Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Sample from Scott’s 2011 Journal

Here is a sample from my 2011 Life Journal.

The first thing you might notice is that it isn’t a particularly long post. Some are much longer, but for a sample, I thought this would do. It isn’t always easy to boil three chapters down to the ONE verse or passage that stood out… But it is a fairly typical S.O.A.P. for me. (Click on the picture to enlarge it.) I don’t like to hand write, so I did my journal in a Word document. This is how it looks…

The key to this whole process is consistency. If you fall into the trap of, “I’ll catch up tomorrow” it’s very easy to fall behind and get discouraged. I found it is best to do it every day, first thing. That way nothing else could squeeze it out of my schedule. Often times today’s reading would be referenced in conversation or in a meeting. I didn’t want to be the one who hadn’t read it yet!

I also found that LISTENING to the passage was helpful… at times. Sometimes the reader goes painfully slow for me. But when going through books of the Bible that are particularly tedious (Leviticus or Numbers, for instance) it helped me to listen as I read. Also, those LONG lists of “begats” with all those names… Genesis 4:18, “And unto Enoch was born Irad: and Irad begat Mehujael: and Mehujael begat Methusael: and Methusael begat Lamech.” (King James Version)

In the New International Version it reads, “To Enoch was born Irad, and Irad was the father of Mehujael, and Mehujael was the father of Methushael, and Methushael was the father of Lamech.” I primarily use the NIV or the New Living Translation (NLT) for my Life Journal.

Click here to listen to Genesis chapter 4. When you select, “Play audio” a window opens. In that window there is a menu to select various version of the audio. I prefer the NIV by Dramatized. It has music, different voices and background sounds.

I hope this helps you as you start your Life Journal!

Scott

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

