Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 220

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Welcome to Day 220 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 1; Jeremiah 2; John 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 1:4, “The word of the Lord came to me, saying, 5″Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” 6 “Ah, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.”

7 But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

9 Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth. 10 See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”

Jeremiah 2:27 “They say to wood, ‘You are my father,’ and to stone, ‘You gave me birth.’ They have turned their backs to me and not their faces; yet when they are in trouble, they say, ‘Come and save us!’ 28 Where then are the gods you made for yourselves? Let them come if they can save you when you are in trouble!

John 10:32, “‘I have shown you many great miracles from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?’ 33 ‘We are not stoning you for any of these,’ replied the Jews, ‘but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.’”

O bservation

What a great verse in Jeremiah 1! “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you…”

A pplication

I formed you.

I knew you.

I set you apart.

I appointed you.

I could stop right there… How incredible that God formed, knew, set apart and appointed Jeremiah at such a young age. The same could be said for us, perhaps in varying degrees…

Jeremiah’s response is familiar, “‘Ah, Sovereign Lord,’ I said, ‘I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.’ 7 But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,’ declares the Lord. 9 Then

the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, ‘Now, I have put my words in your mouth.’”

Not unlike Isaiah’s calling in Isaiah 6 when the angel touched a coal to his lips…

When the Lord calls us, he prepares us… Gives us what we need.

Remember Moses’ calling? Exodus 3, “Moses said to the Lord, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.” 11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” 13 But Moses said, “O Lord, please send someone else to do it.”

I love that, “Please send someone else to do it.”

That’s confidence.

P rayer

Lord may my confidence always come from knowing you have called me, purified me and that you give me the words to say.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 220

  1. How dare you tell me, ‘I’m not stained by sin.
       I’ve never chased after the Baal sex gods’!
    Well, look at the tracks you’ve left behind in the valley.
       How do you account for what is written in the desert dust—
    Tracks of a camel in heat, running this way and that,
       tracks of a wild donkey in rut,
    Sniffing the wind for the slightest scent of sex.
       Who could possibly corral her!
    On the hunt for sex, sex, and more sex—
       insatiable, indiscriminate, promiscuous.

    It’s impossible to look around the world or watch the news and not see remnants of this. The world seems to be sex crazed with stories of pedophilia and rape. TV programming is filled with skin and sexual innuendo. In my quiet neighborhood, there have been several attempts at child abduction this summer. Is society resorting to Baal worship without calling it that directly? Over time, our moral standards have eroded. Steer clear of any and all sexual immorality.

    But when things go badly, they don’t hesitate to come running,
       calling out, ‘Get a move on! Save us!’
    Why not go to your handcrafted gods you’re so fond of?
       Rouse them. Let them save you from your bad times.

    Jesus is more than a get out jail free card. We should be more prayerful when things are going good than when they are going bad. Jesus restores (present tense) broken lives.

    My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them real and eternal life. They are protected from the Destroyer for good. No one can steal them from out of my hand. The Father who put them under my care is so much greater than the Destroyer and Thief. No one could ever get them away from him. I and the Father are one heart and mind.

    The field is large and full of danger. The closer the sheep (we) are to the shepherd, the better protection we have. The wolf will not go anywhere near him, so stay close and do not stray. The shepherd will never lead the sheep into danger. He loves them too much.

    Thank you for keeping me close and not running from me. Your rod and staff comfort me and give me peace. We need more of you. Do not banish me from your presence, and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

