart and mindset of Abel as he “went the extra mile” in producing his offering to the Lord with great care and effort. Because Abel was a passionate worshipper, his offering was accepted by the Lord. Contrast that with Cain who just gave “some” of his produce. Fast forward to the reading in Luke where Simeon and Anna were worshipping and waiting for the Messiah to be revealed. Because they remained constantly in an attitude of worship and in a posture of active waiting and watching for the Lord’s activity, they were in a position to recognize the Lord Jesus when he showed up on that special day with his parents. Had Simeon and Anna not been such passionate worshippers, they likely would not have recognized that child as the Christ when he arrived that day. I was also struck (Luke 2) by the recklessness of the shepherds’ worship! They left their flocks in the field to go down to Bethlehem and look for the sign that the angels had announced to them. What a dangerous action to leave the flock unguarded from predators or thieves! And yet they acted obediently because they were caught up in worship along with the heavenly host.

    Application: I want to be the kind of worshipper that gives generously from the first-fruits of all that I have; I want to be the kind of worshipper that lives in God’s presence moment-by-moment like Anna who never left the temple; I want to have the kind of reckless and courageous faith that prompts me to immediate action when God calls even if the timing seems wrong to me; I want to be the kind of worshipper that is so caught up in God that I recognize His face, His voice, His touch immediately; I want my responsiveness to God to flow out of a life of worship so that I can move in step and rhythm with the Spirit constantly.

    Prayer: Lord, help me to be that worshipper! Thanks, God – amen!

  3. Dan Kelley on said:

    I really do like this series. I have never used a journal and find out how important keeping one really is. Thoughts need to be written down so we can reflect on what God is saying to us. Realizing what Joseph had to do to make a long journey to pay his taxes and his fiancée getting ready to have a baby and nowhere to stay made me realize that God wants us to be obedient even if we are uncomfortable with our surroundings.

  4. In Genesis 3:1 the serpent could speak. Adam and Eve did not think this was at all odd. I wonder if before the fall, all animals could speak. I wonder if they will speak to us in heaven. In Genesis 3:14 God says the serpent will be cursed more than the cattle and the other animals in the fields. I wonder why they were cursed. I wonder what the did wrong.

    Genesis 4:10 Our blood has a voice and God can hear it.

    Luke 2:2 Joseph had money for a room. It’s just that they were booked full.

    I grew up in a home without Christ. Still I remember that every year when The Charlie Brown Christmas show would come on, I would wait and listen for them to read the words in Luke 2:8-14. Even as a lost adult I would hurry to the front of the TV and listen as they said the Word of God. Looking back I think I liked the way I felt when I heard the Word. Like a man wondering in the dessert hearing the sound of running water. I wonder how many others were the same.

    Luke 3: 21 & 22 is when Jesus got baptized. I thought something like that would happen when I got baptized. I mean on a much smaller scale. I never have really heard of anyone experiencing anything like that during baptism.

  5. Dan Kelley on said:

    I remember when I got baptized back in 1979, When I came out of that water I felt snow white. I don’t know how many people had this experience but it was quite an experience.

  6. When I have always the story of the creation of the earth as a teenager, young and middle age adult I always ponder how long a day is back then. Since God didn’t create days, seasons,years until the fourth day. Was his day longer than my day. The same with age people lived to over 900 years old. I have a friend that will be 103 this month and still gets around now with a walker since he fracture his hip. How long was a year back then the same as now? I have always wonder that?

  7. Dan Talbott on said:

    Gen. 3:8 they hid from the presence of the Lord, we read how Jonah the prophet fled from Gods presence. I have been there and cant think of a worse position to be in. But now because of his love and kindness to me, I love his presence.

  8. Kim Osburn on said:

    S: Genesis 3:22-24; Genesis 4:3-16

    O: I think maybe God told Adam and Eve not to eat of the fruit of the 2 trees in the middle of the garden because he knew they were not created to handle that kind of responsibility — both the knowledge of good and evil, and eternal life. The serpent tried to convince Eve that God was just being selfish and egotistical, not wanting to share this great power with them. In reality God was trying to protect them. The only thing I wonder about sometimes is why God put the trees there in the first place when they were so dangerous? Maybe it was a test to see if Adam and Eve would be obedient, but since he created them and knew them intimately, he had to know that they would disobey him, right?

    What stood out to me about the story of Adam and Eve’s fall, and the story of Cain’s punishment for killing Abel, is that God is a God of both justice and mercy. When Adam and Eve sinned, he not only kicked them out of the garden, but placed an armed guard at the entrance to the garden so they could never return. However, he also made clothing from animal skins to cover their shame. Even though he punished them, he covered their sin. When Cain killed Abel, God cursed him to be a nonproductive, homeless wanderer; yet he also put a mark on Cain to protect him from being killed, promising to punish anyone sevenfold if they killed Cain. It was kind of interesting that Cain’s great, great grandson Lamech said “If someone who kills Cain is punished seven times, then the one who kills me will be punished seventy-seven times!” Awfully cocky, considering God never said he would protect Cain’s descendants, and Lamech had just murdered someone.

    A: Still thinking along the lines of Biblical boundaries in relationships, God did not establish boundaries to protect himself and his own rights. He did it to protect his children. When Adam, Eve, and Cain violated his boundaries they suffered stern consequences for the rest of their lives, and there was no option to have those consequences lifted, ever. Yet even in issuing these consequences, God made provision to continue protecting his children. In other words, he withdrew his blessings, but did not withdraw his protection or love.

    P: God, thank you for continuing to give me clarity of insight into how you define and maintain boundaries in your relationships. Help me to be like you in dealing with the people I love who cross my boundaries, and more importantly, your boundaries. Help me to find the balance between withdrawing blessings, but not withdrawing protection and love.

  9. @ Nancy, just a thought, there was still “there was evening, and there was morning—the first day.” That is a definite length of time…

    Having said that, BEFORE that the Spirit of God “hovered over the waters…” seems it could have been more “timeless” before that?

  10. I am SO thankful for this group. It allows me to be a part of the Vineyard even though I am in Georgia. I hope to move back to Ohio in 2012.

    I feel God is strongly stressing to me that I need to be on the offense. Sin is out there. Satan is real. He knows my weaknesses and tries any way he can to get to me. I must spend time with Him daily. Listen to the truth in His Word so I can fight the battles in 2012.

  11. Speaking of TIME :
    Gen 4:26: At that TIME men began to call on the name of the Lord.
    Gen 5 the whole account of Times-of being born, having children, and death, except of course for Enoch-
    FAST forward to Luke 2:6″While they were there the TIME came for the baby to be born–at just the right time the angels announced the birth to the shepherds-
    vs 21-At the right time when Jesus was 8 days old-circumcision,
    vs 22: When the TIME of their purification had been completed
    vs 27 Simeon was moved at just the right time to enter the temple
    vs41-49: the trip to Jerusalem each year for the Feast of Passover
    at the age of 12 Jesus stayed behind in the temple-
    after 3 days his parents found him (just at the right TIME)
    Through these scriptures concerning TIMES reminded of the Esther study our women did about 2yrs ago : “And who knows but that you have come to the kingdom for such a TIME as this and for this very occasion?” Esther 4:14 Amp.
    Lord my times are in your hands, help me not to try and rush time, or to procrastinate my time-that I’m here in this time span in your Kingdom, may it be used wisely and for your glory and your Kingdom!
    It is amazing to see how God’s living Word is revealed to each of us so differently but yet all within context-

  12. Silvia on said:

    I notice the blame game between Adam, Eve, and the serpent. I prayed that God gives me courage to change what I can change, but let go of trying to control others to change. Each one must be responsible for their own role, when all is well, and when all is wrong.

  13. Scripture: “The Lord said to Cain, ‘Why are you angry, and why has your face fallen? If you do well, will you not be accepted? And if you do not do well, sin is crouching at the door. Its desire is for you, but you must rule over it.’” (Gen. 4:6-7)

    Observation: God wants me to turn away from sin. Even when I am sinful, if I turn from it and fight its domination, then I can still be redeemed and forgiven. When I am angry, my face falls away from the Lord. My sins, as well as the sins that the enemy wants me to commit in the future, are always knocking at my door. What can I do to deny the enemy and move closer to God? How can I please God?

    Application: I must work on my anger towards others. Anger is a sin; therefore it is a tool of the enemy to move me further from God. I think that forgiveness of others also applies to in this subject. If I am quick to truly forgive someone, how could I be angry with them still?! I will need God’s help with this, too. I should rely on Him to help me show forgiveness to others, even when I feel that I have been deeply wronged. If the devil is knocking at my door in the form of sins, then I should not answer it, but let God be my doorman. I must turn to prayer and the Holy Spirit for guidance in times of anger. If I want God to forgive me of my sins then I must be willing to forgive others of the sins committed against me.

    Prayer: Lord, please help me to forgive others as I would have you forgive me of my sins. Let me be quick in forgiveness, but not in anger. Let me show others your love by loving them myself. Your will is what guides me, and I am certain that your will is for me to turn away from sin and turn closer to you and my fellows. Help me to curb my anger, no matter the situation, so that I can correct it with a whole mind instead of with a fog over my eyes.

    • I want to share with you what I keep telling myself. We are living in grace now. The Old Testament is the law. The New Testament is grace. When God looks at us he sees us through Jesus and Jesus was perfect.

  14. Joyanna on said:

    In her temptation Eve rationalized “that the fruit of the tree was good for food, it was pleasing to the eye and also desirable for gaining wisdom.” (Now who couldn’t use more wisdom?)She must have thought this was something she lacked. It was compelling.
    Eve was the original “experiential learner” – one who must have an experience (or make a mistake) in order to learn from it.
    Proverbs 9:10 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.”

    (Wondering what the mark was that God placed on Cain. Did it look like a disease so that no one would come near enough to him to kill him?)

    Twice in Luke 2 it says that Jesus grew in strength and stature and also in wisdom, that the grace of God was on him and that he grew in favor with God and men.
    It doesn’t mention that he was cute or good-looking. Jesus is described by his character.

  15. Connie Helmuth on said:

    Never offer the devil a ride, he always will try to drive!

Leave a Reply

