Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 221

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Welcome to Day 221 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 3; Jeremiah 4; John 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 3:19, ” I myself [the Lord] said, ‘How gladly would I treat you like sons and give you a desirable land,
the most beautiful inheritance of any nation.’ I thought you would call me ‘Father’ and not turn away from following me.”

11 “The Lord said to me, “Faithless Israel is more righteous than unfaithful Judah.”

(That almost sounds like a sarcastic joke to me… A sliding scale of righteousness?)

Jeremiah 4:3, ““Break up your unplowed ground and do not sow among thorns.”

John 11:48, “If we let him go on like this, everyone will believe in him, and then the Romans will come and take away both our place and our nation.”

O bservation

God wants to treat us as sons and daughters… if we treat him like a father.

A pplication

“Gladly” “and give you…”

This year I have been working on my own “sonship.” I have talked about this pretty openly… and mentioned it a few times in this blog…

I have come to realize that God wants me as a son, not a slave. I knew that, but…

I realized, I’m a good slave.

He has called us to be slaves of righteousness vs. slaves to sin…

But that’s not what I’m talking about. John 1:12 states, “Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children [sons and daughters] of God.”

I’m not a son because of anything I have done, except to have “received him and believed in his name.” In that, I become a son! I am adopted.

Done.

I have all the rights of a son now. I just need to walk in that…

I have friends to have adopted a child from a third world country… the child has been in the states for several years now, but still struggles with hoarding and fear of not having enough to eat, even though they have never gone without… since being in the states.

In the orphanage from where they came, that was not the case though.

Going from being an orphan to adopted is not necessarily an easy process.

Even once one is adopted, those old experiences are not easily shaken off.

Same with becoming a son… of God. It’s still easy to function as an orphan, versus a child with all the rights and provision of our father. To feel less than… not walk in blessing… to function as a slave or an outsider…

I am a son, not a slave.

I am adopted into God’s family. He is my father. He put a ring on my finger, a coat on me and threw a party in my honor!

I am a son, not a slave!

I live under an open heaven… believing that he wants to give me “the most beautiful inheritance of any nation!”

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your goodness toward me! I receive that inheritance!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 221

  1. Turn back, fickle Israel.
       I’m not just hanging back to punish you.
    I’m committed in love to you.
       My anger doesn’t seethe nonstop.
    Just admit your guilt.
       Admit your God-defiance.

    Come back, wandering children!
       I can heal your wanderlust!

    And I imagined that you would say, ‘Dear father!’
       and would never again go off and leave me.
    But no luck. Like a false-hearted woman walking out on her husband,
       you, the whole family of Israel, have proven false to me.

    It’s so easy to get caught up in God’s judgments in the OT, but this get’s to the heart of it. He is not wanting to punish us. God keeps reaching out despite our cheating hearts. Like in a country song, He keeps taking us back but will never be gone for good.

    When I was young, I came across a raccoon in a leg trap while my friend and I were fishing. It was chewing it’s leg off trying to escape. Every attempt to help was met with fierce animosity. This animal was trapped and helpless and there was nothing we could do since it would not allow us. We could have opened the trap and released it if it would have trusted us and surrendered to us. Of course where I am going with this is that God can and will release us from any trap if we surrender to Him.

    Lord, thank you for saving me from so many traps. I admit that I am to blame for getting there. Holy spirit, go before me like a mine sweeper and clear away all the devils snares. I surrender to you God.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

